Digital Art Zone

 
   
9 of 15
9
Carrara 8.5.0.204 Beta (Update)
Posted: 26 June 2013 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 121 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5959
Joined  2007-12-04

Right. Those are “Figures” as they include “model” as the second line in the hierarchy. Here’s a great trick (only for Carrara):
Select the figure and go to the motion tab to get the size of the thing. Load in a replicator (not surface replicator) and make the grid the size of the figure. Now tell the replicator how many you want in any of the three directions. That’s how I use Jack’s stuff to make long halls! smile

Image Attachments
EKW_GIS.jpg
 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 01:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 122 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  237
Joined  2006-01-03
ManStan - 26 June 2013 01:45 PM
Madbat - 26 June 2013 12:17 PM

So far this is the worst beta of the bunch. It crashes constantly when I try to do anything with genesis content, it’s sluggish, and unresponsive the rest of the time. I hope this isn’t supposed to be a near finished product.
And it needs smoothing and collision at the very least.

Are you on a mac? If not we must not be using the same build of C8.5, what build are you using?

I’m not having any of those issue. So far I am on my 9th test run using dynamics and G2, then sending to carrara. So far all the screw ups have been on the Studio end. I use genesis in carrara quite a bit,out side of the iffyness of autofit, and weirdness using poses, I haven’t had any issues.

More over it has smoothing and collision. But like many of carrara’s features, they don’t work on DAZ content. Not even a simple “duplicate”.

Nope, not on a mac, I’m on Win 7 (amd X64 x6 cpu, 16gb ram) Cararra 8.5.0.204

So far I’ve tried loading pre made genesis characters morphed and clothed, they come through fairly iffy. most of the body morphs come through fine, textures (need some tweaking but that’‘s expected) but no head morphs and any tops they wear don’t fit, lots of poke through all over. If there is a smoothing/collision function I have no knowledge of it. Iffy fits are something I expect with cararra, I do wish it would handle morphs in the editing functions better. All I can seem to do is edit one morph at a time. Kind of a pain. This is where I like the Daz auto fit, and bridge to hex, I can fix things, or in Poser, I have the morph brush tools. I can work on morphed figures and clothing without the meshes popping back to the default unmorphed state. That’s handy for fixing issues that come up from morphed and posed figures. It also lets me tweak poses, and change positions. Using proxy figures is a one shot. Not good if if constantly fuss with things like I do. That’s why I never really got into dynamic cloth much.

If I’m missing something I’d really like to know about it.

I’ve also noticed certain scenes (dreamlights stuff especially) generate a lot of nil point errors, and the scene cannot be rendered at all. On one occasion I also had all the properties panes go blank. I had to shut down and re-start. I’ve never managed to duplicate that; it seemed random.

I haven’t used the replicator much, but it did work nicely on the Dystopia city blocks. I find greeble blocks still need to be hand placed though, using replicator on them usually spaces them strangely. as they’re all different sizes. I was thinking of making lower poly prop people in various poses for replicator. Might work for crowds in city scenes.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 07:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 123 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Fit issues, ya. That ius why I’d like to see a revamp of the auto fit. But I rarely if ever have had C8.5 crash. And I have griped about modeling in the assembly room on autofit clothes is a no go for me. Carrara has the tools to fix fit issues, if you can use them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 11:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 124 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5959
Joined  2007-12-04

One way you can use a replicator for Greebles would be to assemble a square city block with them - and group that. Repeat this process a couple more times for variety - then run those square groups through a replicator. I know, though… as much as I like them, it would be nice if they were square.

Poke through and morphs reverting back to “0” when working with a modeler is one of my peeves as well. Also, I wish they gave some sort of explanation about what the heck we’re supposed to do about the protected topology thing when we do need to tweak. I’m hoping that some of this is why it has not been released as an official upgrade yet - and that it will be fixed by the time it does. Without some kind of method to fix poke through… Genesis 1 & 2 will not be used much. At least by me, anyways. I can’t afford the time involved to paint over poke through for all frames of my animations - forget that.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2013 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 125 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4621
Joined  2004-07-01
bigh - 26 June 2013 10:01 AM
tbwoq - 26 June 2013 09:31 AM

I guess that its my OS or system files then, unless others that have Vista 64 bit reply that its working. The ‘Breasts Flatten’ morph slider(s) I’m almost certain is an issue to report though.

agree ‘Breasts Flatten’ morph slider(s) does screw up the eyes

this has been fixed .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2013 08:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 126 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15312
Joined  2003-10-09

AS bigh says, this has been fixed. You need to download the updated Genesis 2 female essentials package.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2013 12:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 127 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-01-10

Thanks for the info bigh, chohole.

Genesis 2 is now working on my system. The morphs and drag and drop posing errors are gone. There might have been something in the previous content download that was causing my issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2013 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 128 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  251
Joined  2007-08-26

I’m on my death bed now. Time for me to croak. Yes, I lived a good life. I used to do animations with a software called Carrarra. Daz promised us Genesis in the last beta (209). That was a long, long time ago. I was young and full of energy then.

Now I’m old. As a favor, before I croak, I would like to use Genesis in the production version of Carrara. Is that too much to ask? I’m leery of using the beta for a finished animation.  I’ve been waiting so long. I hold no grudges towards the developers at Daz. They have a lot on their plates. I’ve come to terms that I may or may not use Genesis after all before I die.  But still there’s an irrational and irremediable hope for Genesis yearning at the bottom of my soul… hope springs eternal… although I’m not holding my last breath.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2013 11:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 129 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5959
Joined  2007-12-04
argus1000 - 29 June 2013 09:58 AM

I’m on my death bed now. Time for me to croak.

Please tell me that you have a bad sense of humor, and this is not literally true!
Please!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 07:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 130 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  251
Joined  2007-08-26
Dartanbeck - 29 June 2013 11:41 PM
argus1000 - 29 June 2013 09:58 AM

I’m on my death bed now. Time for me to croak.

Please tell me that you have a bad sense of humor, and this is not literally true!
Please!

Of course, it’s a joke. My apologies if you din’t find it funny. For some reason, people don’t like jokes about death. I’m not sure why.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 01:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 131 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5959
Joined  2007-12-04

No… I love it - now that I know for sure it’s a joke! lol
My daughter is continually trying to die on me - so my nerves are kinda shot that way.
Whew! ~ I’m glad! I need more of your animations!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 04:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 132 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2013-06-14

Hi all

is there a trial version of Carrara? I’d like to try to understand how it works and whether it can be useful to my work of video editing.

Thank you, Max.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 133 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Yes there is a trial but I am not at all sure how carrara could help in video editing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 134 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  76
Joined  2013-06-14
ManStan - 01 July 2013 07:23 AM

Yes there is a trial…

Thank you, ManStan,

I found this: http://carraracafe.com/  where there is a trial version.

ManStan - 01 July 2013 07:23 AM

I am not at all sure how carrara could help in video editing.

Create landscapes and animated objects to integrate with my video editing application. For example, a DVD motion menu where you could “navigate” virtually in the choices of various articles. Or a camera that is flying in a room with pictures on the walls, each picture “takes” life when the camera zooms into it (starting a video). Or, again, a place where virtual set in chroma key mixing real actors with virtual actors and so on ....

Thank you, Max.

P.S. sorry for my bad english.

 

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 135 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Got ya. Yes, I have seen some real nice videos done of carrara life in a real setting; one of those DAZ creatures. So I know it can be done with carrara, not sure if the trial version can. Probably can wink

Profile
 
 
   
9 of 15
9