Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 14
4
Downloading and Installing DAZ Studio: a guide and FAQ
Posted: 10 May 2013 03:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7645
Joined  2009-05-14
bobzub - 09 May 2013 10:57 PM

Hi,

I see people mentioning the content directory manager. I do not even have that as an option in Edit > Preferences. What am I doing wrong?

this http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/11176/#160953 will guide you through finding it.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 03:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Try this…

Image Attachments
Capture3.pngCapture4.pngCapture5.png
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 03:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7645
Joined  2009-05-14

here is with his fancy arrows…. raspberry

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 03:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
Szark - 10 May 2013 03:32 AM

here is with his fancy arrows…. raspberry

You just jealous, is my other Sharp pointy things…

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 03:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7645
Joined  2009-05-14

I know I wants them too…your fancy arrows that is. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 03:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
Szark - 10 May 2013 03:40 AM

I know I wants them too…your fancy arrows that is. smile

Ok, I’ll spill my secret. Is a Paint Shop Pro default Vector shape, from version 7. I still use it for fast editing. So now you and ALL the forums know my pointer thing. Now figure out my Text that matches. Hint PSP 7 too. tongue rolleye

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 03:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7645
Joined  2009-05-14

PSP nope never used it, but thanks anyway. I am happy sticking with GIMP and PS

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2010-05-13

Thanks for your replies. Seems the reason I was not able to see the option in preferences was due to using the beta layout. I switched the layout and was able to get to the content directory manager.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 01:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2013-05-10

thank you S-L. grin
couldn’t have done it w/o your ‘klartext’

the confirm email from DAZ leads one right to the install manager.
not knowing any better i installed it first. bad idea. (as one of the posts mention)

thanx

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 10:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2013-05-12

this looked like it may be a good thing. but so far it is nothing but a mess. i keep finding help on how to download the program, but nothing matches the direction. looks like lots of bugs just in the initial setup. If they cannot get their act together just for a simple down-lode of the program I’ll bet the rest is a bigger mess.  raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 May 2013 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3390
Joined  2012-02-06
Thornsberryhome - 12 May 2013 10:06 PM

this looked like it may be a good thing. but so far it is nothing but a mess. i keep finding help on how to download the program, but nothing matches the direction. looks like lots of bugs just in the initial setup. If they cannot get their act together just for a simple down-lode of the program I’ll bet the rest is a bigger mess.  raspberry

What in particular are you having trouble with? The software and the website have both undergone changes over time. Some of the instructions out there (while still mostly accurate) may not match what you are seeing because of the changes that were made after the instructions were written. I’m trying to keep this one up-to-date, so if something doesn’t seem right, please let me know and I’ll look into it for you.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 04:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  48
Joined  2009-12-23

hi ^^ - i just got an email announcing the “new” DAz studio 4.6.
i checked my own version i installed a few months ago, from the .exe install file i kept, seems it’s DAZStudio_4.5.1.56_Win32. so i went to my product library, and there it was! there where previously the 4.5 version was listed, i could download this new version.

so.. what am i supposed to do with it? seems a bit different from usual software updates, that run kinda automatic, and overwrite whatever version you already have. and since it’s only an .exe file, no readme.

should i deinstall the old 4.5 version (omg please NOT that)?
will this one just update itself, like “integrate” itself aka overwrite my existing 4.5 version?
i already have an old daz 3.x version i never use(d) from my first attempt with daz - i’m not sure i want parallel 3.x, 4.5, and 4.6 versions all on my HD..

what about all plugins that came with 4.5, is there no problem there, aka don’t i lose anything? i myself haven’t bought any, and i think no freestuff either.

and since i haven’t installed the DIM yet as i wanted last weekend, guess it’s wiser to first cater to the update, and then install the DIM? ~

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3390
Joined  2012-02-06

I just installed 4.6 yesterday, and it does automatically uninstall 4.5 as part of the process.

After installing the updated version, you should also install the latest version of Genesis Starter Essentials (you can do this manually, or using DIM). Generally speaking, when updating software it may be safer to uninstall first, then install the updated version. I haven’t heard any official recommendation whether that is advisable in this specific situation, though. I didn’t uninstall DS4.5 first…so far things are working for me. smile

See the official thread for more information: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/22156/

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 03:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  48
Joined  2009-12-23

thank you a lot Scott! smile
why did i miss this official thread published 1 day prior anyway… too excited about the news (aka unnerved at having to mess with DAZ) i guess… wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 May 2013 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2003-12-28

Hi everybody,
I’ve been using DAZ Studio for couple of years but always hesitating with moving on to new version. Now I’m still using DAZ Studio 3.0 but I’d like to to install 4.6. What holds me back is loosing all my old scenes saved in 3.0
Whenever I build a character (Figure + morphs + textures + clothes etc.) I save it as scene and I don’t know how to transfer them to new version of Daz Studio. I hope my description make sense wink I’ve been trying to find solution by my own but without any luck. Could you help?

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 14
4