Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 14
4
DAZ Studio Pro BETA (4.5.2.40) Update!
Posted: 18 April 2013 05:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3044
Joined  2004-04-14

We have to remember that the new features are something we are moving forward with.  While little or nothing can take direct advantage of it at the moment, DAZ3D is making DS more advanced for the future by adding in these new features now.  Like all new things, support will come in slowly at first and then increase.  I am looking forward to the future of DS and what it can do.

How these new features get translated into another render engine is up to those who make the other render engine and those who make the exporters.  Lux Render is free and Open source so if anyone wants to help them add Ptex and OpendSubdiv support, they can.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 05:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15792
Joined  2003-10-09
Slosh - 18 April 2013 02:17 AM

I installed the 32-bit version of the beta because I already have 64-bit for 4.5, then decided I liked it enough to go 64-bit with the beta.  Somehow, installing the 64-bit version, I lost access to the Mimic plugin.  It was there in the 32-bit version, and even though I uninstalled 32bit and installed correct 64bit version, it won’t appear in my panes list.  I checked the plugins and it is there, but unregistered and I didn’t get serial #‘s with this.  I’m not extremely worried about it because I have yet to want to do an animation, but it would be nice to play with for a bit.  Also, haven’t been able to figure out dynamic clothing pane yet, but then I just winged it without reading first, so I will give that a go tomorrow.

Mimic in DS (LipSync) is 32 bit only, though the standalone version will write pz2 files that can be used in any version.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 07:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6592
Joined  2006-02-20

2) Updated the 3Delight render engine to 10.0.125; see 3Delight Change Log for more details.

As I am in the middle of something, I can’t test - but could somebody take a look whether the DeepShadowMap artifacts issue is solved?
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20152/

 

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15792
Joined  2003-10-09

Ramwolff - note that one of the changes in the rigging tools is the ability to turn normalisation off, which should make handles (including your cape) much easier to implement.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 07:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15792
Joined  2003-10-09

I haven’t noticed the DSM issue, though it’s a random thing so that’s hardly conclusive.

As a semi-related note - with gamma correction on the point lights in DS now produce a useful effect. Of course that does mean old scenes may need adjusting - I wanted to turn the lights down a touch.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  138
Joined  2007-11-26
Slosh - 17 April 2013 10:03 PM
cwichura - 17 April 2013 09:49 PM

How will export plugins like Reality or Luxus see the surface selection sets?  I’m guessing they will only see the base surfaces and none of the selection sets.

Although it would be handy if one could collapse the base materials away and have Reality/etc see only the surface selection sets.  It would make applying material settings in Reality to the SuperSuit with its hundreds of mat zones MUCH easier if one could group them in Studio and then tell Studio to only make the custom selection sets show as if they were the base materials to the export plugins.

I did a test, assigning Hiro 5’s like-textured material zones into 4 groups: Head, Torso, Limbs, Eyes.  Then, to test the spot render to new window feature, I grabbed a portion of my scene and sent it over to LuxRender, via Luxus.  Rendered just fine.

Also, maybe you meant something else by your question.  The original material zones are listed in a main group at the bottom of the list, so they are still receiving individual settings and you can continue to edit them individually.  So, I believe Luxus and Reality will probably refer to this final list when exporting material data to LuxRender.  Hopefully, I am wrong, because like you said with the Supersuit as an example, if I only have Black Leather, silver trim, and chain mail comprising my entire suit, it would be nice for Lux to recognize it as only 3 materials, rather than 120 or whatever supersuit has!  I may test it later to find out, but assigning the groups is going to be tedious.

LuxRender? via Luxus? I am so behind the times. Still trying to put Eilir Works BSP Atmosphere Clouds into Daz 3. And, it won’t let me. It says it can not find Daz. I have Daz 3 and Daz 4 Pro. Back to this LuxRender and Luxus. What are they? Where can I get more information on them?

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
cwichura - 17 April 2013 10:15 PM

The collapse/bake was more wishful thinking than anything.

What I’m worried about is since you say they are in the same namespace as the base surfaces, that Reality for example will end up seeing both the surface selection sets AND the base materials until such time as it’s updated to have native knowledge of the surface selection sets.  If it sees both of them, it will end up trying to export the material (and hence geometry) multiple times, which would be bad.

Put another way, the SDK needs to work such that existing plugins only see the original base surfaces of the object and only ones specifically updated should see the surface selection sets as they’ll have the appropriate knowledge of how to deal with them.

By name space we simply mean that you should not create a surface selection set that has the same name as another material or selection set.  That said the selection sets are a separate list provided by separate functions, so plugin developers current code will continue to work as it does without update, unless they wish to use the surface selection sets for something in an update to their plug-ins.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
Slosh - 17 April 2013 10:22 PM

I just set up a selection set on Michael 5, then applied Benjamin material preset and the new setting went into the texture set I created perfectly!  Then, I tried saving the material, with selection sets, as a material preset, but unfortunately when I reloaded Michael 5 and applied the saved preset, the selection sets were gone.  Hopefully there is a way to save them out that we don’t know about yet.

Surface Selection Sets are currently saved with scenes, scene subset, and wearables.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  621
Joined  2007-08-14
WitchStorm - 18 April 2013 08:08 AM

LuxRender? via Luxus? I am so behind the times. Still trying to put Eilir Works BSP Atmosphere Clouds into Daz 3. And, it won’t let me. It says it can not find Daz. I have Daz 3 and Daz 4 Pro. Back to this LuxRender and Luxus. What are they? Where can I get more information on them?

LuxRender (wikipedia)
LuxRender home
Luxus at DAZ

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
prixat - 18 April 2013 04:18 AM

I like the way Catmull-Clark subdiv is now labeled as ‘Legacy’  grin

The new methods alter my models a bit but they haven’t broken anything yet.
So far, I actually prefer the slightly more rounded and expanded shapes the newer algorithms produce.

I’ll have to make something with more holes and internals and see if that expansion has an effect on it.

It looks like I wont have to throw away Cinema just yet, though I need to get a Ptex plugin. cool smile


In future, will there be the same control over the Render subdiv levels as we have over the Preview subdiv levels?

Couple notes on the new subdivision.  Its more “correct” according to industry standards so it will be a little different for most shapes and completely different for others.  It is also more sensitive to ill formed geometry things like topology construction, errant welding, and winding order matter significantly.  We kept the legacy for cases where this cause strangeness in the subdivision.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  435
Joined  2012-10-15
gilikshe - 18 April 2013 02:23 AM

5) Added support for Ptex.
Can I think in this like a new toy for shader builder too?

Ptex variables are activated whenever a material has a property using a PTex map.  Should be able to use it with Shader Mixer and Builder.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  138
Joined  2007-11-26
araneldon - 18 April 2013 08:22 AM
WitchStorm - 18 April 2013 08:08 AM

LuxRender? via Luxus? I am so behind the times. Still trying to put Eilir Works BSP Atmosphere Clouds into Daz 3. And, it won’t let me. It says it can not find Daz. I have Daz 3 and Daz 4 Pro. Back to this LuxRender and Luxus. What are they? Where can I get more information on them?

LuxRender (wikipedia)
LuxRender home
Luxus at DAZ

Thanks araneldon! Going to check it out….

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  243
Joined  2003-10-09

I am very happy about two new features, the independent UV for Geometry Shells - my Body Jewels are so much more versatile now! smile and the Spot Render in a new window, saves a lot of time when only a small detail has to be changed and you don’t need to render the whole image again - I so missed this feature when switched from Poser to DS for a scene with Genesis.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 09:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  811
Joined  2007-01-08

That’s a fantastic set of features! Thanks DAZ!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 09:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4730
Joined  2004-08-11
Richard Haseltine - 18 April 2013 07:25 AM

Ramwolff - note that one of the changes in the rigging tools is the ability to turn normalisation off, which should make handles (including your cape) much easier to implement.

Sounds great.  Don’t know what you said but sounds great.  raspberry Not sure what Normalisation is or does. 

One thing I’ve not had a chance to ask is with all these new subdivision options will there be one that will be a little less intensive so when I pose Bruno’s arms up the weight mapping doesn’t over extend itself and cause bulbous shoulders??  Just thought I’d ask. 

On the weight mapping, I guess since I’m getting a little better at it, is there a way to save out an altered weight mapping that fixes these areas to include with Bruno when he’s finally released?

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

DAZ Studio 4 Frequently Asked Questions

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 14
4