Digital Art Zone

 
   
8 of 12
8
Where are My Download Links
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 106 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  931
Joined  2003-10-09
fixmypcmike - 10 May 2013 05:38 PM
LordHardDriven - 10 May 2013 04:29 PM

Rather we will have to download whatever is there install it to a dummy folder and then install the old version we have to a dummy folder and then compare the two to see if anything is different. So 2 seconds to glance at a file name vs several minutes to download, install two separate files and then compare. My installation workflow would be significantly slowed down.

Or launch DIM and see at a glance if something was updated.  As someone who is OCD about updates, using DIM has shown me just how woefully inadequate all of the methods previously used have been.  Even the most recent iteration of the “version number as part of the filename” method introduced at the same time as DS4Pro, which was done far more consistently than any past method, has had an order of magnitude more errors than DIM (and only about 10-20% of the products in the store even got this round of installers, whereas DIM now has about 90%)—check the “Updated Genesis Products” thread linked in my sig if you want to see how frequently it failed.

I’m still hopeful that more of the technology behind DIM will be incorporated into the Product Library page, but the fact is that those of us who have used it extensively already know it is the first time this problem has been anything close to solved.

It is certainly your right to ask DAZ 3D to implement all the features of DIM in the Product Library page.
It is certainly your right to refuse to try DIM on principle.
But the only thing significantly slowing down your workflow is your refusal to try DIM.  You don’t trust it to be reliable, while at the same time you are willing to trust methods which are demonstrably far less reliable.

Well you’re making things sound very different now. before you were talking about installing to a dummy folder and comparing, that you had found a number of updates that way and now you’re saying that with DIM you can see at a glance which files have been updated. It was the idea that one might have to download unpack and compare files to spot updates that inspired the slowed down workflow comment. As for my refusal to use DIM show me anywhere that I ever said I would refuse to use it. I have not used it yet but that’s a far cry from refusing to use it. Excuse me for not rushing out and trying it. Maybe after what I’ve seen here from Daz over the past several years I’ve grown a bit cautious and skeptical? I’ve been told before how great things would be only to find they fell far short. If DIM is the Holy Grail of content management you’re making it out to be then great, it still doesn’t explain to me though why it’s so hard to get file sizes and number of files to an item, back on display on the product page like there used to be. Then if someone did want to refuse to use DIM they would still be able to check themselves and figure out if they have the most up to date files for a product. I guess I just don’t get practically forcing people to have to use DIM which obviously cost money when all that needed to be done really is to make known information available on the product page like they did for years and like all their top competitors still do. Their largest competitor takes it even a step further and tells you the number of files and what their individual sizes are.

I’ll likely end up using DIM down the road given what I’m learning about the directions things are going but it’s not really how I want to have to manage the things I buy and I’m not really feeling the need for it other then the simple fact someone at Daz decided for some reason unknown to me that Daz would no longer let people know how many files there should be and what their total sizes are.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 07:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 107 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15745
Joined  2003-10-09

DIM has a manifest file that describes the content, and it compares that with the details of the files on the server to see updates. The manifest is available either in the folder you download the installers to, if you don’t delete them, or a copy is stashed when you install (currently on the C: drive unless you trick it, but we hope that will change with the next update) - you can delete the actual content, installed to a dummy directory, or move it to custom locations without deleting the manifest and as lng as that remains you will get a notification of updates. So something has to stay on your system, but the something is much smaller than the content itself.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 08:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 108 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-12-10

I have a problem. I purchased 2 of Dreamlight’s tutorials. They do not show up in the DIM, and I have a somewhat slow internet connection at times. When downloading large files (such as lengthy video clips and software packages), I try whenever possible to pause the download and wait for a bad connection to better itself. While trying to do this today, it wouldn’t let me resume my paused download.

Is there a fix for this?

Seems to me that anything you sell at the Daz store should show up in the DIM, which would make my issue moot, I think.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 109 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15745
Joined  2003-10-09

At the moment only Poser and DAZ Studio content work through the DIM, tutorials, brushes and content for Bryce and Carrara don’t. Unfortunately all I can suggest is using a public computer, or WiFi hot spot, to get your files if your domestic connection isn’t stable enough.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 110 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9617
Joined  2007-11-06
LordHardDriven - 12 May 2013 12:06 AM

Well you’re making things sound very different now. before you were talking about installing to a dummy folder and comparing, that you had found a number of updates that way and now you’re saying that with DIM you can see at a glance which files have been updated.

My apologies for being confusing.  I’m rather anal-retentive and wanted to see if the installers I had, which I had always tried to keep up-to-date, matched the zips that DIM provided.  So I installed to dummy folders and compared them, and found many which had been updated that I didn’t know about, and not recently.  That’s not necessary, particularly if you’re rebuilding your runtimes.  But once you download from DIM, it can tell you about any subsequent updates.

LordHardDriven - 12 May 2013 12:06 AM

As for my refusal to use DIM show me anywhere that I ever said I would refuse to use it. I have not used it yet but that’s a far cry from refusing to use it. Excuse me for not rushing out and trying it. Maybe after what I’ve seen here from Daz over the past several years I’ve grown a bit cautious and skeptical? I’ve been told before how great things would be only to find they fell far short. If DIM is the Holy Grail of content management you’re making it out to be then great, it still doesn’t explain to me though why it’s so hard to get file sizes and number of files to an item, back on display on the product page like there used to be. Then if someone did want to refuse to use DIM they would still be able to check themselves and figure out if they have the most up to date files for a product.

Again, my apologies for misunderstanding.  Incidentally, file sizes are back on the download pages; number of files never was, although the number of installers is.  Download sizes aren’t a very reliable way of checking for updates, however—fixing wrong paths in .cr2’s, for example, is unlikely to add up to enough of a change to be noticeable.

 

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 111 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-12-10
Richard Haseltine - 12 May 2013 12:28 PM

At the moment only Poser and DAZ Studio content work through the DIM, tutorials, brushes and content for Bryce and Carrara don’t. Unfortunately all I can suggest is using a public computer, or WiFi hot spot, to get your files if your domestic connection isn’t stable enough.

Seems rather counterproductive to advertise the DIM as a download option after I purchase content that won’t work with it. Maybe a disclaimer of some kind would be helpful at the moment. grin

Thanks for trying to help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 112 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  931
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m wondering something, I’ve been trying to download all the .exe’s before the May 15th deadline and I’ve been puzzled by what I’m seeing. In some cases items have been switched over entirely to the zip format but in some files from the same “group” still have .exe’s available. Like for example the Dream Home Series, some Dream Home Items have switched entirely to zips with no exe options while some offer both zips and exes. So I’ve developed a theory based on that the updating has been done in stages and wonder if this is a correct way of interpreting things. My theory is that where exes exist alongside the zips for DIM are cases where the exe installer had already been updated prior to DIM. Where no exes exist is where the file was the original one released and so switching to DIM was the only update it had ever seen.

I hope I’m explaining that in a way the appropriate people to answer, might understand because I’d like to know if my theory is correct? If it is then that will tell me things about the files that will aide me in knowing what to bother with downloading and what to skip. At least until the point I actually do start using DIM.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 12:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 113 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17081
Joined  2003-10-09

Some products which used one particular version of the installer exe were indeed converted to zip format some time ago. This was simply because the Newer Mac OS Xs could not deal with that version of the installer.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 09:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 114 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  931
Joined  2003-10-09
chohole - 15 May 2013 12:57 PM

Some products which used one particular version of the installer exe were indeed converted to zip format some time ago. This was simply because the Newer Mac OS Xs could not deal with that version of the installer.

That’s not what I meant. I understand they’ve been going thru and updating files over time but I found that some files released roughly around the same time and in the same category (Dream Home) Some had been converted entirely to DIM format and there were no exe installers available while other Dream Home Items still had the old Mac and exe installers as well as the new DIM format. So what I’m speculating is the reason and trying to confirm is that, are the ones already converted entirely to DIM format files that never needed an update for any other reason and so once converted to DIM it made no sense to keep the .exe installer around? I’m thinking older files that have been updated for various reasons in the past are maybe being left available for now for whatever reason. If what I’m thinking is correct then that means when I see an item in the product library that has been fully converted over to DIM I can just conclude it has not been updated and therefore I don’t need to worry about it.

What I’m attempting to do is assemble a complete and up to date back up of .exe’s of all of the several thousand items I’ve bought over the past ten years. Once that’s done I’ll likely set it aside in a back up somewhere and then build an entire collection of DIM files of the several thousand files I’ve bought over the years. The exes will likely be a backup to DVD for offline storage while the DIM files would be my online storage backup since presumably they’re smaller then the .exe’s. I’m just trying to find visual clues to help me sort thru the many pages I have in my product library to sort thru seeing as how yesterday they started phasing the .exes out and I’m not done going thru everything yet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 12:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 115 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-06-30

DS 4.6 free DL/upgrade:AWESOME!  DL the new downloader/installer:COOL, THAT’S AWESOME! Wait, there’s an upgrade, gotta DL 1st:er, ok, Why didn’t I just get the newest version in the original DL? Update, fill in info, and DL DS4.6:nope, don’t see it anywhere.No, no, I see it in the invoice but can’t access it in any way. No more links, Shiny New DL/installer doesn’t see it, (although it sees everything else that I have ALREADY DL’d)and another hour of my life is wrested away from me, with ZERO results.
DAZ, I was addicted to PC for years, had to lose the acct when I moved 3 yrs ago. This is, quite frankly, a poor path you have taken, you used to be so much more customer friendly, your customers shouldn’t have to jump through soooooo many hoops, just to get their dl’s.
This is not enticing me to return.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 116 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15745
Joined  2003-10-09

The DS installers are in the Product Library available from the top row of links, under the store header, on your account page.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 07:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 117 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2003-10-09

my product library is not available

I get only an error message

How can I get to the download links now?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 118 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15745
Joined  2003-10-09

Which browser are you using|? Are you allowing scripts on the site?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 08:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 119 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2003-10-09

I tried firefox and Internet explorer. Scripts allowed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 09:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 120 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17081
Joined  2003-10-09

Try clearing your cache and / or a hard refresh and try again

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
   
8 of 12
8