Digital Art Zone

 
     
How does one re-dock Panes?
Posted: 09 April 2013 11:44 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2003-10-09

Talk about a pane!  I undocked some panes (IE Actors. wardrobe and props) b4 I discovered it wasn’t a great idea.  How do I get them re-docked?

DS 4.5, Mini-Mac 64 bit, running Mountain Lion.

TCPI Writer

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 11:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8196
Joined  2009-05-14

Grab the TAB (the name tab) of the Pane and drag and drop in to where you want. Do you have any panes docked at all. If so close the floating panes completey and right click on the side bar of the docked pane/s and choose to open the pane of your choice and it will be automatically docked with the other/s.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 01:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2003-10-09

I found another way ... Workspace settings…

Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 01:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8196
Joined  2009-05-14

I am going senile as I would have sworn I had included this info in my post above if I hadn’t reread it again just now. Sorry about that. Time to go back to methinks.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 03:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2003-10-09

Can’t be any more senile than me. 

Proud member of the greybeard society

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 April 2013 03:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8196
Joined  2009-05-14

I see a beard off happening. Well mine is so grey it is white…nearly. raspberry

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 April 2013 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2003-10-09

Ya have to be a Hemingway look-alike to qualify.  I started mine as a mid-life crisis thing and I’ve had it for over thirty years…8-)=

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 April 2013 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8196
Joined  2009-05-14

LOL Ok you win. Funny and you are so welcomed to the DAZ3D forums with that sense of humour. raspberry

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 April 2013 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
RBPahl41 - 10 April 2013 09:26 AM

Ya have to be a Hemingway look-alike to qualify.  I started mine as a mid-life crisis thing and I’ve had it for over thirty years…8-)=

I’m out I look more like a skinny Grizzly Adams than Hemingway.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  721
Joined  2008-02-24

I have the same problem, my panes came off after a crash which ruined all my settings. Now I cannot dock the panes anymore and I cannot find ‘workspace settings’. How do I fix this?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 August 2013 11:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2013-08-13
Herakleia - 18 August 2013 11:03 AM

I have the same problem, my panes came off after a crash which ruined all my settings. Now I cannot dock the panes anymore and I cannot find ‘workspace settings’. How do I fix this?

Assuming we’re talking about the panes which you normally see in the left and right docking areas..

It’s easy; if you have no panes at all then simply go to the Window menu and select “Panes”. Select the pane you want and it’ll become visible on screen. Now all that’s left to do is drag it to either the left or right part of your screen. You’ll notice when you’re there when you see a “strip” light up. Simply let the mouse button go and your docking area is there.

Now; you probably want to have more than one pane in your viewport. Easy too: right click the light area of the now visible docking area and select the “add pane” option; just select a pane you want and presto.

Changing order is easy as well: simply drag and drop.

And you can repeat this process for the other sides of the screen as well. Start out with one, dock it, and then use right click to add more panes to your, at that time, visible docking area.

Hope this helps.

Edit:

And once you’re done you might want to press F4 so save your current layout. That way you don’t have to bother with all this again, but can simply re-load it (using Windows -> Workspace -> Select layout…).

 Signature 

Kind regards, Peter

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 August 2013 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  721
Joined  2008-02-24

Thanks, Peter! After a bit of tinkering it worked!

Profile