Digital Art Zone

 
   
12 of 12
12
Where are My Download Links
Posted: 20 July 2013 11:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 166 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2004-12-23
DAZ_Jon - 20 July 2013 11:20 PM

Is the manual option showing for you now? If it isn’t, can you take a screen shot and post it here?

No, it isn’t.
I even tried a Shift-Reload of the page.
As for the screen shot, use the one I posted some posts further up. Nothing has changed.

DAZ_Jon - 20 July 2013 11:20 PM

That being said, I looked at this product in my own account and see the manual download option, so if it still isn’t showing for you, it is an indication that there is a bug which hasn’t been found or experienced before that you’re hitting which is preventing the file from showing up, so if you can show what your screen looks like, we can start tracking it down and fix it.

My luck…  :-D
For the record, this is the first time it happens to me, I’ve always seen (and used) the manual links before, last time some days ago. It just happens this time the page doesn’t show the blue pill, er, button… See screen shot above.

But it’s okay guys, it’s Sunday, get some rest, we’ll still be here Monday….

====Edit ====

Ooops, wrong thread - the screen shot is in the other one, but you found it already.

 Signature 

Extinct

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 167 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  375
Joined  2004-08-13

My download page has no products on it. It’s completely and totally empty. There should be more than 4,000 items on it.

Is there a time limit on downloads now or something? Why wasn’t I informed?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 04:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 168 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2004-12-23
Velvet Goblin - 14 August 2013 02:46 PM

My download page has no products on it. It’s completely and totally empty. There should be more than 4,000 items on it.

They are actually in My Account/Product Library.
Hope that helps.

—-Edited to add:

And you need to allow scripts from ajax.googleapis.com for them to show (in case you use some JavaScript blocker).

 Signature 

Extinct

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 169 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  375
Joined  2004-08-13
rg5a - 14 August 2013 04:01 PM
Velvet Goblin - 14 August 2013 02:46 PM

My download page has no products on it. It’s completely and totally empty. There should be more than 4,000 items on it.

They are actually in My Account/Product Library.
Hope that helps.

—-Edited to add:

And you need to allow scripts from ajax.googleapis.com for them to show (in case you use some JavaScript blocker).

I’m not blocking any javascript on this site. The Product Library page lists no products. If I input text into the search box and click any of the buttons, nothing happens.

Is the page supposed to look like that? If so, what is the process of searching for items? Thanks

Image Attachments
Snap-2013-08-14-at-13.51_.56_.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 05:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 170 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2004-12-23
Velvet Goblin - 14 August 2013 05:09 PM

Is the page supposed to look like that?

Definitely no! I think you should contact support, that must be a site bug.

 Signature 

Extinct

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 05:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 171 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  375
Joined  2004-08-13
rg5a - 14 August 2013 05:29 PM
Velvet Goblin - 14 August 2013 05:09 PM

Is the page supposed to look like that?

Definitely no! I think you should contact support, that must be a site bug.

I did already. But I’m not holding my breath.

Oh, well. Maybe if I come back in another 6 months things will be better.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 05:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 172 ]
Administrator
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-06-12
Velvet Goblin - 14 August 2013 05:09 PM
rg5a - 14 August 2013 04:01 PM
Velvet Goblin - 14 August 2013 02:46 PM

My download page has no products on it. It’s completely and totally empty. There should be more than 4,000 items on it.

They are actually in My Account/Product Library.
Hope that helps.

—-Edited to add:

And you need to allow scripts from ajax.googleapis.com for them to show (in case you use some JavaScript blocker).

I’m not blocking any javascript on this site. The Product Library page lists no products. If I input text into the search box and click any of the buttons, nothing happens.

Is the page supposed to look like that? If so, what is the process of searching for items? Thanks

I show you having a lot of products associated to your account. So, odds are, a javascript error or something is happening that isn’t allowing to finish loading. If you can open up the javascript console in your browser (if you’re using Firefox or Chrome) you can load the page and see if there is any errors that would help in pinpointing what is wrong and for us to fix it. Or you can file a CS ticket and they will walk you through getting it fixed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2013 12:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 173 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2003-10-09

Ugh, I really have to download a 50mb program to be able to download the actual file I want to download from my order history?

What in the world is in that 50mb? I want my product, not some dodgy installer program clogging up my system. Why are you punishing your customers?

 

 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2013 01:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 174 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17134
Joined  2003-10-09
Bigjobbie - 30 August 2013 12:37 PM

Ugh, I really have to download a 50mb program to be able to download the actual file I want to download from my order history?

What in the world is in that 50mb? I want my product, not some dodgy installer program clogging up my system. Why are you punishing your customers?

 

 

 

 

No you could go to your Product Library and download it manually.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2013 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 175 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2003-10-09

Hey guess what though? Bundles don’t have the manual download option. Did you know that?

I had no idea what I was looking at and only discovered that the individual items have a manual option after checking through random back orders to see if the insanity was at work everywhere. The only option visible was the invasive installer, which (no surprise) started loading some huge code library onto my system and stalled out.

Great job you’re doing! The site is as clear as mud to understand now and the mods are completely unhelpful into the bargain.

Awesome.

 

 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2013 02:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 176 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17134
Joined  2003-10-09
Bigjobbie - 30 August 2013 01:26 PM

Hey guess what though? Bundles don’t have the manual download option. Did you know that?

I had no idea what I was looking at and only discovered that the individual items have a manual option after checking through random back orders to see if the insanity was at work everywhere. The only option visible was the invasive installer, which (no surprise) started loading some huge code library onto my system and stalled out.

Great job you’re doing! The site is as clear as mud to understand now and the mods are completely unhelpful into the bargain.

Awesome.

Bundles can also be downloaded from Your Product Library.

You notice, at the bottom, the icons for all the various products that are in the bundle. Click on those and it will bring you to the download screen for that product.

It has always been necessary to download the products in a bundle individually.

Image Attachments
bundle_download_screen.jpg
 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2013 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 177 ]
Administrator
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-06-12

You might want to take a little close of a look at the download page.

A bundle consists of a other products. If you look at your bundle in the Product Library, you’ll see lower down on the page there is a section that says “This product is a bundle that contains the following product…” that has all the products in there with their own downloads when you click on them. The reason being individual products get updates and you don’t want to have to download the entire bundle all over again just for one specific product. That and it lets you pick and choose what you want to download so you can skip items you aren’t going to use right now, and just download and install the content you intend to use in a scene. So yes, bundles have a manual download option in a pretty easy and clear way to see and a way that gives as much control over specifically what you download and install.

If what you’re looking for is one monolithic zip file that contains everything in the bundle, those don’t exist, nor did they exist when it was the old installers. And considering the size of bundles and the number of different zips that come with each product, doing a long list of 50 files is something avoided because the feedback we got from customers who tested it was it was too cluttered, becomes harder to find what you’re looking for, and isn’t clear what you should or shouldn’t download.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2013 04:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 178 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2751
Joined  2003-12-06
DAZ_Jon - 30 August 2013 02:38 PM

lower down on the page there is a section that says “This product is a bundle that contains the following product…” that has all the products in there with their own downloads when you click on them.

I understand the reasoning for doing it this way, but how obvious is it that’s what you’ve done? Especially for non-native English speakers, and/or computer beginners who might not yet understand all this files stuff. It’s a good system, but a bit more care with labelling the bits would make it an easier to use good system. Tell people right there on the page that the bundle download links are “in there with their own downloads when you click on them” and you’ll get less confused questions here on the forums.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
   
12 of 12
12