Digital Art Zone

 
     
“Cannot find a file for…” error
Posted: 30 March 2013 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27

I get this quite often.

I load a prop (in this case, a .PP2 file) and then I get an error saying

Cannot find a file for “Example.jpg”
To avoid seeing this message, make sure that the poser content directories are set up properly”


If I then click on “Locate” it points to the directory where the prop file is

My Library\Runtime|libraries\Props\Creator name\

It’s trying to load a texture file, but can’t find it, I assume.

but there ain’t no texture in there. Instead, the relevant textures seem to have been unzipped to My Library\Runtime\textures\Creator name\

So, I reckon I’ll copy the textures from there into the folder it appears to be looking in.

Still no joy!

How do I stop this happening? And why did they unzip to \textures if that’s not where they’re supposed to be?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8647
Joined  2007-11-06

Make sure that the folder containing the runtime folder is listed as a Poser-format content folder.

It’s putting you in that directory because it’s not seeing it in the texture folder in a listed content folder.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 02:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27
fixmypcmike - 30 March 2013 02:44 PM

Make sure that the folder containing the runtime folder is listed as a Poser-format content folder.

.

um..how do I do that?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 03:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

From the Paths listed I think the Issue might be a Folder name or a Full Folder in the texture path might be wrong in the PP2 file.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 05:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27
Jaderail - 30 March 2013 03:45 PM

From the Paths listed I think the Issue might be a Folder name or a Full Folder in the texture path might be wrong in the PP2 file.

yes, I wondered that. So I opened the .PP2 file with a text editor, but the only reference to the texture is just the filename without a path. I presume if no path is there, it will assume the file is in the same folder as the .PP2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 05:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

If this is a Free item from a Site I could take a look at it for you and maybe offer a fix. All I need is the name or a link if you have one.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 06:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2395
Joined  2003-12-06
Sertorial - 30 March 2013 02:20 PM

And why did they unzip to \textures if that’s not where they’re supposed to be?

That is where they’re supposed to be — don’t move textures around like that, or you’ll have exactly the same errors cropping up when whatever’s causing your problems has been fixed.

Incidentally, that issue of filename-only-no-path was very common with items (sadly, not all of them free ones) created several years ago, before DAZ|Studio had been released and all this stuff was only used in Poser. The correct way to specify file paths was not commonly known back then, but most of the time these messed-up items worked because Poser was a lot more forgiving of the glitches. The last couple of versions of DAZ|Studio in particular have been more fussy — if the paths aren’t right, you get an error.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 01:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5568
Joined  2005-08-29

There are two common errors in older Poser content.

One is with onlöy a filename given, and one that works on Windows (sometimes) but never on Mac OS X, that is when the paths starts like C:\Runtime…....

Seen that in several commercial items both at DAZ and in other sites, I’ve reported most the ones I’ve seen, but sometimes you’re in a creative mode and no time to find and track down bugs….

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 04:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27
SpottedKitty - 30 March 2013 06:54 PM

That is where they’re supposed to be — don’t move textures around like that, or you’ll have exactly the same errors cropping up when whatever’s causing your problems has been fixed.

Ok, point taken. But how do I fix it then?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 04:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5568
Joined  2005-08-29
Sertorial - 31 March 2013 04:30 AM
SpottedKitty - 30 March 2013 06:54 PM

That is where they’re supposed to be — don’t move textures around like that, or you’ll have exactly the same errors cropping up when whatever’s causing your problems has been fixed.

Ok, point taken. But how do I fix it then?

If you open the .pp2 in a text-editor and look for a line like this

textureMap "badpath.jpg" 
or
textureMap "\Runtime\badpath.jpg" 

And change it to

textureMap ":Runtime:Textures:SomePA:Someproduct:somfile.jpg" 

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 04:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14209
Joined  2003-10-09

You have three options:

One, use a text editor to correct the path in the pose file or preset
Two, manually load the textures using the Locate button and save a new Materials preset (File>Save as>Materials preset)
Three, assuming there’s a full path in the existing preset, move the textures to where the file thinks they should be

I generally use one, occasionally two.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27
Totte - 31 March 2013 04:37 AM
Sertorial - 31 March 2013 04:30 AM
SpottedKitty - 30 March 2013 06:54 PM

That is where they’re supposed to be — don’t move textures around like that, or you’ll have exactly the same errors cropping up when whatever’s causing your problems has been fixed.

Ok, point taken. But how do I fix it then?

If you open the .pp2 in a text-editor and look for a line like this

textureMap "badpath.jpg" 
or
textureMap "\Runtime\badpath.jpg" 

And change it to

textureMap ":Runtime:Textures:SomePA:Someproduct:somfile.jpg" 

 

Excellent! Worked a treat! Thank you smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 April 2013 05:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27

Incidentally, are there other types of content file that this broad approach will work with? (not necessarily the same syntax, I realise, but a text file with a path in it that can be fixed)

Totte - 31 March 2013 04:37 AM


If you open the .pp2 in a text-editor and look for a line like this

textureMap "badpath.jpg" 
or
textureMap "\Runtime\badpath.jpg" 

And change it to

textureMap ":Runtime:Textures:SomePA:Someproduct:somfile.jpg" 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 April 2013 06:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17
Sertorial - 02 April 2013 05:09 AM

Incidentally, are there other types of content file that this broad approach will work with? (not necessarily the same syntax, I realise, but a text file with a path in it that can be fixed)

Totte - 31 March 2013 04:37 AM


If you open the .pp2 in a text-editor and look for a line like this

textureMap "badpath.jpg" 
or
textureMap "\Runtime\badpath.jpg" 

And change it to

textureMap ":Runtime:Textures:SomePA:Someproduct:somfile.jpg" 

 

Character files (.cr2); hair files (.hr2) face files (.fc2) and pose files (.pz2) can all be edited in the same manner.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 April 2013 07:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27
BWSman - 02 April 2013 06:06 AM
Sertorial - 02 April 2013 05:09 AM

Incidentally, are there other types of content file that this broad approach will work with? (not necessarily the same syntax, I realise, but a text file with a path in it that can be fixed)

Totte - 31 March 2013 04:37 AM


If you open the .pp2 in a text-editor and look for a line like this

textureMap "badpath.jpg" 
or
textureMap "\Runtime\badpath.jpg" 

And change it to

textureMap ":Runtime:Textures:SomePA:Someproduct:somfile.jpg" 

 

Character files (.cr2); hair files (.hr2) face files (.fc2) and pose files (.pz2) can all be edited in the same manner.

Great. Thanks for that.

Profile