Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 4
1
Dynamic clothing
Posted: 16 April 2013 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  614
Joined  2013-01-27

I find that whenever I load dynamic clothing (e.g this http://www.sharecg.com/v/52005/browse/11/Poser/Dynamic-T-Shirts-for-Michael-4) that it doesn’t load on the figure, but somewhere else in the scene. Also, it doesn’t always show up as something you can drape in the Dynamic Clothing tab.

Anyone know why? Can Dynamic clothing not be fitted to a figure? So far, I seem to have to move the clothing roughly onto the model and then try to drape it, but usually it looks rubbish

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 02:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2738
Joined  2009-02-24

So called Poser ‘Dynamic Cloth’ is so often nothing of the sort really. It’s just a model designed so that you can run it through Posers cloth room to drape it onto a figure. That means you’d need to manually shift it onto the character, drape and then render. If you’re using Daz Studio, then the only dynamic clothing is via Optifex’s plugin, and that only accepts Optifex’s own clothes. Again, they don’t actually move with the characters and need to be draped.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15235
Joined  2003-10-09

Poser dynamic clothing and DS dynamic clothing are indeed two different animals altogether.

I don’t know how the DS cloth room works, but the Poser cloth room has lots of different options, once you get used to using it, and you can get the clothing to truly fit the figure, and also simulate things like wind etc

In the main the only free dynamic clothing you find will be for the Poser cloth room.

However Martin (Optitex) does have quite a large catalogue of free stuff at his own site.
http://www.optitex-dynamiccloth.com/FreebieDownload01.php
Which is for DS

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 02:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  614
Joined  2013-01-27

so are you saying the product I linked to is for Poser only and won’t work in DS?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 02:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15235
Joined  2003-10-09

yes cool smirk  sorry

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 03:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13564
Joined  2003-10-09

Though you could probably use them, to an extent at least, on Genesis if you rigged them with the Transfer Utility - load them into DS, with Genesis also in the scene, then go to Edit>Figure>Transfer Utility…, select Genesis as the source, select Clone as the Source shape and then pick Michael 4 from the list, select the shirt as the target, click the More options button, and check Reverse Source Shape from target, then click Accept.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  614
Joined  2013-01-27
chohole - 16 April 2013 02:20 PM

Poser dynamic clothing and DS dynamic clothing are indeed two different animals altogether.

I don’t know how the DS cloth room works, but the Poser cloth room has lots of different options, once you get used to using it, and you can get the clothing to truly fit the figure, and also simulate things like wind etc

In the main the only free dynamic clothing you find will be for the Poser cloth room.

However Martin (Optitex) does have quite a large catalogue of free stuff at his own site.
http://www.optitex-dynamiccloth.com/FreebieDownload01.php
Which is for DS

Ok, thanks.Funny thing is, I downloaed some of the Optiplex stuff you suggested, but same problem - when I try to load it on to a figure (a Michael 4) it appears somewhere else in the scene and I have to manually move it over to the figure, rotate etc until it roughly sits on the figure.

Why is that?

Also, do I drape the garment it when the figure is in the neutral pose (arms outstretched) and then pose my figure? Or the other way around. Sorry if there’a a video about this, but I can’t seem to find one.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 07:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15235
Joined  2003-10-09

That I can’t help you with, as I am a Poser user red face when I need to use another program apart from my fave one.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 07:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2738
Joined  2009-02-24
Sertorial - 17 April 2013 07:18 AM
chohole - 16 April 2013 02:20 PM

Poser dynamic clothing and DS dynamic clothing are indeed two different animals altogether.

I don’t know how the DS cloth room works, but the Poser cloth room has lots of different options, once you get used to using it, and you can get the clothing to truly fit the figure, and also simulate things like wind etc

In the main the only free dynamic clothing you find will be for the Poser cloth room.

However Martin (Optitex) does have quite a large catalogue of free stuff at his own site.
http://www.optitex-dynamiccloth.com/FreebieDownload01.php
Which is for DS

Ok, thanks.Funny thing is, I downloaed some of the Optiplex stuff you suggested, but same problem - when I try to load it on to a figure (a Michael 4) it appears somewhere else in the scene and I have to manually move it over to the figure, rotate etc until it roughly sits on the figure.

Why is that?

Also, do I drape the garment it when the figure is in the neutral pose (arms outstretched) and then pose my figure? Or the other way around. Sorry if there’a a video about this, but I can’t seem to find one.

Dynamic clothing is intended to move dynamically. The practical upshot of this is that your PC will need to calculate how the garment will move with the character, and will accurately depict wrinkles and the like in the process. For that reason, the clothing begins in a static unmovable form. The dynamics are entirely controlled by the plugin which can be added as a tab.

Usually dynamic clothing comes by default in the T-pose. Position it over your character as best you can. It doesn’t matter if there are minor poke throughs as the drape will handle a lot of that. Once done, use the draping tool from the Dynamic Clothing tab and the clothing will settle onto your figure. If you then animate your character into a pose (and yes I do mean animate, even for still frames) and run the drape, it will calculate the movement of your character from its original T-pose into the final pose you wanted, and the clothing will flow realistically with the figure.

Incidentally, Poser’s cloth room works in a very similar way, with the exception that any object can be transformed into a dynamic cloth rather than specific items.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  614
Joined  2013-01-27
HeraldOfFire - 17 April 2013 07:57 AM

Usually dynamic clothing comes by default in the T-pose. Position it over your character as best you can. It doesn’t matter if there are minor poke throughs as the drape will handle a lot of that. Once done, use the draping tool from the Dynamic Clothing tab and the clothing will settle onto your figure. If you then animate your character into a pose (and yes I do mean animate, even for still frames) and run the drape, it will calculate the movement of your character from its original T-pose into the final pose you wanted, and the clothing will flow realistically with the figure.

Incidentally, Poser’s cloth room works in a very similar way, with the exception that any object can be transformed into a dynamic cloth rather than specific items.

Ok, thanks for that. So I get that the garment doesn’t actually load to the figure, it just loads to the scene in a T-pose (glad there’s a word for that by the way)

But I am still not sure of your answer to my other question. Does the character have to be in the T-pose when I first put the clothing on it? or can it be in a pose I have already set?

BTW - I don’t do animations, so I am not sure what you mean by “animate your character into a pose.” I normally just pose characters with the dials (bend, twist etc). Will that not work for dynamic clothing?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2738
Joined  2009-02-24
Sertorial - 17 April 2013 08:35 AM

But I am still not sure of your answer to my other question. Does the character have to be in the T-pose when I first put the clothing on it? or can it be in a pose I have already set?

BTW - I don’t do animations, so I am not sure what you mean by “animate your character into a pose.” I normally just pose characters with the dials (bend, twist etc). Will that not work for dynamic clothing?

The problem with posing your figure beforehand is that the clothing will be in the T-pose. That means if your character is already posed, there’s a good chance that the cloth won’t sit properly on the figure unless they’re very similar poses. As you already guessed, the cloth doesn’t follow the character by default, so if they’re already posed, there’s no telling where you’ll get poke-through. That’s the reason you’ll probably need to animate the pose.

As for animating, I mean exactly that. Ideally you want to move a few frames forwards and repose your character in the pose you ACTUALLY want. That way the first frame is the T-pose character and then your character will move into the final pose moving the dynamic clothing with it during the drape.

When it comes to rendering you can choose to only render the final pose frame in the render settings. The animation is just to get the cloth looking correct, not for actual animation (though, that is dynamic cloths main purpose).

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  614
Joined  2013-01-27
HeraldOfFire - 17 April 2013 09:02 AM

The problem with posing your figure beforehand is that the clothing will be in the T-pose. That means if your character is already posed, there’s a good chance that the cloth won’t sit properly on the figure unless they’re very similar poses. As you already guessed, the cloth doesn’t follow the character by default, so if they’re already posed, there’s no telling where you’ll get poke-through. That’s the reason you’ll probably need to animate the pose.

Ok, so I add the garment onto the figure in T pose, drape, pose figure, then drape again?

HeraldOfFire - 17 April 2013 09:02 AM

As for animating, I mean exactly that. Ideally you want to move a few frames forwards and repose your character in the pose you ACTUALLY want. That way the first frame is the T-pose character and then your character will move into the final pose moving the dynamic clothing with it during the drape.

Sorry, I am not sure what you mean by animate? When I create a scene it is for a still image. I put the figure in the scene, pose it and render it. Isn’t animation to do with making movies by adding lots of stills together?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15235
Joined  2003-10-09

Dyanamic clothing relies on an short animation in order to drape the clothing correctly.

On frame 1 have the figure in the default T position with the clothing on it as accurately as you can get it.  THen move to a later frame and pose the “Human” figure in the pose you want, then run an animation, as the figure animates the clothing will start fitting itself to the figure.

A simplistic description because, as I said earlier, I use the Poser cloth room, not the DS one, but the principle is much the same.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 01:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  614
Joined  2013-01-27
chohole - 17 April 2013 09:52 AM

Dyanamic clothing relies on an short animation in order to drape the clothing correctly.

On frame 1 have the figure in the default T position with the clothing on it as accurately as you can get it.  THen move to a later frame and pose the “Human” figure in the pose you want, then run an animation, as the figure animates the clothing will start fitting itself to the figure.

A simplistic description because, as I said earlier, I use the Poser cloth room, not the DS one, but the principle is much the same.

I’m not following you. What do you mean by frame 1?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2738
Joined  2009-02-24
Sertorial - 17 April 2013 01:18 PM
chohole - 17 April 2013 09:52 AM

Dyanamic clothing relies on an short animation in order to drape the clothing correctly.

On frame 1 have the figure in the default T position with the clothing on it as accurately as you can get it.  THen move to a later frame and pose the “Human” figure in the pose you want, then run an animation, as the figure animates the clothing will start fitting itself to the figure.

A simplistic description because, as I said earlier, I use the Poser cloth room, not the DS one, but the principle is much the same.

I’m not following you. What do you mean by frame 1?

An animation is a series of frames. Frame 1 refers to the first frame in the animation. Now, I realise that you don’t intend to actually RENDER an animation, but you will still need to animate the drape otherwise it will not only look wrong, but will probably not even fit the character you’re trying to put the clothing onto.

1) Start at the T-Pose. Move the character into the spot where you want them to be in the final render.
2) Overlay the clothing over them ensuring you do NOT change the characters pose and that it fits with minimal poke through.
3) Advance the frames forward by going to the timeline tab. About 10 frames should be enough for basic poses. Add more if the movement is going to be fairly complex, such as sitting cross legged or arms crossed.
4) Set your pose. Note that the clothing still won’t actually follow the figure at this point, but that’s fine.
5) Go back to frame 1 and run the drape for the 10-15 frames you had advanced earlier.
6) After the drape is completed, you can now render. In the render settings, render the FINAL frame of the animation you just created. This ensures the final output is a still image and not an animation or image sequence.

Yes, I realise you’re not trying to make an animation, but you need to work with dynamic clothing as if you WERE trying to do an animation. Otherwise it simply won’t look right.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 April 2013 08:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  402
Joined  2006-09-01

When you load the clothing you need to have Genesis/M4 (any figure you want to clothe) selected and to drag the clothing onto the figure.  Sometimes a dialogue will appear asking what figure the clothing was originally for and which figure you want to load it onto.  If you just double click the clothing in your contents folder it’ll just load into the scene but not necessarily onto your figure.

If this doesn’t work first time then delete the clothing from your scene and try again until it loads properly.  Once the clothing is loaded onto your figure properly it’ll move with the figure.  However, certain clothing such as capes, robes or loose fitting garments may need to be re-scaled if you are animating the figures or the pose is quite extreme.  That way the figure won’t poke through the garment during the animation sequence or in certain poses.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 4
1