Digital Art Zone

 
   
8 of 14
8
Luxus for Carrara alpha release available - Luxrender in Carrara
Posted: 24 April 2013 06:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 106 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi 3Dtoday

is there anyway to DATE these versions?.  I’m getting confused now.

over at the Carrara Cafe, there’s some “beta” documentation,, which includes notes on each of the version release, and dates,.

hope it helps smile

test pic using Luxus plugin,. and a comparison carrara render.

Updated to add…

The first image, (top) is rendered using the beta plugin ,

The second image is rendered using Carrara’s own “Photorealistic” engine,

 

Image Attachments
v4_test.jpgC8_V4_1_49_test.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 April 2013 07:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 107 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  133
Joined  0

Hi,
another new builld.

Spheric writes:

“Another Win64 Build

Win64 - http://sphericlabs.com/carrara/Win64/Luxus.zip

Changes:
- Displacement Maps.

Carrara’s displacement setup is very simliar to LuxRender’s so we are going to read displacement from Carrara’s displacment channel”


CarraraCafe - Beta docu incl. release notes: http://carraracafe.com/forum-3/#cid=1,tid=59

rk.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 April 2013 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 108 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13

over at the Carrara Cafe, there’s some “beta” documentation,, which includes notes on each of the version release, and dates,.

hope it helps

thanks,  but,  I was hoping the versions could have the date in the name.  eg:  luxus.v.4-24-13

test pic using Luxus plugin,. and a comparison carrara render.

Which is which?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 April 2013 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 109 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  133
Joined  0

Hi,
@3dtoday:

The download link contained ever the last and newest release.

rk.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 April 2013 07:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 110 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI 3dtoday smile

Updated the pose to show which is which.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 April 2013 09:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 111 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  390
Joined  2007-07-28

Ok—here is one I did in Carrara (normal render) and then with a few Lux Lights and rendered with LuxRender (via the Luxus plugin).  I didn’t mess with any textures, except for the lamp post—-I tried to make it wood but failed horribly.  Top is Carrara, bottom is Luxus.

Image Attachments
brijitt.jpgbrijittlux.jpg
 Signature 

My You Tube Videos
My Gallery

Each player rolls one die
The player with the highest number goes first
Play continues clock-wise

~Milton Bradley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 02:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 112 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  278
Joined  2007-07-13

Hi there,

does someone know how to change the folder of the LuxRender.exe file within LuxRender?

Eddy

 Signature 

- Live Long and Prosper -
My DAZ Gallery: http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/1589

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 06:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 113 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  88
Joined  0
EddyMI - 25 April 2013 02:09 AM

Hi there,

does someone know how to change the folder of the LuxRender.exe file within LuxRender?

Eddy

I’m sorry…....but Why would you want to do that?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 07:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 114 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02
EddyMI - 25 April 2013 02:09 AM

Hi there,

does someone know how to change the folder of the LuxRender.exe file within LuxRender?

Eddy

For the Mac, you will have to wait for the build at the end of this week.

For Win, make sure Luxus is the active renderer, switch back to Assembly room and then do Menu -> Edit -> Setup LuxRender Path

 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 115 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  133
Joined  0

Hi,
another new build:

Spheric Labs writes:

“Another Win64 Build

http://sphericlabs.com/carrara/Win64/Luxus.zip

Changes:
- Autotranslation of Alpha and Transparency.”

rk.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 116 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  349
Joined  2006-02-03

Yes, but what I really want to know is can this Luxus render in plaid?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 117 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  96
Joined  2004-12-01

This is great to see, I have tried out some basic stuff and its looking great.  I am saving up my dollars as we speak. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 118 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  133
Joined  0

Hi,
Update: Mac64 Build online now.

Spheric Labs: “Its the end of the week somewhere”

-> http://sphericlabs.com/carrara/Mac64/Luxus.zip

rk.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 119 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

LOL ok, all I get is a big ol’ crash to desktop. How is this installed and do I launch LuxRender first or what? red face

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 April 2013 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 120 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01

No need to touch Luxrender, from the old build:
- Added Mac Build. Install/Copy LuxRender such that there is a folder right next to your Extenstions folder called LuxRender that contains the LuxRender application.

Unzip the files in the Extensions folder I guess for Mac too.

The new build should have a Edit-“Setup Luxrender path” that works when Luxus is selected for rendering.

 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
   
8 of 14
8