Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 14
2
DAZ Studio Pro BETA (4.5.2.40) Update!
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1029
Joined  2011-09-13

Very excited to try this, especially if it is more stable on Macs.

 Signature 

My DAZ User Gallery
Deviantart gallery: storypilot.deviantart.com

Storypilot’s Pizza Kitchen - Art Studio thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2004-12-26
SnowSultan - 17 April 2013 07:07 PM

Now, does anyone know how to save a spot render in a new window? That’s the feature I updated for!  wink

Spot Render is a “Tool” and so its option(s) are in the Tool Settings Pane.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4034
Joined  2004-08-11
ketthrove - 17 April 2013 08:05 PM
SnowSultan - 17 April 2013 07:07 PM

OK, but like I said, those features are really only going to be useful if we take advantage of them. Studio has had normal map support and a very powerful node-based shader system for quite a while and both are going to waste because almost no one is using them. Hopefully since, as Cwichura said, Genesis already uses Sub-D, we will in fact get more models besides it and the Sub-D dragon that can take full advantage of them.

(edit: I do know that you can use SubD on any object, but it’s usually unnecessary).

Now, does anyone know how to save a spot render in a new window? That’s the feature I updated for!  wink

Spot Render is a “Tool” and so its option(s) are in the Tool Settings Pane.

Would be nice if DAZ added a right click option when the spot render is used to save image to desktop.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

RAMWorks Freebies

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  269
Joined  2003-10-09

Pose Preset = Apply a single pose to a figure/prop, per preset.

Hierarchical Pose Preset = Apply multiple poses to multiple figures/props [within a common hierarchy], per preset.

For instance… Figure A leaps forward to punch Figure B in the jaw.  Figure B reacts to being punched in the jaw by Figure A. In the past, this has always taken at least two Pose Presets; one to apply to Figure A after selecting Figure A, and one to apply to Figure B after selecting Figure B. With a Hierarchical Pose Preset, both poses are in the same preset and so long as both figures have a common ancestor (i.e. a group) the poses are applied to the respective figure, simultaneously.

Now expand that example to include several figures… and several props… all interacting with one another… all applied using a single preset.

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  937
Joined  2012-02-04

Thanks for the explanation, rbtwhiz.  That is actually pretty darned powerful.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  937
Joined  2012-02-04

Ptex requires every base (pre-SubD) face to have a facetid so it can look up the per-face texels.  How is this going to be imported & stored in Studio?  And will we be seeing an update to Genesis Starter Essentials with a new geometry file for Genesis with DAZ-mapped facetids so there is a standard for folks to use in creating Ptex skins for Genesis?

Edit to add: Reading Disney’s Ptex paper, explicit facetids don’t seem to be a requirement.  They imply the facetids are auto-generated by vertex order of the geometry itself.

Also, anyone know if the texture filtering that Ptex allows for it to deal more gracefully than traditional UV maps with texture stretching issues?  That would be a good reason for DAZ to release a Ptex-based ‘Elite’ character skin.  (Although I’d not personally be able to use it, since I do all my renders in LuxRender, which doesn’t support Ptex.)

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  269
Joined  2003-10-09

When the Spot Render tool is active, the options for that tool are displayed in the Tool Settings pane; this is true of all Viewport Tools, the Spot Render tool just never had any options before now.  The option that has been added to the Spot Render tool is one in which you can now choose where the image will render to.  The Viewport option, the default [and only option prior to this release], causes the render to occur in the same place it always has… directly within the viewport, sized according to the size of the rectangle you drag within the viewport.  Choosing the New Window option now causes the area of the viewport within the rectangle you drag with the tool to be rendered to a new window (just like a full render), with a relative size and position that corresponds with your current Render Settings. This is useful, for instance, because you can now re-render just a portion of an image and layer it above a previous render to “patch” that image without having to re-render the entire thing… and the re-rendered portion is already appropriately sized and positioned, waiting for you to do just that.

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  400
Joined  2012-10-15
cwichura - 17 April 2013 08:50 PM

Ptex requires every base (pre-SubD) face to have a facetid so it can look up the per-face texels.  How is this going to be imported & stored in Studio?  And will we be seeing an update to Genesis Starter Essentials with a new geometry file for Genesis with DAZ-mapped facetids so there is a standard for folks to use in creating Ptex skins for Genesis?

Edit to add: Reading Disney’s Ptex paper, explicit facetids don’t seem to be a requirement.  They imply the facetids are auto-generated by vertex order of the geometry itself.

Also, anyone know if the texture filtering that Ptex allows for it to deal more gracefully than traditional UV maps with texture stretching issues?  That would be a good reason for DAZ to release a Ptex-based ‘Elite’ character skin.  (Although I’d not personally be able to use it, since I do all my renders in LuxRender, which doesn’t support Ptex.)

The order of the faces in the cage determines the facetids, no extra data needed.  Ptex allows texture resolution per face so it can help in some issue with stretching if done right.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1261
Joined  2005-03-16

Okay, just a little time to play around and already I like some of the new features very much.  My favorite so far is Surface Selection Sets.  Easy to set up,  wonderful to use.  You just got to the Surfaces Tab context menu, Edit Selection Sets, create names for your sets, such as Body, Eyes, then assign the materials to the set.  Iris, Pupil, Sclera go to the Eyes, and I would do a separate one for the cornea and tear, maybe call it “Clear”.  Then, you just choose that set out of the regular list on the left side of the surfaces tab and it automatically selects all the mats in that group.

The gamma correction option is pretty cool, too.  Takes that ultra-shine off of items in the scene.  Spot render to new window is great, for the reasons listed above (re-render only portion of scene to composite later).

The only drawback, so far, is that I don’t seem to be able to convert a material to LuxMaterials.  The option doesn’t even show up in the context menu.  It is there for lights, but not materials.  BUT, if I load a scene from before I installed the beta, in which I used LuxMaterials, the material settings appear in the left side list..  Just can’t create new conversions.

 Signature 

My DAZ Store Page    My Facebook Fan Page    My Twitter Account    Free Video Tutorials    My FreeStuff at ShareCG    My Gallery on DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2942
Joined  2011-12-10
SnowSultan - 17 April 2013 07:07 PM

OK, but like I said, those features are really only going to be useful if we take advantage of them. Studio has had normal map support and a very powerful node-based shader system for quite a while and both are going to waste because almost no one is using them.

I may be a rare case, but I do use Normal maps, and just about everything I build for D|S uses subdiv, and I know I’m not the only one.

But I just wanted to tell you why I think this move by DAZ to support OpenSubDiv and, now that I understand a bit more about PTex, that too, is huge.  It proves beyond doubt that DAZ not only wants to expand the market with this software, it wants this software to be taken very seriously by the industry at large.  That those of us working with it aren’t simply spinning our wheels in the hobby market, that there’s a real future for those using it who want to go there.

I couldn’t wait to get my butt over to CGTalk and post a link to this thread… It’s still surprising to me that there are those there who still haven’t got the first clue what OpenSubDiv is… every time I see that video I drool over it.  That DAZ has put in ANY of those features at all is just flipping huge…

Forgive me, I’m gushing… but I remember at SIGGRAPH in 1999 when I heard about SubDiv for the first time and face to face got to ask Steve Cooper if it would ever happen in Poser… he avoided the question, and here we are fourteen years down the line and Poser still hasn’t got it…

It proves to me that DAZ want’s DAZ Studio to be the best it can be and the D|S user to have top notch tools to work with.  Hell… maybe it’ll attract more plugin authors to bring in things like editable cloth, dynamics and particle emitters… there are a bunch of each of those out there…

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  400
Joined  2012-10-15
Slosh - 17 April 2013 09:10 PM

Okay, just a little time to play around and already I like some of the new features very much.  My favorite so far is Surface Selection Sets.  Easy to set up,  wonderful to use.  You just got to the Surfaces Tab context menu, Edit Selection Sets, create names for your sets, such as Body, Eyes, then assign the materials to the set.  Iris, Pupil, Sclera go to the Eyes, and I would do a separate one for the cornea and tear, maybe call it “Clear”.  Then, you just choose that set out of the regular list on the left side of the surfaces tab and it automatically selects all the mats in that group.

The gamma correction option is pretty cool, too.  Takes that ultra-shine off of items in the scene.  Spot render to new window is great, for the reasons listed above (re-render only portion of scene to composite later).

The only drawback, so far, is that I don’t seem to be able to convert a material to LuxMaterials.  The option doesn’t even show up in the context menu.  It is there for lights, but not materials.  BUT, if I load a scene from before I installed the beta, in which I used LuxMaterials, the material settings appear in the left side list..  Just can’t create new conversions.

This is probably just an issue with menu updating.  You can put it back by going to Window > Workspace > Select Layout… and re-apply your chosen layout, your you can re-add it with the Customize Dialog (Window > Workspace > Customize…)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  269
Joined  2003-10-09

Surface Selection Sets are basically a means of referring to multiple surfaces using a single point of reference.  For example… take a look at all of the Skin<something> surfaces on Genesis (or better yet, the Genesis Supersuit).  Say you want to be able to select one “thing” and, by way of selecting that “thing”, be able set the Diffuse Color on all the various Skin<something> surfaces at once… without having to remember each of the individual surfaces that participate in your definition of what it means to “change the skin color”.  And so we know what selecting that “thing” means in the future, we want to give that “thing” a name of “Skin Color”.  And then say we want to be able to select one “thing” and, by way of selecting that “thing”, be able to set the texture map for all of the surfaces that participate in the “Torso” UV template… without having to constantly remember “which surfaces use the torso template again?”... but we want to be able to refer to some of the same surfaces as the ones that participate in “Skin Color” while allowing them to stay associated with “Skin Color” too.  That “thing” that now allows this to happen, is a Surface Selection Set.  And better still… Surface Selection Sets can be hierarchical. And better still… Surface Selection Sets share a namespace with the actual surfaces… so they can be referenced from within [hierarchical or standard] Material(s) Presets to apply settings to a superset of the surfaces.

 Signature 

- Documentation Center
- Install Manager
- DAZ Studio 4.x
- DSON Importer
- DSON File Format Specification

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2942
Joined  2011-12-10
rbtwhiz - 17 April 2013 09:37 PM

Surface Selection Sets are basically a means of referring to multiple surfaces using a single point of reference.  For example… take a look at all of the Skin<something> surfaces on Genesis (or better yet, the Genesis Supersuit)

All by itself this will be insanely helpful!  Just out of curiosity, can you layer it?  By that I mean, can you put say, the torso, face and limbs in their own groups, then also have an over-group to have all those together?  That would be useful for applying shaders when you’re not changing textures, or changing colours on the fly…  For instance, I have all the skin and the lacrimal in the same subsurface group… it would be nice to have all of those in a group, but also have the Lacrimal grouped with the eye material zones to be able to grab those when I need to change texture sets…

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  937
Joined  2012-02-04

How will export plugins like Reality or Luxus see the surface selection sets?  I’m guessing they will only see the base surfaces and none of the selection sets.

Although it would be handy if one could collapse the base materials away and have Reality/etc see only the surface selection sets.  It would make applying material settings in Reality to the SuperSuit with its hundreds of mat zones MUCH easier if one could group them in Studio and then tell Studio to only make the custom selection sets show as if they were the base materials to the export plugins.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  653
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks for explaining the Spot Render options and more about SubD features. Any new features are always welcomed, I just hope we put them to good use.  smile

 Signature 

“It answers all the questions, finally, but not really, but kind of”
- Bob Denver

my deviantArt page: http://snowsultan.deviantart.com

Smacky icon by Xamag

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 14
2