Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 5
1
PZ3 in Carrara? (And/or Optitex clothing in Carrara)
Posted: 16 April 2013 06:34 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  803
Joined  2007-01-08

Hello everyone!
I was wondering how PZ3’s perform in Carrara? Does weight mapping (Genesis, say) transfer at all, or does the rig have to be redone?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 06:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Check http://carraracafe.com/ I know I read someplace about a plugin for poser weightmaped figures.

Carrara 8.5 can use genesis directly.

Most pz3s open fine. Some times you have to have restraints off for them to open right.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 07:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1806
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi reDave smile

Poser 9 and 2012, but use the DSON plugin converter to use genesis,..

Carrara doesn’t need the DSON converter, and cannot read (Poser) files saved with genesis imported using the DSON plugin,..

Poser files using the DSON plugin will only open and work in Poser,.. if the DSON Plugin is available to transfer the data to Poser.


Carrara 8.5 (Beta) will load Genesis and all smart content from the (Smart content) browser in Carrara, just as you would in Daz Studio.
so, there’‘s no need to transfer (import) a Poser scene, or a Daz Studio Scene… into Carrara,.

The figures, clothing , hair etc.. can all be loaded using the browser.

Also,. since the change in weight mapping in Poser,.. any new (poser) figures which use that weight mapping, won’t work well in Carrara.

Poser Scenes made in older versions of poser will import into carrara,. but they create a “Universe” (from poser) inside Carrara’s own Universe,. which can be confusing.
it’s easier and a better work-flow to use the carrara browser to access your poser Runtime folder, and create your scene in carrara.

hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 09:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  450
Joined  2003-10-09

A caveat or two, some characters, especially some not tested or guaranteed to work in DAZ Studio, will not load correctly in Carrara. You can load those in Poser, save as a new figure and then import into Carrara and they will then be fine and you can save them in Carrara for future use as a Carrara file with no problems (other than the usual tweaks for specularity, etc., though I find the Poser green issue doesn’t seem to come in when you import a character that way so the color doesn’t need tweaking, at least with ones I’ve done). Usually it has something to do with some missing code in the injection files. Some morphs also do not work in Carrara… those, too, will work in Poser and you can export as a pz3. Carrara is more finicky about the code in the injection files than Poser. There is also a Fenric script that can fix some morph issues, but not all according to I think Fenric himself, if I remember correctly.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 09:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  803
Joined  2007-01-08

Thank you all for your help. The problem is that the animation is supposed to start in DS (the animators knowing that program rather well wink ), using some Genesis and V4/M4, with Optitex clothing, then the idea would be to export to Carrara for hair and rendering. PZ3 came up with in the conversation with the commissioner as a method that should be in principle very reliable, as a back-up plan in case duf/fbx should fail.
I know that DS can export a weight mapped CR2 of Genesis, which I just tried in the Carrara beta. I have no previous experience with Carrara but this CR2 Genesis looks slightly distorted to me when posed, with things that look like ridges on the torso. And of course that is still without Poser in the equation.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1806
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi ReDave smile

For what you want to do,.. Using DS 4.5 and saving the scenes as DUF,. then you can Open those in Carrara 8.5 beta

this should also handle any Optitex dynamic clothing, once it’s been frozen and converted.

Alternatively,. you can use the Aniblock importer, for carrara. and the Poser Format Exporter from DS to export the poses and animations into Carrara,. since you’re using V4/M4 etc.. those figures can be loaded directly from the browser in Carrara,. without importing.

You can export poses or animation from Daz Studio,. in PZ2 format,. which Carrara can open.
or,..
you can create Aniblocks from your animations in Daz Studio,. and Carrara (with the aniblock importer plugin) can import those animations as keyframes,. ...which can also be converted and saved as carrara NLA (non linear animation) files. (like aniblocks in carrara)

Genesis opens from the Browser in Carrara 8.5,.. so there’s no need to import genesis from DS. to get it into Carrara

Exporting a weight mapped CR2 (poser file) isn’t even recommended for poser users,. since DAZ released the DSON plugin for Poser 9 and 2012 which allows poser users to load genesis, and content,.. directly from the browser.

hope that makes sense smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5903
Joined  2007-12-04

I was under the impression that Carrara 8.5 would gain the ability to use the Poser DSON files as well, due to this news report:

Carrara 8.5 will include:
- Support for up to Windows 8 and OSX 10.8
- DSON support
– Metadata support
- New animation tools (keyframe tool improvements, smoothing, keying every frame, etc.)
- Graph editor improvements
- Improvements to viewport avatars (Lights – spotlight, sun, moon, etc. Cameras – Conical, Isometric, etc.)
-JUST IN: Improved bullet simulation for soft bodies

Source: Steve Spencer, Director of Sales and Marketing at Daz3d.

More details in the Daz3D forums.


/3drendero

Do you think this is what they mean?

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 04:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1806
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Dartanbeck smile

Genesis DSF is a DSON format ,... DUF is also a DSON format ... anything from DS4 onwards is DSON

So,. DS uses DUF,. and Carrara can use DUF,. and with the Poser DSON plugin, so can Poser users,.
 
But,. Poser needs a plugin,. since there are some major differences in the way Poser and (DS and Carrara) now work.
the Poser DSON plugin, allows Poser 9 and Poser Pro 2012 users, to work with Genesis, and all the new content directly in Poser.

But ..Poser scenes, using genesis,. will need the Poser DSON Plugin,... to load into Poser, and won’t work in anything else.

Carrara 8.5 has been re-built to support genesis, and that includes all the DSON formats,...so, there’s no need for a plugin. ..it’s there already.

smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 04:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5903
Joined  2007-12-04

I new already that 8.5 can just load Genesis… but always thought of DSON as the Poser version, since that’s when I first saw the term used. Thanks for clearing that up. smile

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 April 2013 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
3DAGE - 16 April 2013 11:30 AM

Hi ReDave smile

For what you want to do,.. Using DS 4.5 and saving the scenes as DUF,. then you can Open those in Carrara 8.5 beta

this should also handle any Optitex dynamic clothing, once it’s been frozen and converted.

Only for stills, not animation. angry

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 03:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  803
Joined  2007-01-08
3DAGE - 16 April 2013 11:30 AM

Hi ReDave smile

For what you want to do,.. Using DS 4.5 and saving the scenes as DUF,. then you can Open those in Carrara 8.5 beta

this should also handle any Optitex dynamic clothing, once it’s been frozen and converted.

<——- Converted to what format?

hope that makes sense smile

Yes makes plenty of sense, thank you!!!

@Manley: what fails to transfer in the animation? confused

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 04:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5903
Joined  2007-12-04
ReDave - 17 April 2013 03:32 AM
3DAGE - 16 April 2013 11:30 AM

Hi ReDave smile

For what you want to do,.. Using DS 4.5 and saving the scenes as DUF,. then you can Open those in Carrara 8.5 beta

this should also handle any Optitex dynamic clothing, once it’s been frozen and converted.

<——- Converted to what format?

I believe he meant to save it to DUF, which you can do in Daz Studio

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 04:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4568
Joined  2004-07-01
ManStan - 16 April 2013 05:49 PM
3DAGE - 16 April 2013 11:30 AM

Hi ReDave smile

For what you want to do,.. Using DS 4.5 and saving the scenes as DUF,. then you can Open those in Carrara 8.5 beta

this should also handle any Optitex dynamic clothing, once it’s been frozen and converted.

Only for stills, not animation. angry

 

Optitex dynamic clothing does not work in Carrara - cloth tears .
and to add you have to Bake and Freeze in DS first - then save as DUF ..

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 06:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
bigh - 17 April 2013 04:53 AM
ManStan - 16 April 2013 05:49 PM
3DAGE - 16 April 2013 11:30 AM

Hi ReDave smile

For what you want to do,.. Using DS 4.5 and saving the scenes as DUF,. then you can Open those in Carrara 8.5 beta

this should also handle any Optitex dynamic clothing, once it’s been frozen and converted.

Only for stills, not animation. angry

 

Optitex dynamic clothing does not work in Carrara - cloth tears .
and to add you have to Bake and Freeze in DS first - then save as DUF ..

 

I don’t get tearing. I can run the clothing sim in studio,{ bake to key frame before running the drape. then freeze the drape}, save as DUF. Open in carrara and run it. The clothing blasts off the character and in to the either till the last frame. I’ll have a new video of this shortly. The one I have on yourtube is about a year old.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 08:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1806
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Re Dave

When you simulate Optitex cloth in Daz Studio,. and you want to transfer that out to another program,. then the simulation data needs to be “Frozen”,. part of that is creating the Key-frame animation data from the simulation,. and the other part is “converting” the dynamic cloth (mesh) into a series of shape morphs.(one for each frame).. This is all done as part of “Freeze simulation”

Now it’s no longer a dynamic simulation,. it’s a series of shaped meshes and animation keyframes.


Big H smile

Soft-body physics in carrara can cause a tearing or stuck sections of a model,. but I’m not sure if you’re meaning Optitex clothing from DS into carrara,. or Carrara soft-body physics being used as a cloth like item.

Stan smile

The clothing blasts off the character and in to the either till the last frame

this sounds like what can happen when you start a soft body physics simulation in carrara. (the softbody reacts to the bone influences)

You don’t need to,. and shouldn’t ever try to run a physics simulation on an dynamic clothing item imported from DS.
it’s not dynamic in Carrara,. it’s a rigid model with shape morphs.

By freezing the simulation in DS,. then importing that DUF Scene file into Carrara 8.5 (beta) you should get the complete animation of the models,. ready to render.

As for animation,. it’s working for me,. so,.. what Optitex items are you using?

 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 April 2013 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5903
Joined  2007-12-04
3DAGE - 17 April 2013 08:42 AM

By freezing the simulation in DS,. then importing that DUF Scene file into Carrara 8.5 (beta) you should get the complete animation of the models,. ready to render.

As for animation,. it’s working for me,. so,.. what Optitex items are you using?

Hi 3dage,
By the last statement in the above quote, do you mean that Optitex Dynamic clothing animations from D|S with render in Carrara by means of DUF?

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 5
1