Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
I’m totally ignorant
Posted: 29 March 2013 12:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9608
Joined  2007-11-06

In Install Manager, where does it say it’s installing products to?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2013 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2013-03-28

Hi,

It says it’s installing to:

C:\Users\Public\Documents\My DAZ 3D Library

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2013 03:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9608
Joined  2007-11-06
lippy_75 - 29 March 2013 02:43 PM

Hi,

It says it’s installing to:

C:\Users\Public\Documents\My DAZ 3D Library

You need to add that path under “DAZ Studio Formats” and “Poser Formats” in DAZ Studio.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 12:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2013-03-28

Hello, and many thanks.

Sorry to ask, but exactly how do I add the path?

Last time round, I think I typed those words into the ‘search programs and paths’ box and it took me to where ‘Studio’ was to be found.  I then selected the ‘Studio’ folder and it inserted the path that’s showing up at present.  (Which I now appreciate is the wrong one.)

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 04:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15

Go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library > Content Directory Manager

If you click on DAZ Studio Formats, you will see a box called ‘Add’ appear under Directory on the left.  Use it to add your new folder.

Do exactly the same in the Poser Formats area as well

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 04:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2013-03-28

Thanks, Jimmy.

Unfortunately, that’s what I’ve already done - as per your previous helpful post.

What happens is that I’m told ‘the path chosen is already mapped’ [see attached screenshot].

If I try the same for ‘Poser’, I’m told that the directory is not a ‘runtime’ directory [see attached screenshot].

Just to make it clear - in case I’m doing something wrong (which I guess I must be) - when I click ‘Add’, I’m taken to ‘Select a directory’, which contains the ‘Studio’ folder’ .  I select it - at which point the error message comes up.  [See attached screenshot]

Is it that I’m going to the wrong place?

Sorry to be causing you so much trouble - I am very grateful for your continued help.

 

Image Attachments
Add_folder.JPGPoser.JPGDAZ_Studio.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 04:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2013-03-28

Do you think it might be best if I deleted everything and downloaded all over again?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 10:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1378
Joined  2004-06-13

First select then remove those ‘New Content Set’.  Now click on the little triangles beside ‘DAZ Studio Formats’ and ‘Poser Formats’ to expand them.  Post new screen capture of the expanded list.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 10:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2013-03-28

Many thanks.  This is what it now looks like.  (Hope this is what you meant.)

Image Attachments
Latest_screenshot.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 March 2013 02:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1378
Joined  2004-06-13

A couple of your paths overlap, that can confuse Studio.
C:/Users/James/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio (Remove this one)
  and
C:/Users/James/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library (Keep this one)
  Change
C:/Users/Public/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library/People/Genesis
  to
C:/Users/Public/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library (Always stop at My Library)
  Finally you need to move everything in…
C:/ProgramData/DAZ 3D/Studio/My DAZ Library
  to a new folder like…
C:/Users/James/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My DAZ Library
  Starting with Windows Vista MicroSoft made the Program Files folders protected system folders.  The ProgramData is almost as bad as the Program Files folders for storing user data, thus the User/{user name}/Documents folder.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 12:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2013-03-28

Hi - and many thanks for the advice.

I’ve removed the files as you suggested,  and can now see a human figure when I click on any of the ‘Basic’ models. Progress!  (It sounds daft, I know, but I think I was more excited than if everything had gone right from the start! smile )

I seem to be able to manipulate the figure, in that I can get it to move around by clicking on those little arrows etc that appear around the body.

I can’t do anything else, eg dress the body with hair/clothes etc.

That may be because I haven’t yet done everything you asked me to. 

I know I’m showing my ignorance - again - but how do I move the folder? 

Again, many thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 11:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1378
Joined  2004-06-13

I assume you are using Windows.  Open Windows Explorer, should be the little folder icon in the Task Bar.  This part depends a lot on your computer’s set up.  You will probably expand “Computer” by clicking on the little triangle.  Continue expanding any sub-folder until you see the “Users” folder.  Now you have to make a choice, do you want your new library in the “Public” folder or your user name ( I assume James based on your posts) folder.  Once you decide expand that folder til you see the “Documents” folder.  Right-click on “Documents” and in the pop-up click “New” then “Folder”.  Type the name for your library (again I assume “My DAZ Library” based on your posts).  This the tricky part, in the far left directory window navigate to and open (select, click on) the C:/ProgramData/DAZ 3D/Studio/My DAZ Library folder.  With the mouse pointer in the big window press Ctrl-a to select all, right click on any of the selected files/folders and click “Copy”.  Navigate back to your new library and open it, in the big, and presumably empty, window right-click and then “Paste”.  Once you are sure this worked you can delete DAZ 3D/Studio/My DAZ Library from the ProgramData folder.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2013-03-28

Thanks for the advice.  When you say ‘Documents’, do you mean ‘My Documents’ (ie where I have many other folders/files.) ?  If I expand my user name folder I don’t see a ‘Documents’ folder.  I’m guessing this is right, but thought I’d better make sure before going further.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 08:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1378
Joined  2004-06-13

I’m confused!  How do you have a C:/Users/James/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library folder if you don’t have a Documents?

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 March 2013 08:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9608
Joined  2007-11-06

Depending on the exact view in Windows, it’s sometimes called “Documents” and sometimes “My Documents”—they’re the same.

ETA:  In addition, it might also show up as “Public Documents” or “Shared Documents” for Public, or “[username]‘s Documents” for a particular username.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2