Digital Art Zone

 
     
Estimated Explicative language expected
Posted: 13 June 2012 11:04 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  631
Joined  2010-09-22

I think it would be cool if CARRARA would have and “estimated time” in the render room.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  374
Joined  2006-02-03

I’m pretty sure one of the plug-in writers could create something that would generate comments that increase in “intensity” the longer it takes something to render. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 11:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Rich smile

in the render room, go to the “Progress/Statistics” tab.
In the Rendering Progress” you’ll see the Time Left : (estimated)

It’s only available for animations, not single frame renders.
As design Acrobat mentioned, it’s tricky to give an accurate time remaining, as some frames may take more or less time to render.

It’s like getting an accurate time remaining for downloading a file, etc..

pic

Image Attachments
time_left.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 02:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5690
Joined  2006-08-27

Hello 3dage, I’m fairly sure that you get an estimated time with single frames as well. It adjusts by the render bucket. You won’t notice it in a simple scene that renders fast, because it renders so fast, but do a complicated scene with GI and you should see it. At least in C7. I’ll have to test it later to makes sure I’m not blowing smoke. wink

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 02:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2008-10-05
evilproducer - 13 June 2012 02:39 PM

Hello 3dage, I’m fairly sure that you get an estimated time with single frames as well. It adjusts by the render bucket. You won’t notice it in a simple scene that renders fast, because it renders so fast, but do a complicated scene with GI and you should see it. At least in C7. I’ll have to test it later to makes sure I’m not blowing smoke. wink

I do a lot of many hour renders and I get an estimated time remaining on single frames as well.

Shawn.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 08:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1392
Joined  2011-01-03
Misticwolf - 14 June 2012 02:58 AM

I do a lot of many hour renders and I get an estimated time remaining on single frames as well.

Echo that. Though EP is right, the estimate fluctuates quite a bit…and ghost help you if your machine puts itself to sleep while rendering…

 Signature 

- Garstor
Australian-Canadian currently trapped in Texas (maintaining sanity with doses of Carrara, LightWave and PhotoShop)

My 3D art Flickr page for final or near-final images
My 3D art Flickr page for work-in-progress or experiments

Profile