Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Where to file old file? 
Posted: 25 April 2013 09:10 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  342
Joined  2011-12-30

Never mind, I found them all under products then used the ABC’s list.

Hello, I installed http://www.daz3d.com/mellany-hair in the new my daz library using the new installer but can’t find the file even if I search. I know there is an old my library but half the time it won’t load since I got the new my library folder. I have search the new library and found the file at C:\Users\Public\Documents\My DAZ 3D Library\Runtime\Libraries\Pose but it is not in libraries, that folder is empty. I’ve been looking in folders for a week now and simple can’t find quit a few of my older files.

Any thoughts where the new my library would put this hair and other old files?

Thanks

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 09:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

I use Windows Explorer and often search under: My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/

Poser files are kept there.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 09:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  342
Joined  2011-12-30
wancow - 25 April 2013 09:42 AM

I use Windows Explorer and often search under: My DAZ 3D Library/Runtime/

Poser files are kept there.

I can find the files using windows but the path doesn’t match the directory in daz.

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 09:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Did you POINT the old installer to My DAZ 3D Library or did you let it install at the default settings?

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10

In the Content Library Tab you will find a similar file path under Poser Formats/My Library/

The Character folder you see in Windows Explorer will be listed as “Figures” under that path.  Beyond that, everything else is pretty much the same.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Ah I just caught the Nevermind thing. Kimber if you EDIT your first post you can EDIT the thread TITLE and add SOLVED that will let others know you need no more help with this.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2945
Joined  2011-12-10
Jaderail - 25 April 2013 09:58 AM

Ah I just caught the Nevermind thing. Kimber if you EDIT your first post you can EDIT the thread TITLE and add SOLVED that will let others know you need no more help with this.

Always helpful smile

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  342
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 25 April 2013 09:51 AM

Did you POINT the old installer to My DAZ 3D Library or did you let it install at the default settings?

I pointed the new installer to the new My Daz 3D library. I have found must my old products when V4 is saying: “The “Victoria 4” support folder could not be found”  I reinstaller her using first the DIM installer then by hand and I still get the message.

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 10:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

AH, so it’s still not working link to the Item and I’ll check my files. If I have it I’ll take a HARD look for you.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 10:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  342
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 25 April 2013 10:27 AM

AH, so it’s still not working link to the Item and I’ll check my files. If I have it I’ll take a HARD look for you.

The hair http://www.daz3d.com/mellany-hair is working as long as I get it via the product > abc file listing under M.

V4 is not working and says The “Victoria 4” support folder could not be found

Sorry, I rushed and didn’t explain it well enough.

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 10:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

How was V4 installed? Is it in a older content folder you Mapped to DS4.5. The DIM and the older content folder is two different places.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 10:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  342
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 25 April 2013 10:38 AM

How was V4 installed? Is it in a older content folder you Mapped to DS4.5. The DIM and the older content folder is two different places.

Since I have the new “My DAZ Folder” I reinstalled everything into it using the DIM installer into C:\Users\Public\Documents\My DAZ 3D Library

There was no V4 and I found her today in the products > V > Vic 4 base folder

After getting the error I opened the DIM and uninstalled and the V4 files then reinstalled them. I still bet the same error message.

Thank you
Kimberly

 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Something is OFF, I have V4 installed in DS4.5 with all DIM installs and I get no errors. Can you give a screen shot of your Content Directory Manager with all paths opened?

By the Way I still use my Content Library TAB more than Smart content.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 04:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  342
Joined  2011-12-30
Jaderail - 25 April 2013 11:14 AM

Something is OFF, I have V4 installed in DS4.5 with all DIM installs and I get no errors. Can you give a screen shot of your Content Directory Manager with all paths opened?

By the Way I still use my Content Library TAB more than Smart content.

I’ve never used the smart content much. I liked the search feature which btw isn’t work well either since I use the DIM to re set up my whole runtime. My old runtime was a mess and I put everything in the poser file but thought with the new DIM that I could start over fresh with a new daz runtime.

 

 

Image Attachments
Clipboard01115.jpg
 Signature 

3D Artist Network.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 04:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2005-09-14

Could you try removing the documents folder out of the other formats and add it under the Poser formats part also I think you need to map the Public folder one under Poser Formats also grin. Hope this helps. Hopefully someone with more experienced will come along and correct me if I am wrong grin.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 05:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I’m seeing some issues, and Here is what I believe you should have. If the New Content Set has no paths listed it should not exist at all.
I’m not sure if this 100% as I say. But I know most of it is.

Image Attachments
Clipboard01115.jpg
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1