Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Paragraph break weirdness
Posted: 13 June 2012 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  729
Joined  2003-10-09

Can someone tell me how to reliably insert paragraph breaks into posts in this forum now? I’ve tried the html command, that doesn’t work, hitting Enter a bunch of times works sometimes but not every time…am I doing something wrong?


Thanks.

 Signature 

“It answers all the questions, finally, but not really, but kind of”
- Bob Denver

my deviantArt page: http://snowsultan.deviantart.com

Smacky icon by Xamag

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 03:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04
SnowSultan - 13 June 2012 03:18 PM

Can someone tell me how to reliably insert paragraph breaks into posts in this forum now? I’ve tried the html command, that doesn’t work, hitting Enter a bunch of times works sometimes but not every time…am I doing something wrong?


Thanks.

It works for me everytime if I hit enter 3 times (have 2 blank spaces between paragraphs)


As I just did here.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 03:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16003
Joined  2003-10-09

I use   Enter space enter….works for me, and is quite an easy routine to get into.

Or return space return if you prefer

like this

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 04:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  646
Joined  2008-07-16

Is that the way it is supposed to work? I’ve never encountered that on any site before…

It has been happening here off and on since the change over…

(Edit - it just it did again)...

 Signature 

VISIT MY ShareCG FREEBIE GALLERY

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16003
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t think it is meant to work that way, it just does,

One thing to be said for old fashioned typewriters, you had a nice lever to do the carriage return

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  729
Joined  2003-10-09

Enter-space-Enter seems to be working for me in some preview posts, so I think I’ll go with that. Thank you very much.  smile

SnowS (yay, just worked here too)

 Signature 

“It answers all the questions, finally, but not really, but kind of”
- Bob Denver

my deviantArt page: http://snowsultan.deviantart.com

Smacky icon by Xamag

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 04:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14312
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve found < br > (without the spaces) to work, as well as two blank lines or a line with a space. However, I did have trouble with one post where I put three blank lines - it lost one of the later breaks then, so you need to watch that unless it was a momentary glitch.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 04:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I’m using Enter:Space:Enter without any errors. Works everytime as far as I can tell. It’s habit now.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 08:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2005-11-15

Enter, Space, Enter or three Enters in a row works for me when I do a fast reply, but it didn’t work for me when I tried to do an edit before.


I’ll try on this one and see if it works.


Edit: Three Enters were pressed before this line, so yes, it is working. I don’t know why it didn’t work on a different post.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 10:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7995
Joined  2004-07-21

I sometimes forget to do the enter space enter or whatever thing.


I wonder if they fix it will the old posts be full of lots of space or would they be unchanged?


Maybe there is a firefox addon or something that can do it for us?

 Signature 

Hello, Sweetie!
click me to save my dragon eggs

Who is cuter Loki or Thor?


Play Runescape

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 10:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1549
Joined  2010-02-14

Yeah, that always gets me, too. Is there any intention of correcting this?

 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 02:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  2010-09-02
jwood331 - 13 June 2012 08:25 PM

Enter, Space, Enter or three Enters in a row works for me when I do a fast reply, but it didn’t work for me when I tried to do an edit before.


I’ll try on this one and see if it works.


Edit: Three Enters were pressed before this line, so yes, it is working. I don’t know why it didn’t work on a different post.


Did that post have a quote box in that earlier post?

It’s iffy above/below a quote box.
 
When the forum first started, I couldn’t get a blank line above/below a quote box at all. I was using shrunken gray periods to hold the space.
(Same as at Rendo).
Thusly:

T Jaiman - 02 June 2012 05:19 PM

shapes/GenX updates were released.

.
That’s probably it. Maybe they were reactivated by mistake, then .

 Signature 

Windows:          DAZ History Manager         Daz Wishlist Manager         3D Content Downloader

Firefox Fixes for the Old Forum:      Bookmarks       Images

Fun With Bundles Thread 2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 02:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  2010-09-02
Miss Bad Wolf - 13 June 2012 10:09 PM

I wonder if they fix it will the old posts be full of lots of space or would they be unchanged?


Yeah, just in case, maybe we should stick to <enter> space. Then we wouldn’t look like fanatical double-spacers. smile

That would be cool, if they fixed it!

 
Hey! double-spacing works now. I don’t think it used to.

 Signature 

Windows:          DAZ History Manager         Daz Wishlist Manager         3D Content Downloader

Firefox Fixes for the Old Forum:      Bookmarks       Images

Fun With Bundles Thread 2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 05:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2006-12-26
chohole - 13 June 2012 04:14 PM

I don’t think it is meant to work that way, it just does,

One thing to be said for old fashioned typewriters, you had a nice lever to do the carriage return

Your dating yourself Chohole. grin I always make that mistake with my 12 year old daughter, I’ll be giving her computer instructions and tell her to type this or that and hit “return”.  She never get’s it - for the longest time she was looking at all the keys for one that said “return”.  “I don’t know about your computer dad, but I’ve NEVER seen one that had a “return” button.  I tried explaining it to her, that on old typewriters it would “return” you to the beginning of the next line - she still didn’t really get it. 
One day we were at a garage sale and they had an old (electric) typewriter for sale and we plugged it in and she played around with it for a bit as I shopped.  Later I asked her what she thought of it and she laughed hysterically.  “It was ri-dic-u-lous!  I can’t imagine people actually using those big clunky things!  and ALL it did was type letters on paper? It had a plastic case and said “portable”!  How could it be portable when it weighs like 50 lbs and has no batteries?!?”  I smiled and said “did it have a “return” key?”  She laughed again and said, “no in place of the “enter” key it a had a big huge backwards L key on it…. I still think your dreaming about that “return” key thing….”

 Signature 

Peace.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 05:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16003
Joined  2003-10-09

I have never been able to find the “any” key.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 05:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  65
Joined  2006-12-26
chohole - 14 June 2012 05:30 AM

I have never been able to find the “any” key.

grin

 Signature 

Peace.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1