Digital Art Zone

 
   
8 of 9
8
SSS shaders
Posted: 12 May 2013 09:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 106 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8323
Joined  2009-05-14
Sertorial - 12 May 2013 08:57 AM
Gedd - 12 May 2013 05:56 AM

Yes actually I had already come to that same conclusion (that it might actually be a shadow.) Someone else posted a picture with the same effect that made me think of it, don’t remember exactly where I saw it now though. Try turning off cast shadows on the eyelashes.

the eyelashes don’t appear as an item in the scene tab so I can’t turn off cast shadows. There’s no shadows option in the shader tab either.

?

Give me a few hours for this new skin test render to finish and I will have a look for you. Do you have Uber Surface 2?

This why I like Area lighting as I don’t get this issue with unwanted shadows. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 09:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 107 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  688
Joined  2013-01-27
Szark - 12 May 2013 09:49 AM
Sertorial - 12 May 2013 08:57 AM
Gedd - 12 May 2013 05:56 AM

Yes actually I had already come to that same conclusion (that it might actually be a shadow.) Someone else posted a picture with the same effect that made me think of it, don’t remember exactly where I saw it now though. Try turning off cast shadows on the eyelashes.

the eyelashes don’t appear as an item in the scene tab so I can’t turn off cast shadows. There’s no shadows option in the shader tab either.

?

Give me a few hours for this new skin test render to finish and I will have a look for you. Do you have Uber Surface 2?

It’s just called UberSurface. It came with DS4.5

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 09:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 108 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8323
Joined  2009-05-14

Ok cheers. Yeah I don’t think Uber Surface has a Shadow Off switch.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 11:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 109 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2013-02-20

Alright, stupid question from a person new to rendering time.

Where do I buy SSS Skin Shader at? Is it already in Daz 4.5?
How do I activate it or where would I look to turn it on?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 110 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8323
Joined  2009-05-14

Content Library (not Smart Content) > Daz Studio Formats > My Library (or where you installed the default content) > Shaders > omnifreaker > Uber Surface

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 111 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2013-02-20

Thanks for the directions. But when I select a character and click on a Human shader or an Uber shader, nothing happens…
Am I doing something wrong?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 112 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8323
Joined  2009-05-14

Are you selecting the surfaces too? Also hold down CTRL (CMD on Mac) whilst loading the shader and choose to “Ignore” replacing the maps in the new window.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 113 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2013-02-20

Thanks again for the help!
I guess it doesn’t work too well with V5…I see white streaks showing up on the model.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 114 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8323
Joined  2009-05-14

LOL It takes a while to learn how to use it. I have been at learning this for over two years now and I am just starting to get a grasp.

Can you post a screenshot of what is happening. If you look back a page or two you will see it does work on V5. Here is my latest test using V5.

What skin set are you using?

Image Attachments
NTbestA.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 115 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Your render settings need the Shading Rate set to .5 or lower if you are seeing seams on a texture.

But first you need to be sure you have the correct UV picked for the texture your loading.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 116 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8323
Joined  2009-05-14
Jaderail - 12 May 2013 12:36 PM

Your render settings need the Shading Rate set to .5 or lower if you are seeing seams on a texture.

But first you need to be sure you have the correct UV picked for the texture your loading.

yeah I was thinking the same but I wanted to make sure with a screenshot. raspberry

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 117 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2013-02-20
Jaderail - 12 May 2013 12:36 PM

Your render settings need the Shading Rate set to .5 or lower if you are seeing seams on a texture.

But first you need to be sure you have the correct UV picked for the texture your loading.

Shading Rate, eh? How do I find this?

And I’m using V5’s Bree.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 118 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8323
Joined  2009-05-14

If you don’t have the render settings pane open go to the top menu bar Window > Panes (Tabs) > Render Settings and click on the Advanced Tab at the top of the pane.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 119 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  818
Joined  2012-09-24
megagearx - 12 May 2013 12:30 PM

Thanks again for the help!
I guess it doesn’t work too well with V5…I see white streaks showing up on the model.

The V5 Bree skin material is setup to use the UberSurface shader. Applying UberSurface to the Bree skin should not do anything.

 Signature 

DAZ Gallery

Renderosity Gallery

Deviant Art Gallery

My Art Studio Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 120 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2196
Joined  2011-11-16

Well you are correct in that it uses the UberSurface shader and therefore there is no reason to apply it, simply adjust any settings one wants. However, sometimes adding shaders on top of an object that already has that shader will override settings that are currently applied, blowing out or resetting those settings. I thought I remembered this actually happening in the case of Bree but I could be wrong. I would have to test it and comb through the settings to be sure.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
   
8 of 9
8