Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Where do I put Bryce content?
Posted: 11 June 2012 02:33 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30

I am working through the artists guide and i can’t find a material i need for it called Desert Rock it says

In the Material Presets selection panel, click Planes and Terrains. Another selection of preset materials appears.
Click Desert Rock. (sixth from the left and the third from the top). A red border appears around your selected material.

 

I have a Terrain with a plains subsection, but no desert rock, is there just one place to put content because i seem to have it in users/documents/daz 3d/bryce/presets
but my default place is on a second drive so d:/daz 3d/bryce/presets and there is a presets folder in the bryce program files folder, so what have i done wrong and how do i put it right?

Image Attachments
bryce1.png
 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 02:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15970
Joined  2003-10-09

Ugh, I was just going to link you to a thread, where Horo had explained it all, but of course he did it with screen shots, and the old forum archive doesn’t display images.

http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=182851

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 03:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30
chohole - 11 June 2012 02:48 PM

Ugh, I was just going to link you to a thread, where Horo had explained it all, but of course he did it with screen shots, and the old forum archive doesn’t display images.

http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=182851

That’s ok, Cho, i know the workaround for viewing the images, cheers for the link smile

 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 03:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30

So basically should i just put everything in the main bryce folder, that’s what i’m doing next anyway wink

 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 June 2012 04:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30

Have done a fresh install to a different location and re-installed the content to the same place, my missing material turned up, it was in terrains/rocky not terrains/plains as per the guide, so frustrating.

 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 01:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3550
Joined  2004-10-01

There are many materials from Bryce 4 up in the libraries. With Bryce 6, they were re-arranged when more were added. It may well be that materials do not appear exactly at the same place as in previous versions and tutorials made with earlier versions might not completely match.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2012 02:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30
Horo - 12 June 2012 01:39 AM

There are many materials from Bryce 4 up in the libraries. With Bryce 6, they were re-arranged when more were added. It may well be that materials do not appear exactly at the same place as in previous versions and tutorials made with earlier versions might not completely match.

I would have thought that the Bryce 6 Artists guide included in B7 would have been accurate tho, esp as it is aimed at beginners, no worries tho, i will continue thru it, cheers for the input smile

 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2012 09:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  92
Joined  2012-04-28

I was having a similar issue, but I eventually found the desert rock. I also found that I will probably need a new computer one of these days. This Bryce thing really makes my system look like a dinosaur, LOL!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 04:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15970
Joined  2003-10-09

I know just waht you mean about that.  I still render in B5.  When I had this PC built I never got rund to re downloading B6, (backup disc failed) , and I seriously doubt that B7 will do much on this ancient machine (6 years old), although I purchased it when it first came out.

Hopefully someday soon I shall get a new PC, although the idea of reinstalling everything is a bit daunting.

Once the site settles down I hope to have time to contemplate doing it.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 04:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30
chohole - 15 June 2012 04:16 AM

I know just waht you mean about that.  I still render in B5.  When I had this PC built I never got rund to re downloading B6, (backup disc failed) , and I seriously doubt that B7 will do much on this ancient machine (6 years old), although I purchased it when it first came out.

Hopefully someday soon I shall get a new PC, although the idea of reinstalling everything is a bit daunting.

Once the site settles down I hope to have time to contemplate doing it.

would you need to re-install everything, surely you just copy the content to an external drive and copy it back to the new drive? This what I do when i re-install DS.

 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15970
Joined  2003-10-09

I have a lot of stuff backed up on externals.  But Bryce is pernickety.  I need to save all my own presets that I have added,.

I will be going from XP to Win7 on the new machine, and some things need to be in different places for install I gather.  At the moment on XP you install to prgram files, but it seems Win 7 don’t like that.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 05:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1281
Joined  2008-03-30
chohole - 15 June 2012 05:31 AM

I have a lot of stuff backed up on externals.  But Bryce is pernickety.  I need to save all my own presets that I have added,.

I will be going from XP to Win7 on the new machine, and some things need to be in different places for install I gather.  At the moment on XP you install to prgram files, but it seems Win 7 don’t like that.

Yes thats right, I have Bryce and the content installed on a separate partition, so away from the windows partition.

 Signature 

[Join the little green box collection party!]
Ianz Place
Daz 3D Documentation
Daz 3D on YouTube
Daz 3D Forum Archive

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 05:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15970
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes I normally used to do that on the machine before this one, which I think was still on Win2k and I had separate partitions.

I will get there eventually, At least I now have the funds put by for the new machine, as long as nothing else crops up in the meantime that is more urgent.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 05:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3550
Joined  2004-10-01
IanzThingz - 15 June 2012 05:33 AM

Yes thats right, I have Bryce and the content installed on a separate partition, so away from the windows partition.

This is an excellent idea! Once you add content to the libraries, consider saving the Presets-folder from time to time. If you ever re-install Bryce into the same location it is now, all you presets will be lost for good (or rather, for bad). There is no warning. In such a case, you’ll be very happy to have a backup you can just copy back.

 

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 06:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15970
Joined  2003-10-09

Horo I am thinking of changing the specs I have drawn up for the new PC, and asking for them to put in a 2nd hard drive, so I can install a lot of my prgram files there, rather than on the main drive.  I know that should work with Bryce, as I think that was how I had it set up way back.

Hard te remember exactly, as that PC went to someone else for spares, minus the 2 hasr dives, which are still sitting on one of the shelves here, not connected to any PC.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 07:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3550
Joined  2004-10-01

I’m a bit of a maniac, I must admit. I have 2 HDs, each one with 3 partitions giving me 6 logical drives. The C drive is reserved for the system. The D for graphics and text programs, including all Bryce versions since 4. E holds the programming languages and network tools and things. F has data files, documents, renders, pictures, etc. G for some backups but mainly for content development and tutorials, H finally has a backup of C. Bryce runs from any drive, if you do it right, it even runs from a memory stick (I always have Bryce in one of my pockets, couldn’t live without it smile

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1