Digital Art Zone

 
     
How do I anchor people to the ground?
Posted: 21 April 2013 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2013-02-20

Heh, heh! Everyone is floating! So far, I’ve had to use the Y Tanslate tool to move the floating people to the ground, but they aren’t truly on it.

How do I put people on the ground?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6489
Joined  2005-08-15

I haven’t seen that problem before, what characters are ‘floating’, mine all load correctly.

I take it that you are using DAZ Studio?  Unlike Poser, DS does not have a Ground plane when you create a new scene, you have to add one yourself, and then turn shadows on for your lighting, that should help.

Otherwise use the ‘Ctrl+D’ hotkey to drop to the floor (or where the floor would be)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 08:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2013-02-20

Yep, Daz 4.5.

How do I turn on shadows?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 08:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6489
Joined  2005-08-15

You select a light in your Scene, then go to the Parameters pane, and turn shadows on.  It is under Shadow Type, and you can have None (default), Deep Shadow Map (quicker), and Raytraced (slower but usually better)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 10:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2013-02-20
JimmyC_2009 - 21 April 2013 08:43 AM

I haven’t seen that problem before, what characters are ‘floating’, mine all load correctly.

I take it that you are using DAZ Studio?  Unlike Poser, DS does not have a Ground plane when you create a new scene, you have to add one yourself, and then turn shadows on for your lighting, that should help.

Otherwise use the ‘Ctrl+D’ hotkey to drop to the floor (or where the floor would be)

I’m back. Thanks for the info about Ctrl +D.
But how do you add or create a Ground plane in Daz 4.5? Do you mean adding a background floor from a scene?

Some of my models have their feet pointed in strange positions as if they are floating or flying and Control+D doesn’t work.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 01:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7844
Joined  2009-05-14

Can you provide a screenshot of your floating issue please.

Also does this happen after you apply a pose to the figure?

Ground plane you can either use one that comes with content or use a Primative, Create > New Primative and select a Plane, give it a size and divisions and accept. You will then have to texture the plane yourself but that is easy, via the Surfaces Pane. If you don’t know how then we will have to find a tut or walk you through it but trust me it is very easy.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile