Digital Art Zone

 
   
7 of 14
7
Luxus for Carrara alpha release available - Luxrender in Carrara
Posted: 20 April 2013 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 91 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02

The shading domains was a bugs and is fixed in the latest Win64 builld.

 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 05:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 92 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-03-12

Hi,
I’m on Mac OSX 10.8 trying the new beta. Luxus produces nice .lsx files but I can’t make the plugin to start LuxRender.
I’ve just get a green render window. I’ve tried different locations for the LuxRender catalog but no succés. I’ve have obviosly missed something. Searched the forum but find no answer. Sorry if this question has been asked before.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 06:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 93 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1818
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi mulwarg

Luxrender need to be in a folder, within the main Carrara application folder.

It also needs to be the correct version for your system,.. either OpenCL or,.. No OpenCL

hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 08:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 94 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  119
Joined  0

Hi,
new build online:

Spheric writes:

“New Windows build

Win64 - http://sphericlabs.com/carrara/Win64/Luxus.zip

Changes:

- Added Projection Light.
- Bump maps on all the materials that support one.
- UI elements for the lights.
- IES parameter on the AreaLight.
- Gain on AreaLight
- Users can now choose where LuxRender is.
- Fabric(Weave) option on Cloth”

rk66.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 95 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1818
Joined  2004-08-24

Possible Bug:

Carrara’ Sun light system does not function, if there has previously been a Lux Sun light in the scene,.

if you delete a lux sun from your scene,. then add a Carrara sun,. there is no visible light effect from this sunlight,. even when the renderer options, and all materials have been changed from “lux” systems,.. back to normal carrara shaders and lighting.

The Distant light,. and the other Carrara lights work as expected.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 10:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 96 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-03-12

Thanks for your answer 3DAGE.

I tried that. But I can’t make it work on my Mac.
Luxus plugin for DAZ Studio works like a charm and if I open the .LXS file, generated from the Carra plugin, in LuxRender stand alone, it works fine too. So the LuxRender and the Carrara plugins generation of the .LXF file don’t seem to be the problem.
It’s just the Render button in Carrara that I can’t get to function properly. It just instantly put up a window with a green background.
I’ve tried several locations for the LuxRendar catalog. But no succes so far.
There must be some location for The LuxRender catalog I’ve missed?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 10:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 97 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2012-03-12

Should be “Carrara plugins generation of the .LXS file” Sorry cheese

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 98 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5962
Joined  2007-12-04
3DAGE - 21 April 2013 09:31 AM

Possible Bug:

Carrara’ Sun light system does not function, if there has previously been a Lux Sun light in the scene,.

if you delete a lux sun from your scene,. then add a Carrara sun,. there is no visible light effect from this sunlight,. even when the renderer options, and all materials have been changed from “lux” systems,.. back to normal carrara shaders and lighting.

The Distant light,. and the other Carrara lights work as expected.

Good to know. I will be in the practice of saving scenes especially for Lux renders… but it’s good to know this, for sure. For myself personally, this is not an issue that would keep me from this. What an interesting, different world this offers to Carrara owners… It just seems to me that this might make for an eventual good substitute for folks who don’t like messing with Carrara shaders (personally, I love messing with shaders!) - as the lux material setting pretty much define the material for you - sort of. With a few shader presets, a person could have a good time with this. Perhaps I’ll work up a few to get people started.

Spherical man… thanks 4 the Update!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 April 2013 07:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 99 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1818
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Mulwarg

“Should the Carrara plug-in generate an .LXS file”

No, I’ve not noticed the Carrara Luxus plug-in creating any LXS files,.... I only see that with the DS version of Luxus.

CORRECTION: There is an option box for “Specify Path”,. and when that’s enabled,... hitting render,. will open a “Save .LXS” window.
If you hit “Cancel”,... it will open the Lux render GUI and start to render.

If that option isn’t enabled,. it should normally create a render window filled with a blue/green colour,.(not sure why)
then it opens the Lux render GUI

Try the new beta build (above) which apparently allows you to browse for the location of the Luxrender application.

- Users can now choose where LuxRender is.

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 April 2013 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 100 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01

Updated
http://carraracafe.com/luxus-the-luxrender-plugin-for-carrara-developmentdocumentation-blog/
again.

Today:
Documentation (Updated 2013-04-22)
-Unofficial manual by rk66: http://carraracafe.com/forum-3/#cid=1,tid=59


Thanks to rk66 and Spheric Labs for writing enough for a short manual this early..

 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2013 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 101 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01

New Win64 beta version released 23/4, same download link as usual.

Changes:
-> Carrara instances as LuxRender instances.

 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2013 12:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 102 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01

Missed the previous release 22/4:

Another WIn64 Build.  I will update Mac end of week.
Win64 - http://sphericlabs.com/carrara/Win64/Luxus.zip

Changes:
-> Normal Maps work.  Plug a Carrara Normal map into the bumpmap channel(This is the way LuxRender does it).  Want a bump and a normal map?, use a Lux Add texture or a Lux Mix texture to combine them.
-> Lux Blackbody now has a temperature for settings the color.
-> Lux Constant Color and Lux Constant Float.  This solves the problem of “Some parameters values are too limited”.  You can use a Constant Color or Float for any spot where you need a much larger value/color or smaller value/color .  Volumes are the most common case.

 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2013 03:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 103 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  609
Joined  2008-02-22
3drendero - 23 April 2013 11:14 AM

New Win64 beta version released 23/4, same download link as usual.

Changes:
-> Carrara instances as LuxRender instances.

Wow!!  ...anyone try this yet?

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2013 06:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 104 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13
3drendero - 23 April 2013 12:26 PM

Missed the previous release 22/4:

Another WIn64 Build.  I will update Mac end of week.
Win64 - http://sphericlabs.com/carrara/Win64/Luxus.zip

Changes:
-> Normal Maps work.  Plug a Carrara Normal map into the bumpmap channel(This is the way LuxRender does it).  Want a bump and a normal map?, use a Lux Add texture or a Lux Mix texture to combine them.
-> Lux Blackbody now has a temperature for settings the color.
-> Lux Constant Color and Lux Constant Float.  This solves the problem of “Some parameters values are too limited”.  You can use a Constant Color or Float for any spot where you need a much larger value/color or smaller value/color .  Volumes are the most common case.

thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 April 2013 07:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 105 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  138
Joined  2005-08-26

This is quite exciting! I love Carrara and would love to see an official plug-in released in the future!

 Signature 

My Renders: My DeviantArt Gallery
Revenger is always looking to meet 3d artists of all levels. FB me if you want to share, or just hangout in the background: http://www.facebook.com/revenger681

Profile
 
 
   
7 of 14
7