Digital Art Zone

 
     
Help! Morphloader and Genesis
Posted: 08 April 2013 10:49 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1585
Joined  2005-02-25

I must be doing something wrong.  I set Genesis to base res, no subdividing, and export as object. I shape it, save as morph obj, and try to load into Genesis via morph target but there’s an error every time. Am I getting export options wrong?  Is there a method to this I should know?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14064
Joined  2003-10-09

What is the error? Are you using the same preset to import as you used to export?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1585
Joined  2005-02-25

yeah same settings. it says “one or more morphs failed to take effect” or soemthing like that. Looks like morph is there but does nothing :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 12:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14064
Joined  2003-10-09

So had you made any changes to the mesh? If there are no changes you will get that message.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 01:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1585
Joined  2005-02-25

yes. I had exported Genesis as base res/no subdivide, used deformers to make face/head morphs, and exported morphed obj, no subdividing/smoothing, as a new obj. and Then tried to use morph loader to load it in.its not working though.  Are there certain settings for obj export I should be using?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 03:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14064
Joined  2003-10-09

I would expect the OBJ to export with the DFormed effects (which you can check by importing it into the scene).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 04:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2006-10-01

You know you can create morphs from D-Formers directly from the DForm window?

Image Attachments
dformer.jpg
 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 04:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1585
Joined  2005-02-25

yes but I can’t save and load them into other characters

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 07:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2006-10-01

Yes, you can.
Edit / Save As / Support Asset / Morph Asset(s)

Optionally, the Property Editor let you categorize the morph as you want.

 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 08:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
Hellboy - 08 April 2013 07:53 PM

Yes, you can.
Edit / Save As / Support Asset / Morph Asset(s)

Optionally, the Property Editor let you categorize the morph as you want.

Best Tip any user could get. I Vote Hellboy top Tip of the day. Too bad I didn’t post it myself….

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 11:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1585
Joined  2005-02-25

won’t it save the entire body shape? how do I get it to save just the morph I made? (ie, ram horns)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2013 11:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  155
Joined  2003-10-09

Very useful tip indeed! Thx Hellboy!

 Signature 

Erdehel’s deviantart page

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 02:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2006-10-01
belovedalia - 08 April 2013 11:28 PM

won’t it save the entire body shape? how do I get it to save just the morph I made? (ie, ram horns)

No, it will save only the morphs you want and select, not the whole shape as a single morph.
When you go to save, simply check the box with the desired morph. That’s it.

In Base Data Folder you specify:
Asset Directory: The runtime path. I use the default “My Library” path.
Vendor Name: Your name. This will create your custom folder were your personal files will be stored.
Product Name: Optional
Info is remembered. You only specify it once.

By default, the D-Former morphs are in “Genesis / Morphs” and are shown in the parameters tab. If you want to get fancy, use the Property Editor, select where to store the morph (head section on shaping tab maybe? your own section?)

You can also assign it an image or change the colors of the dial in the Parameter Settings (in the little cog icon on the morph).
I save my custom morphs with a card (image) in a section of the shaping tab with my name. I have some D-Former morphs there.
If you do this optional changes after saving the morph, use “Save Modified Assets”.

Jaderail - 08 April 2013 08:14 PM

Best Tip any user could get. I Vote Hellboy top Tip of the day. Too bad I didn’t post it myself….

grin

Image Attachments
save.jpg
 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile