Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Volumetric lights and transmap Issues
Posted: 12 June 2012 04:30 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

Is it possible to get volumetric lights to shine through transmapped areas and actually working? Eg I have a tree and transmapped leaves but when I apply a volumetric light all the transmap planes are visible and I have a tree with all these squares and my god rays cast shadows around those. Is there a solution to this?

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 07:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  169
Joined  2009-11-20

I dont know about a fix in 3delight, but transmaps with fog does work when using Reality 2.0

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 07:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

To me, Fog and Volumetric are two different things. Fog works fine with transmap in DAZ Studio. Its volumetric vs transmap that is the issue. Volumetric creates the effect below. I can get this with a full polygon tree with polygon leaves but not transmapped leaves. To be specific I am using this

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/atmospheric-effects-cameras-for-daz-studio/

Image Attachments
Man-with-a-pike-covered-with-fur-in-the-forest-wallpaper_2919.jpg
 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 07:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

I don’t do much with volumetric lighting, but if you’re seeing a consistently reproducible issue then please file a bug report on it.  That’s the best route to getting it fixed.  Thanks!

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 07:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

Thats the thing. Is it a bug Or just a software limitation? Or is there a setting I am overlooking?  I don’t want to file a bug report unless it definately is one.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 07:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

What’s your raytrace depth set to?  Remember for transparency it has to be [layers of transparency] +1 for any type of shadow/special effect to work.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 08:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

Where is that setting? Oh found it. Mine is set on 2

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 08:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

Doubtful that is high enough.  That would be only a single transmapped leaf of thickness.  I’m wondering if it’s even possible to set it high enough to work.  LOL.  The old default used to be 6, you might try that, but even that assumes that there’s no point where you will have more than 5 leaves in a row before you get to the ground…

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 08:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

I’ll bump it up and do a test render and see what happens..

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 08:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

Be prepared for a massive render time hit. ^_^

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 08:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

OK did my test render and its the same story. Bumped the Ray trace depth up to 10. I used this tree because it is a combination of polygon and transmap. The top part is polygon, hense no issues. On the trunk is transmapped areas. Notice the white transmap blocks.

Image Attachments
test.jpg
 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 08:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

I’d say a bug report is in order.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 08:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

OK. I’ll submit one. Thanks

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2012 01:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  422
Joined  2007-05-27

Hi Zev0,

Thanks for reporting the bug. This is something that I and the testers missed before releasing the cameras. We did test with transparency but, evidently, the situations we tested under didn’t produce the flaw or the error was so faint we didn’t notice it.

At this stage I think I know what the issue is but I haven’t yet figured out how to correct it. I am able to lessen the problem in some cases by changing the start distance to 0 and increasing the end distance (You may need to increase the limits of the slider to allow this). This does not eliminate the problem and may not even lessen it in all cases but it may be worth a try.

Please forgive me for not noticing it pre-release and for not having a proper fix yet. I will continue to work on the camera to see if I can’t find a solution then update it.

Sorry about the problems,

William

 Signature 

My DAZ Products
My 3d freebies
My YouTube Page

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 August 2012 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2718
Joined  2012-02-04

Was this problem ever resolved with an update?

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 September 2012 09:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3541
Joined  2009-08-05

Not that I know of. I still use it a lot though, just now when I use the volume camera I use less transmapped objects. Its also dependant on what lights you have in the scene. Sometimes its not so bad, but still an isue.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1