Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Feet and hand distortion when adding a non Genesis pose
Posted: 13 June 2012 09:17 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  107
Joined  2012-05-06

When I add a non Genesis pose to my Genesis figure the feet and some times the hands get distorted. I was directed to an old post by adam001 that explained a fix involving the use of scripts. Unfortunately I am an amateur with computers and DAZ3D Pro studio. I am afraid I did not quite understand what he was talking about.(It sounded like I had to create my own script, but if that is correct I am not sure how to do this) I tried the path he suggested but could not find my way. Does anybody know his fix in layman terms or how to get in touch with Adam. I have some really cool poses I would like to use, but they look funky with the distortions. Thanks for any help or advice!!!!!!:-)%-P:red:

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 10:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06

No, you don’t have to create your own script—it’s here:  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/306/

Second item under Freebies in the first post.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 04:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  176
Joined  2006-04-15

If I understand things correctly, one of the tweaks made to Genesis in DS 4.5 RC2 should also help stop this occurring in the first place.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 04:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14285
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, the problem is that some poses move the hands and feet - actually move, not bend - so in 4.5 their translations are locked.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 11:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2012-04-12

Hi, would this also fix the problems I have had trying to bring Poser Pro 2012 figures into DS and pose them?

  ~ Russ (a.k.a. Ansel)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 11:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06

Are these Weight-mapped, P8 rigging, or legacy rigging?  DS does not read PoserPro 2012 weight-mapping.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 11:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2012-04-12

I have no idea, Mike!  LOL

I’ll do an experiment and see what happens.

  ~ Russ

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 11:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14285
Joined  2003-10-09

The new Poser humans are weight-mapped, and the previous Poser figures (from version 8) use the capsule fall-offs introduced with that, neither of which DAZ Studio supports.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 10:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  107
Joined  2012-05-06

Thanks MIke, but that script is not in my studio. I did; however, find that script in this folder on my hard drive. c:\Users\Mark\Scripts\AMR\Gn Hand and feet reset. Any ideas on how I extract this script from that folder and get it into my studio. I hope I am explaining this right. Thanks again. Lost and confused hmmm

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 10:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06
spmwc - 14 June 2012 10:05 PM

Thanks MIke, but that script is not in my studio. I did; however, find that script in this folder on my hard drive. c:\Users\Mark\Scripts\AMR\Gn Hand and feet reset. Any ideas on how I extract this script from that folder and get it into my studio. I hope I am explaining this right. Thanks again. Lost and confused hmmm

 

It sounds like the script was extracted to the wrong place.  You need to extract it to your DS4 content folder (the default would be c:\Users\Mark\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library).  So drag that Scripts folder which is directly under Mark into My Library, and it will show up under “Content Library > DAZ Studio Formats > My Library > Scripts > AMR > Gn Hand and Feet Reset”.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 08:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  107
Joined  2012-05-06

Hey Mike, Thanks again! I dragged the folder into My Library like you said. The script does show up in My Library folder, but only on my hard drive. It still does not show up in, My Library, in my studio. I even tried to put it into a zip file and extract it to c:\Users\Mark\Documents\Daz3D\ Studio\My Library,but that did not work either. It just went to my hard drive. When I tried to open the file, My studio would open up and give me an error message saying I needed to pick an item in the scene. Unfortunately the window port was empty. I loaded the Genesis figure in the window and tried to find the script, but no luck. I know this probably should be easy, but I am frustrated and confused. (I guess I don’t know enough about computers, should this script be part of the original download. Or is this something Adam came up with to add ourselves. ). Any other ideas that might help me. I am running Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit. I hope I am not confusing you with my lack of skills. Thanks for your patience and advice.ohhohh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 09:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06
spmwc - 15 June 2012 08:45 PM

Hey Mike, Thanks again! I dragged the folder into My Library like you said. The script does show up in My Library folder, but only on my hard drive. It still does not show up in, My Library, in my studio. I even tried to put it into a zip file and extract it to c:\Users\Mark\Documents\Daz3D\ Studio\My Library,but that did not work either. It just went to my hard drive. When I tried to open the file, My studio would open up and give me an error message saying I needed to pick an item in the scene. Unfortunately the window port was empty. I loaded the Genesis figure in the window and tried to find the script, but no luck. I know this probably should be easy, but I am frustrated and confused. (I guess I don’t know enough about computers, should this script be part of the original download. Or is this something Adam came up with to add ourselves. ). Any other ideas that might help me. I am running Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit. I hope I am not confusing you with my lack of skills. Thanks for your patience and advice.ohhohh


If you go to the Content Library pane, does it show up under “DAZ Studio Formats > My Library > Scripts > AMR > Gn Hand and Feet Reset”?  If not, could you go to Edit>Preferences>Directories>Content Directory Manager, expand both the “DS Formats” and “Poser Formats” sections, and post a screenshot?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2012 12:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  107
Joined  2012-05-06

Hey Mike, I get as far as   DAZ Studio Formats>My Library>Scripts>Utilities>Move Utilities.  no AMR>Gn Hands and Feet reset. Sorry, don’t know how to post a screen shot.(Guess I need to learn) but my Content Directory Manager looks like this:

Content Sets
Current directories
> DAZ studio Formats
c:/Users/Mark/ Documents/Daz3D/Studio/My Library
c:/Program Files/Daz/Content

>Poser Formats
c:/Users/Mark/Documents/Daz3D/Studio/My Library
other Import formats

Does this help?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2012 01:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI spmwc

When you go to the “content Library” then choose “Daz studio formats”, you should see a “Scripts” listing,
Are there any thumbnail images showing up in that area, or any folder below that, for example Utilities.
(See pic)

To Capture your screen, (on PC) you can use the “Print screen / Sys req” key on the keyboard.
This wil copy the screen at that point into the clipboard,.
you can then open up an image editor, and “Paste” the contents of the clipboard, into an new or existing image.

(on Mac it’s Command Shift 3
which will save the screen capture as a PNG on the desktop

You’ll need to edit either image to resize it or Crop it to 800 x 800 (or less) for the forums here.

..and make sure that any “serial numbers are blocked out.

I’d also recommend saving the image as a Jpg, ..which is a smaller file size.

Image Attachments
scripts.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2012 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  107
Joined  2012-05-06

Hey 3Dage, This is what comes up when I go to Content Library> DAZ Studio Formats>My Library>Scripts. I hope the image is clear and readable. This is my first time trying this. The Genesis fix for the Hands and feet does not show up at all. Do you think I should load Adam’s fix again? Maybe I just sent it down the wrong path. Thanks for the advice. Just another novice computer user here!!!!!:coolsmile:

Image Attachments
DAZ3D.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2012 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  107
Joined  2012-05-06

Hey Mike, Here is the screen shot of my Content Manager Directory. Finally figured it out with some help from 3Dage. Hope it is clear and readable. Does this help?:P

Image Attachments
Content_Sets.jpg
Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1