Digital Art Zone

 
     
Help with multiple animate2 questions
Posted: 14 June 2012 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-03-26

My first questions is:
Did GoFigure3d go out business? Their web site seems defunct. And I just bought animate2… Would have been nice to know if they are out of business.


Some of those animblocks carry the absolute translation information in them, so if you move the figure and then animate it -  it will move to the position of the original animation. Is there any way to remove this absolute offset? Make the motion relative to the figure?

Are there issues between Genesis and animate that I haven’t seen posted?

And while I am now having problems even creating a new animblock - I also have one made previously that appears to have the absolute initial posistion in it. Is there any way to remove that - so the animblock plays relative to the figure’s POV ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1816
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi krcabaniss

I have no problems getting onto the Gofigure3D web site, and no, they’re not going out of business
try this link
http://www.gofigure3d.com

As for positioning the figure…. when you preview an anblock i will show this in the Default location (scene centre)
Once the aniblock has been added to the Animate2 timeline, then you can move the figure.
See here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlMinNk3ZA0

Are there issues between Genesis and animate that I haven’t seen posted?


I’ve no idea what you’ve seen posted smile but,.. most of the animations available in the store,
were originally made to work on V4 and M4, and since they have a different bone structure from Genesis,.
there will be some adjustments needed.

You can re-target animation from one figure to another, but with genesis, it’s not perfect yet.

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-03-26

Thanks for the quick reply.

Good to know they are still kicking, For some reason my browser hung trying to register at
http://www.gofigure3d.com/site/index.php?option=com_alpharegistration&task=register&Itemid;=&view=register
It is still checking availability for username password - I’ll try again.


As you pointed out the bone structure has changed from ver 4 to genesis - so an imported bvh file would need to have the hierarchy remapped - or else it just sits at the first frame. Using the bvh against the original figure vintage fixed that.

When an animblock is created there is an option to convert to the figure POV - which means the origin for the motion to follow is either relative to whereever the figure is, or the animation uses absolute positioning based at (0,0,0). 

So if you didn’t create the animblock to be relative, than the figure will tween toward the orgin from whereever you place it. I think that if you convert the animblock back to keyframes and then recreatete the animblock using the “figure POV” selection , then that should remove that absolute position information from the animblock. Hopefully.

Thanks again. I really wish there was some kind of documentation besides videos. Too old fashioned I guess.
I’d suggest a sticky to collect peoples most common problems, but it probably wouldn’t get read anyway.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 07:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  162
Joined  2006-05-14
krcabaniss - 14 June 2012 01:44 PM

Thanks again. I really wish there was some kind of documentation besides videos.

aniMate2 User Guide:
http://www.gofigure3d.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=92&Itemid=86

I’d suggest a sticky to collect peoples most common problems, but it probably wouldn’t get read anyway.

That would be a good idea.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 10:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-03-26

RTFM - is ALWAYS a good tip. But I couldn’t find the answers I was looking for. Of course that could be my problem.

Profile