Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 12
1
Where are My Download Links
Posted: 17 April 2013 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2012-02-21

There seems to be a lot of confusion about where to find your download links for new or previous orders.

For all browsers, if your order is complete, the download links are accessible. You will need to click Product Library on your Account Page, there you can search for the product title, click on the product, you will be given the download links at that time. Thank you for your continued patience with the site changes. We are doing our best to make the order and download process easier for our customers. We apologize for any confusion during these updates. We do feel these updates will be a great help to our users. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions or concerns.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 07:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2360
Joined  2003-12-06

They might be a great improvement, but if no-one tells us they’ve happened or explains them, that opinion may change.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 11:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  64
Joined  2010-12-21

I’m currently not able to do any of trhe following in Product Library, i.e. these features do not appear to work:

1.  Apply a Filter
2.  Change the sort order
3.  Select any other page than the one initially displayed, i.e. the first one in alphabetical order

I can however, select any of the items on the first page displayed and see the item breakdown. ...


CORRRECTION ... It only does not work in my install of MS IE9 ... It DOES work in Google Chrome ... Ho hum.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  283
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes - the new system is somewhat of an improvement, but it is still not as good as Taosoft’s purchase browser and downloader was - unfortunately due to the changes made by DAZ - Taosoft downloader is no longer functioning and the author says he is not making an upgrade due to DAZ constantly changing their system.  Too bad IMHO.

Now we are stuck with the DAZ downloader which is horrible for people who wish to archive files and not install them.  Or we have to manually download using the new interface which adds several steps to each product and slows the process significantly compared to the previous system.  Arrrrrgh!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 03:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t see the “improvement” part. My recent purchases are mooshed together with everything else (the sort on date does not work), and somehow DAZ seems to have managed to create even more confusion about which files go with which order and what it is all named (come on, I have to remember that the name started with “the” and look under TH? And V4 names are sorted before Victoria 4 names, which are sorted differently from Victoria 4.3 names?

I don’t see anything that explains what a DIM download is, whether you need it, and which files are Mac (or PC) exclusive. Sometimes the DIM (Oh, I get it Daz Installation Manager. Wow, like I’m going to trust the folks who created “Product Library” to set up parts of my computer…) is the same size as some other file (the first EXE) and sometimes, well, not. Do they really think this is some sort of progress? And have they not heard of beta-testing?

It took me some time just to figure out that “Product Library” was where my purchases had been hidden. DAZ does understand that we are customers, right?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 03:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2012-02-21

Here is some further information.

A few users have reported this error.  Please try these things.

* Clear your browser’s cache and cookies

* Make sure you have javascript turned on and that your browser accepts cookies from our site.  Both are needed to use our site.

If you are still having this issue, please:

* Let us know the browser and version you are using.

* provide the html that you are getting for the page.  You can do this in most browsers.  For example, in Chrome, you can right-click on the page and left-click ‘View Page Source.’  Then copy and paste the code into a text file and attach the text file to your reply.

* Your computer platform (Windows or Mac), if you haven’t already told us in your support request.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 04:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  283
Joined  2003-10-09
mickmca - 18 April 2013 03:37 PM

DAZ does understand that we are customers, right?

They used to.  It was really a nice relationship.  Starting about a year ago, it began to change.  Currently I wonder myself whether they care about customers beyond giving lip-service and promoting their products.  I do love their products, so I continue to shop here, but I’m not the happiest camper in the park.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve been buying at DAZ since around 2002 (Vickie 1.0) and using Poser since V2 (in spite of the bizarre note that I’ve only posted here “5” times), and after my last PC membership expired a couple of years ago, I’ve seen a steady decline in my purchases and the usability of their web site. Things started to go haywire when they decided, around the Poser 5 debacle, to compete in tools instead of sticking to what they know. I shop about as often at Runtime DNA, and they’ve kept their eye on the ball. It’s easy to look through old purchases, easy to pick up lost files, and there’s no confusing proliferation of these confusing file names. No wondering if 99104DSON.exe is a V4 file, or remembering that The_Garden.exe is the product called Garden Tools in your orders list.

Daz has always been commercial under all the neighborly patina, and that’s not a good thing. There’s a difference between developing good things that people will buy and trying to cash in on the latest wave of enthusiasm (what movie will they rip off this week?). Maybe caring about quality for its own sake is sentimental, and regarding creativity as inventive rather than imitative, but there it is.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 05:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  283
Joined  2003-10-09

LOL mickmca - your “Join Date” is the same as mine - AND it seems we agree on several things - maybe there is something astrological at work!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8529
Joined  2007-11-06

That join date is the date that DAZ 3D started its forum.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  283
Joined  2003-10-09

LOL - well THAT explains it! smile
I was wondering why I had purchase orders going back several years before that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 10:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2003-10-09
mickmca - 18 April 2013 03:37 PM

I don’t see the “improvement” part. My recent purchases are mooshed together with everything else (the sort on date does not work), and somehow DAZ seems to have managed to create even more confusion about which files go with which order and what it is all named (come on, I have to remember that the name started with “the” and look under TH? And V4 names are sorted before Victoria 4 names, which are sorted differently from Victoria 4.3 names?

I don’t see anything that explains what a DIM download is, whether you need it, and which files are Mac (or PC) exclusive. Sometimes the DIM (Oh, I get it Daz Installation Manager. Wow, like I’m going to trust the folks who created “Product Library” to set up parts of my computer…) is the same size as some other file (the first EXE) and sometimes, well, not. Do they really think this is some sort of progress? And have they not heard of beta-testing?

It took me some time just to figure out that “Product Library” was where my purchases had been hidden. DAZ does understand that we are customers, right?

Please tell me what downloads I need for Poser!  I used to like DS because I’m a Brycer and that connectivity was great.  But when DAZ started changing DS on a daily basis, I got fed up - and the last thing I want to do is unistall then reinstall everything so I can use DIM!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  283
Joined  2003-10-09
Nukeboy - 19 April 2013 10:52 AM

Please tell me what downloads I need for Poser!  I used to like DS because I’m a Brycer and that connectivity was great.  But when DAZ started changing DS on a daily basis, I got fed up - and the last thing I want to do is unistall then reinstall everything so I can use DIM!

DAZ has changed their product numbering convention so many times that there is no single set of rules for installing what and where because it depends on how long ago the product files were last updated.  Here are a few tips but which method you prefer is up to you.

This information is based on my experience, and I there might be exceptions.

For new products, downloading the “DIM” files from your account (but NOT using the DIM app) will usually give you a zip file that has everything required for both Poser and D|S.  If you only want to use Poser then all you need is to merge the “runtime” folder in the DIM ZIP with the runtime you are using with Poser 6+.—If you want to use D|S (with or without Poser) you generally need both the “content” folder and the “runtime” folder.

When a filename says “LEGACY” it usually means for older applications like D|S 3 and Poser 4 (Poser Artist) so is not required if you are using a relatively current application.

If you don’t want to manually place the folders from the DIM ZIP file, then you need the *.exe files for Windows or the non-DIM ZIP files for Mac.

If an .exe file has a suffix that includes “_ds” then it is only required for Studio users.

As far as other rile name suffixes such as the difference between _dpc and _trx - I am not certain and I have heard several different descriptions.  When in doubt, install everything LOL.

Good luck - hope this helps a little.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 12:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15646
Joined  2003-10-09

I am actually downloading the DIM zips, unzipping them to a temp directory and then drag and dropping the runtime structure which is inside the content folder to whichever Runtime I want that particular product in.

Much the same was as I deal with zips from elsewhere.  Anything that is left in the temp folder can then be deleted, so I have a clean temp folder for the next lot of purchases I make. I don’t use the DIM, nor do I use DS, so don’t want what is left.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  283
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, indeed! That’s good advice smile
\

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 April 2013 03:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11044
Joined  2007-11-06

...arrrgh! I want “My Downloadable Products” back.  This library thingie is a total pain in the bum.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 12
1