Digital Art Zone

 
   
6 of 15
6
Downloading and Installing DAZ Studio: a guide and FAQ
Posted: 25 July 2013 02:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 76 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

If you have not FIXED the login and Downloaded and Installed content it will not have any content in it.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 77 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2013-07-22

The only differnce between my “online” info and my “installer” info is that Tim Jackson is “online” vs tim jackson “offline” .  I tried to change that but when I loaded the Caps it says that user already exists.  I’m just lost.  I changed the online password, then tried the new pw in the installer and it still says something is wrong.
I’ll keep trying.  Thanks for the input.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 02:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 78 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2013-07-22

Can I load content manually?  I was able to install the studio manually.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 02:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 79 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7991
Joined  2009-05-14

Yes there is nothing stopping you from installing everything manually. I still do.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2013 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 80 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  109
Joined  2013-08-13

It’s a nice explanation, however I also noticed that the information has become a bit out of date; with the current DIM it’s perfectly possible to get the whole deal these days.

And if I may; I’m somewhat missing a reference to the extensiveness that is DIM. Of course you can simply start it and tell it to grab your goodies, but then you might end up disappointed when you’re using a specific setup (like I am).

First DIM; you can grab Daz Studio 4.6 straight from the DIM itself. Just fire it up, provide your credentials for the DAZ3D webshop and your copy of Daz Studio should soon appear in the “ready to download” tab.

But here’s the thing..  You might want to go over to the config screen first (click the cog icon in the upper right corner) and pay close attention to the downloads and installation tabs as these can become important.

Downloads: This tab does 2 things. First it points to a location on your computer where all the contents which you download from the Daz3D shop will end up. This is important. Because although you can somewhat rely on the Daz website to provide you with your purchase again it’s obviously better to make sure that you can recover yourself should something does go wrong.

That’s where this directory comes in. Here everything ends up which you got through the Daz store. So if you’re short on disk space then it might be a good idea to point this directory elsewhere. Or to move the files in this directory to another location (after you installed them of course). That’s what I’m currently doing. After everything has been setup I move the whole kaboodle to an external USB disk for storage. Saves me room, and should something odd happen then I can quickly restore my Daz configuration, even if I don’t have an internet connection.

All that you need in case of an emergency is to make sure that the directory DIM points to here is then filled with all your packages again. After that you can re-install with a 2 mouse clicks (one to select all packages and one to start the installation wink).

Another important thing to keep in mind is the product list. All checked products are used to provide you with goodies. But if you’re on Windows then you obviously don’t have much use for Mac downloads. Or if you’re on 32bit then you can easily ignore 64bit. That’s what you can (and should) do here. For example; I got Daz, Hexagon and Bryce so that’s what I have checked here. (well, that and the installation manager, general, software and plugin) wink

Installation: This is also an important tab because it determines where your software ends up. For example; on my setup I keep C relatively clean (only system software and specific tools) and everything else (especially software for leisure or software which gobbles up much disk space) goes to D.

That’s what you can do here. So if you normally use “D:\Program Files” for your software then you should fill that out here as well before you install anything. That will make sure that software such as Daz Studio ends up on the right place as well.

And another thing…

Daz Studio uses a “library folder”. Actually it uses more than one (you save your own work in a (personal) library folder as well) but there is one library folder where all purchased contents will get installed to. And that’s what you can find and configure here as well. It might be a good idea to point this to a good location before downloading too.

For example; I’ve grabbed my share of stuff and freebies and my main library folder is already easily 6Gb whereas my “3rd party” library folder (I like to separate between ‘official’ stuff and other stuff I collected) already sits around 3Gb.

As you can see in the screenshot I simply added a new reference to a library (which is what I’m using) and then pointed the DIM to it by using the selector at the bottom. And with that said I’ll also attach a screenshot which shows you that you can indeed download Daz through the DIM these days.

Right, although this might be a little bit more indepth for a newbie I figured it’s still useful information.

To be honest I ended up a little annoyed when I noticed that Daz Studio ended up on C while I wanted it on D. Even though it is only 200Mb…

So, my take on the matter. Hope this can be useful to someone as well.

Image Attachments
dim.jpgdim_cfg.jpg
 Signature 

Kind regards, Peter

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 August 2013 12:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 81 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3573
Joined  2012-02-06

That’s really helpful…thanks for posting. I’m aware that my original post requires an update…I’m working on one but it’s on hold as additional changes to DIM are in the works, which should hopefully streamline the process even more.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 03:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 82 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2004-08-16

Dear Volunteers, Power Members, Addicts … :

Ready to degust the wonders of triax and Genesis2, at long last,
I boldly download DS4.6.0.18 with things like Genesis Starter Essentials
and Genesis2 Female Starter Essentials, but when I unzip those,
I get what you see below. No installer.
And DS4 doesn’t want to open a .dsx file. What now?

P.S. I don’t dare to use the DIM, because my system [Mac OS 10.6.8]
is case-sensitive and partitioned in a way that confuses the heck
out of most DS3-level installers,
so I’ve been downloading and organizing by hand, for DS3;
but now I don’t know what to do with these .dsx files.  ohh

Image Attachments
GenesisStarter.dsx_.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 83 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7991
Joined  2009-05-14

The “Content” folder is the same as the “My Daz Studio Library” (which I think it is now called) or just My Library which is what mine is called but mine is a left over from when DS4 first came out.. So using logic place everything that is in the “Content” folders in to the My Library folder. This will be where you instructed Daz Studio to place our content.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 03:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 84 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2004-08-16
Szark - 04 September 2013 03:14 PM

...place everything that is in the “Content” folders…

Aha.
Believe it or not, I actually purchased DS4 in 2011 (for over a hundred and fifty dollars),
took it for a spin, and the folder structure that arose out of that
is a structure that I would dearly like to keep(!), meaning that a particular Content
and a particular data folder of mine are the ones I have to keep groomed,
for figures and all that.
Thus, what you say I should do, is get into all the subfolders shown above
and distribute their contents into the ONE Content folder [one to rule them all].
Is that it?

What about the advice I’ve read, to not ignore the Poser-version of things?
E.g. ⋯EssentialsPoserCF.zip ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 04:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 85 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
ttnn - 04 September 2013 03:35 PM
Szark - 04 September 2013 03:14 PM

...place everything that is in the “Content” folders…

Aha.
Believe it or not, I actually purchased DS4 in 2011 (for over a hundred and fifty dollars),
took it for a spin, and the folder structure that arose out of that
is a structure that I would dearly like to keep(!), meaning that a particular Content
and a particular data folder of mine are the ones I have to keep groomed,
for figures and all that.
Thus, what you say I should do, is get into all the subfolders shown above
and distribute their contents into the ONE Content folder [one to rule them all].
Is that it?

What about the advice I’ve read, to not ignore the Poser-version of things?
E.g. ⋯EssentialsPoserCF.zip ?

Poser CF files are needed if you run Poser as well. All content in those two packages should be stand alone as they are in DAZ Studio. You will need to watch for items, older ones mostly, that will have PS and DS downloads, as they can and often do need both versions to work in DAZ Studio.

The way you plan to install the content will work fine.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 04:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 86 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7991
Joined  2009-05-14
ttnn - 04 September 2013 03:35 PM
Szark - 04 September 2013 03:14 PM

...place everything that is in the “Content” folders…

Thus, what you say I should do, is get into all the subfolders shown above
and distribute their contents into the ONE Content folder [one to rule them all].
Is that it?

No I said everything inside those folders called “Content” in your screenshots should go in the your main library folder, what ever it is called. I didn;t say the contents of each folder but the folders themselves. If you look at your original content library on your hDD you should be able to work it out. Runtime folder gets merged with your origiinal Runtime folder and so on..

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 September 2013 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 87 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
Szark - 04 September 2013 04:05 PM
ttnn - 04 September 2013 03:35 PM
Szark - 04 September 2013 03:14 PM

...place everything that is in the “Content” folders…

Thus, what you say I should do, is get into all the subfolders shown above
and distribute their contents into the ONE Content folder [one to rule them all].
Is that it?

No I said everything inside those folders called “Content” in your screenshots should go in the your main library folder, what ever it is called. I didn;t say the contents of each folder but the folders themselves. If you look at your original content library on your hDD you should be able to work it out. Runtime folder gets merged with your origiinal Runtime folder and so on..

MAC does not have Merge Szark, not that I know. And I read it has them moving the proper things to the proper places by hand. AS I did before I had Merge on a PC.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 September 2013 02:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 88 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7991
Joined  2009-05-14

Again I didn’t say use the Merge function I said merge them together.

anyway I am just making things worse so I will leave you all to it.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2013 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 89 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  78
Joined  2011-11-17

Win7/64bit Dell Precision Xeon. Am a relative new Daz user. After half a year of break from Daz, I return and bought a bunch of stuff from the store.

I did not update to 4.6. Sticking to 4.5 after reading horror stories on the forum. Daz3d as a tool is wonderful and under-estimated, but their content installation and organization universe is the most confusing one I have encountered in my 3D pro-sumer ware universe.

Still, after reading helpful users’s suggestions on this forum, I managed to get the new install manager to work. Found the missing new content by including the new directory. The products are showing now.

I’m just not sure - with Install Manager - 

1. if I still need to install the typical “additional resources” or texture templates under the Product Store/ What’s Included & Features. Based on the FAQ it seems I don’t need to.

2. If I forgot to install the “additional resources” of pre-2013 contents I bought from the store, will Install Manager detect that and automatically update for me? Or do I need to poke at Install Manager to check latest product update one by one? If so, how?

Please kindly clarify.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 September 2013 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 90 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Those are just the TEXTURE templates for the items. DIM will not Download them and they are not needed by most users. If you decide to create your own textures in the future then you can get them. They are only Image files to be used in a 2D art program and DAZ Studio will not need or use them. They can be saved to any place you like on your system.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
   
6 of 15
6