Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 15
5
Downloading and Installing DAZ Studio: a guide and FAQ
Posted: 20 May 2013 02:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9651
Joined  2007-11-06

You can keep DS3 installed alongside DS4.6.  To use your DS3 content in DS4.6, go to Content Library tab Options menu (rectangle with horizontal lines in the upper corner) > Import Mapped Directories
If you used Categories in DS3, you’ll also want to do Migrate Old Content Database.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2013 03:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2005-09-08

I am using daz studio 4.5 in windows xp. I’ve been trying all afternoon to get genesis into the right spot and get it working. So far, no jCan someone tell me the exact path required to place the unzipped folders? Now I can see genesis but it does not load because it can not find data files.

Any help would be appreciated, this has been a crazy maker (don’t get me wrong, i’m sure its Operator Error!)

thanks
mystmaiden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2013 05:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9651
Joined  2007-11-06
mystmaiden - 22 May 2013 03:34 PM

I am using daz studio 4.5 in windows xp. I’ve been trying all afternoon to get genesis into the right spot and get it working. So far, no jCan someone tell me the exact path required to place the unzipped folders? Now I can see genesis but it does not load because it can not find data files.

Any help would be appreciated, this has been a crazy maker (don’t get me wrong, i’m sure its Operator Error!)

thanks
mystmaiden

If you manually unzip the Genesis Starter Essentials, make sure there’s no extra “Content” folder underneath your content folder (e.g. My Library/Content).  What’s underneath the Content folder in the zip needs to go directly underneath the My Library folder.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2013 07:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2005-09-08

Thank you for the prompt reply, sorry to just now be getting back.

If you manually unzip the Genesis Starter Essentials, make sure there’s no extra “Content” folder underneath your content folder (e.g. My Library/Content).  What’s underneath the Content folder in the zip needs to go directly underneath the My Library folder.

I think I actually wound up doing this wrong again. Under My Library should there be a file called Content or just the actual content?

Also i bought the genesis v4 and m4 shapes, do they go into the people file or into the Genesis file?

Thank you again. Sorry to be so danse about this.

mystmaiden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2013 07:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

All your content should go into My Library without any content folder at all. The best method is to open the content folder Select All and copy. You then paste that into the My Library folder and do a Merge. You do the same for all DIM zips. Copy from inside Content and Paste into My Library. That will place all content into the proper folders. The are designed to Auto Load the Content inside to the My Library folder if used with the DIM.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 12:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-07-24

Hello! I heard about DAZ 3D 4.6 pro recently and was instantly impressed and interested. I downloaded it yesterday, and I’ve been coming up against the same problem: none of my files will open! I can’t access any dsf, dsa , or png files.

I have already downloaded the Genesis Starter bundles and have tried to solve the problem - from changing the content directory to re-downloading and re-installing the program itself multiple times.

Whenever I open the program, there are no files or products in my Smart Content, and there are no items in my Content Library aside from ‘DAZ studio formats’ and ‘Categories’.

Please help! I was really looking forward to using this program.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 12:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9651
Joined  2007-11-06

Go to Edit > Preferences > Content Library > Content Directory Manager and make sure your content location is listed as both “DAZ Studio Formats” and “Poser Formats”.  Did you install the content with DAZ3D Install Manager, manually, or with a stand-alone installer?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 03:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-11-09

Regarding the downloaded content via DIM. 

After the content has been downloaded and installed via DIM, there are 2 files (.ZIP & .DSX) in the DIM download folder.
To save space on my HDD (Laptop), can I delete the .ZIP files? 
I assume the .DSX file is needed by DIM to remember what has been installed?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 06:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3812
Joined  2012-02-06

Yes, that’s correct. If you prefer, you can set up DIM to automatically delete the installer files (.zip) after installation. Click on the “Ready to Install” tab, and check the box “Delete Installer Once Installed.”

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 06:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-11-09

Thanks for the fast reply.  grin
Settings changed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 08:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-07-24

I installed the content manually. I was unable to use the Install Manager.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 10:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3812
Joined  2012-02-06

If your content isn’t showing up, it either wasn’t installed correctly, or DAZ Studio isn’t looking in the right place for it. Fixmypcmike’s previous post about the Content Directory Manager explains how to make sure DS is looking in the right place. Jaderail’s post just above your first one explains how to properly install the content if you are doing it manually. If you did something different when you installed (for example, if you put the Content folder inside your My Library folder) your content may not show up as expected.

There could be other things going on with Smart Content, but as long as the content is installed properly, and the correct location is listed in the Content Directory Manager, your content should be listed in the Content Library at least. Once you get that far, if you’re still having trouble with Smart Content please let us know and we can help you with that.

If you’re stuck and still can’t find your content in the Content Library, then can you provide a screenshot of your Content Directory Manager, and also tell us the full path of where Genesis.duf exists on your computer?

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2013-07-22

I am completely lost her.  Trying to get started in this stuff, dowloaded 4.6. Can’t get the “installer” to run. It says my password is wrong.  Can’t find any content in the content window or even figure out how to find it or what I am looking for.  The best I’ve found was somehow a couple times I got some “robot” looking thing to load and it was pose-able.  Can anyone direct me somewhere to find out either how to get installer to work so I can start over, or what to do with all this?

Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

The DIM (DAZ Install Manager) uses the VERY same login, user name and password, you use to get on the DAZ3D site. It must match perfectly.  The DAZ Studio Program will make a Folder called My Library in your Documents Folder. The DIM will make a Folder in your PUBLIC Documents Folder called My DAZ 3D Library. I use a Default DAZ Studio 4.6 install and a Default DIM install and all I needed to do was edit my Paths to the content in the DS4.6 Prefs. Here is what it looks like.

Image Attachments
Capture2.png
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 July 2013 02:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2013-07-22

Thanks I found that path.  That directory is empty.  I guess I need to know what gets loaded there.  I don’t know the file suffix’s so I have no idea what I’m looking to have in that directory.

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 15
5