Digital Art Zone

 
     
color shift importing photoshop file
Posted: 09 April 2013 02:01 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-05-21

Can anyone tell me why when I import a png, tiff, jpg file from photoshop the colors are completely different?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 03:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2004-07-06

First things first, Mac or PC?

Also, can you upload a screen grab of the before and after?

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 03:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15943
Joined  2003-10-09

If you are on a Mac, then this thread may help you

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/19947/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 03:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-05-21

I’m on a mac using 7.1.0.74

I attached a photoshop file I just made of 3 boxes of red, green, blue
and a screen grab file of Bryce and as you can see the colors aren’t
close.
(I can’t figure out how to attach 2 files so I will post the Bryce file next)

I also have a PC with Vista, are there these color problems on a PC too?

thanks, bob

Image Attachments
Orig_Photoshop_file.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 03:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-05-21

Here’s the Bryce file of the photoshop 3 color boxes

Image Attachments
Bryce_ScreenGrab.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 03:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2004-07-06

No this is a known Mac issue.  If you switch to PC, even if just for the import of the images, then you should be OK.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 04:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-05-21

Thanks so very much! Just wish I stopped by here before spending a bunch of hours trying to get it to work.
So are you saying if I use a PC and import the 2d file, I can then use that file to open on a mac and the image of the 2d will remain the correct color? What file format does Bryce like the best?
Thanks again!!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 04:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2004-07-06

Yes, though I don’t have a Mac to test this on, that is what I understand the case to be.

I import images as bmp and jpg mostly.  They seem to work fine on the PC.  There is no internal image compression in Bryce and I believe all jpgs are uncompressed once imported, so there’s nothing to be gained by using highly compressed images.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 04:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15943
Joined  2003-10-09

Did you try Dan’s tip, in the thread I linked to.  Of course that only works if you are using DS and the bridge.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile