Digital Art Zone

 
     
Can you rig custom characters to work just like C4D ,LW in D/S ? No shrink wrap ?
Posted: 19 April 2013 09:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09

Can you rig custom characters to work just like C4D & LW where the cloths do not shrink wrap to the character ?

If I rigged my characters in DAZ Studio.
I would want it to work just like C4D or LW.
So when I add close to them ,the close do not shrink wrap to the character.

Cloths shrink wrap to Genesis. I would not want my cloths to shrink wrap to my characters.

Can we do this in DAZ Studio ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 April 2013 05:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15659
Joined  2003-10-09

Shrink-wrapping is generally the result of the automatic morph transfer. If you want to avoid it you need to create your own morphs instead (though the Clothing Cleavage Modifier can help with breasts and buttocks)

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 April 2013 03:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09

If the rigged character does not have any morphs. then the close will not shrink wrap ?

Can we turn automatic morph transfer off ?

In case your wondering why I’m asking these odd questions.
I’m seeing if it’s feasible to use DAZ Studio as Rigs for zBrush.

Basic C4D 9 does not have GoZ or advanced rigs just basic rigs.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 April 2013 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15659
Joined  2003-10-09

There are several ways to turn morph transfer off, in effect, but ti only affects items with morphs applied. If you are applying a new piece of clothing to a base figure its shape should change - only morphed items should cause conformers to change. It may be that you are talking about something else, in which case an example image or two would help to clarify.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 April 2013 10:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  188
Joined  2003-10-09

I can’t post a .jpg cause I can’t rig in DAZ Studio.
I’m not that experienced with DAZ Studio.
I have no idea what I was thinking about attempting is even possible.
It would take a character of a polycount around 3000.
Have one copy in DAZ have another copy of the same mesh in zBrush with a displacement or vextor map,hair.
Then every time you started the app’s DAZ ,zBrush.
Have the character in DAZ pose the zBrush character.
Have no idea if it would work at all or work smoothly.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 05:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15659
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t think you could link a mesh in ZBrush to a mesh in DS in that way - the nearest I can see would be using the DS mesh subtool as a morph target for the other mesh, but I’m not sure how well that would work (if at all).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 April 2013 04:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8503
Joined  2009-06-11

Meh wrong thread sorry heh

Profile