Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
registration issue
Posted: 22 March 2013 10:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-01-10

The system registry seems to be protected by the OS or other program(security software etc.) which doesn’t let the serial(s) number get setup. I would check OS admin settings, UAC settings that maybe blocking or restricting writing to the system registry. Every forum topic for serials, at least that I’ve read, has been an OS related issue or other program interference. I agree though, about some extreme protection schemes(DRM etc.) these days. But DAZ is very user friendly about this(imho).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
tbwoq - 22 March 2013 10:58 PM

But DAZ is very user friendly about this(imho).

If DAZ was user friendly you wouldn’t have to call in a comp tech to do a simple clean reinstall. One of the biggest issues I have with DAZ apps is a clean reinstall is a serious chore. Best you can do is uninstall then search your comp for hidden DAZ folders that contain the info you are trying to delete with the reinstall. And I mean do an HDD search, every time I have it down to where DAZ hides this info, DAZ finds some place else to hide it.

Why? Limited time trials of apps. Once your time is up DAZ doesn’t want it to be easy to delete that info so you can just do the time trial again. Yes, that is pure speculation but I can’t come up with any other reason for these hide and seek games DAZ plays.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 10:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2009-03-03

I thank you guys for trying to help, at this stage I’ve decided to post a message on their help site. Regardless of how this end, I still believe this madness has to end, why does the software industry think it should punish their customers?

I have a clean pristine install of my Windows-7 OEM buy, I truly don’t want to be screwing around in my program files and making manual deletions, and end up messing up my system!!

This practice has to end ....you don’t buy a shirt, a shoes, etc. and the seller then tell you where you can wear it ..and what you can and cannot do with it!!  The vendor has no right to hide stuff on your HD ....THIS IS WHAT A VIRUS DOES!!

I know nobody interesting in 3D or 2D art, I buy these product for my personal use ...this is just not right!!
Much as I hate it ....it’s now time for the government to truly step in and regulate these people ..because I’m having similar problems with several other product. 
You should be able to buy a software ...and install it on 10,000 computers, as long as you’re the only user. If I want to upgrade my machine every 2 years…and want to use C8 for the next 20 years ....I should have that right!!

Maybe it’s time download Blender, and go to Amazon and buy a guide-manual!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 10:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Sue25 smile

I hear your frustration,. and sympathise,..

You shouldn’t need to uninstall the Trial/Demo,. (it;‘s the same program a the FULL PRO version of Carrara,. and your serial number unlocks it.

If you’ve run to the end of the 30 day trial,. then it should still allow you to “Register Carrara” by adding your serial number, by clicking n the Daz Logo (see pic)

Your name will be there,. all you need to do is add your Carrara 8 serial number4 from your store Account, and the program will change from Trial/demo,.. to Carrara 8, Standard or Pro, based on your serial number.

You need to be running the program as “Administrator” to allow the serial number to be retained,
To do that,.. you right click on the Carrara shortcut, and select “run as Administrator” from the menu options.

If Win7’s UAC (user account control) causes any problems in doing that,. simply disable it in the Control panel / user accounts / change user account control settings.

Serial numbers are added to your programs to ensure that you have a legitimate copy of the product. as well as deterring software piracy. that’s a practice which applies to most commercial software,. it’s not something new to Daz3D.

If you want to remove Carrara completely from your system,.
First,.. uninstall the main Carrara application, and the native content installers
next,. remove the Preferences file (created after installation by the user) by going to…
Users \ Your name \ Appdata \ Roaming \ Daz3D \ Carrara 8
and remove the preferences file.

While there’s still some registration info “that you’ve Run the Trial version” saved within your machine,. this shouldn’t prevent you from installing a Full version of Carrara, and registering it.
It will stop you from re installing the trail version to get another 30 days of using carrara for free.
that’s what it’s designed to do.

Hope it helps smile

Image Attachments
register_C.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 10:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-01-10
ManStan - 23 March 2013 07:17 AM
tbwoq - 22 March 2013 10:58 PM

But DAZ is very user friendly about this(imho).

If DAZ was user friendly you wouldn’t have to call in a comp tech to do a simple clean reinstall. One of the biggest issues I have with DAZ apps is a clean reinstall is a serious chore. Best you can do is uninstall then search your comp for hidden DAZ folders that contain the info you are trying to delete with the reinstall. And I mean do an HDD search, every time I have it down to where DAZ hides this info, DAZ finds some place else to hide it.

Why? Limited time trials of apps. Once your time is up DAZ doesn’t want it to be easy to delete that info so you can just do the time trial again. Yes, that is pure speculation but I can’t come up with any other reason for these hide and seek games DAZ plays.

By user friendly I mean that, compared to other software protections, DAZ software installs do not require; having to make new accounts/passwords, join clubs, require internet, subscriptions, limit number of installs, special hardware, DRM/CD checks, time limited expired serial after every uninstall, or limit installs to specific computers etc. Carrara also runs very well on low end systems.

I agree that many software installs embed deep into a system where its VERY difficult to remove leftover files, but Im guessing is it mainly for protection of the OS or installed programs. The only easy ways I know to get around any leftover hidden issues is,...before the install, make a backup of the system or use specific software that is setup to watch/monitor the install(s).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2009-03-03
3DAGE - 23 March 2013 10:30 AM

HI Sue25 smile

I hear your frustration,. and sympathise,..

You shouldn’t need to uninstall the Trial/Demo,. (it;‘s the same program a the FULL PRO version of Carrara,. and your serial number unlocks it.

If you’ve run to the end of the 30 day trial,. then it should still allow you to “Register Carrara” by adding your serial number, by clicking n the Daz Logo (see pic)

Your name will be there,. all you need to do is add your Carrara 8 serial number4 from your store Account, and the program will change from Trial/demo,.. to Carrara 8, Standard or Pro, based on your serial number.

You need to be running the program as “Administrator” to allow the serial number to be retained,
To do that,.. you right click on the Carrara shortcut, and select “run as Administrator” from the menu options.

If Win7’s UAC (user account control) causes any problems in doing that,. simply disable it in the Control panel / user accounts / change user account control settings.

Serial numbers are added to your programs to ensure that you have a legitimate copy of the product. as well as deterring software piracy. that’s a practice which applies to most commercial software,. it’s not something new to Daz3D.

If you want to remove Carrara completely from your system,.
First,.. uninstall the main Carrara application, and the native content installers
next,. remove the Preferences file (created after installation by the user) by going to…
Users \ Your name \ Appdata \ Roaming \ Daz3D \ Carrara 8
and remove the preferences file.

While there’s still some registration info “that you’ve Run the Trial version” saved within your machine,. this shouldn’t prevent you from installing a Full version of Carrara, and registering it.
It will stop you from re installing the trail version to get another 30 days of using carrara for free.
that’s what it’s designed to do.

Hope it helps :)

I just un-installed the program, and tried to navigate to the path you suggested “(Users \ Your name \ Appdata \ Roaming \ Daz3D \ Carrara 8)”.

This path does not exist on my system, what i do see related to C8 is…...................  Users/my name/My Documents/DAZ 3D / Carrara 8.5/My presets.  In the preset folders there are 7 folders:
My Artwork
My Clips
My Constraints
My Effects
My Modifiers
My Objects
My Shaders

Also what I should point out is ...while i did several installs and un-installations ...at no time during the installations did I changed the default file path selected by C8 for installation.

I kept good records..I had the serial number backed up in my personal files prior to this conversion. In addition I went back to DAZ website and double check the number. I copied and paste, hand-typed in the number several times ....nothing works!!

I tried run as administrator…I uninstalled and right click on the installation file and selected run as administrator, I tried opening the file as an administrator. I check the settings in Win-7 and I am the only user and the administrator

Even if I’m using the file as trial, I see where at any point you can go to the registration link, did that many times and it does not work. Personally, I think its unacceptable to start using the program in trial mode. Something is wrong, and I need to fix it.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 02:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Do you have folders unhidden? I was not kidding when I said it was hidden.
Open any folder, tools/folder options/view/show hidden folders.

desktop/your comp name/appdata/roaming.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Sue25 smile

This path does not exist on my system,

Yes, it does, ....it’s just not visible to you,. but I was expecting to see that reply,.. because it does point to an issue.

Type in the location, and you’ll see that it’s actually there.
This folder only holds the preferences file. so it’s not a big deal,. but it does tell me that you’re account settings are the issue if you can’t see the AppData folder.

It’s a windows folder, so it’s system protected. (hidden from users) by default.

Carrara has only one program,. it’s the Full “Pro” version,. it’s also the “Standard” version, and it’s also the “30 day trial” version.
the 30 day trial,.. functions as the Full “pro” application for 30 day’s, then (if a serial number has been added) it’ll function as Standard or Pro.

The serial number Opens the different features, once it’s accepted,.

If you run the trial for the full 30 day’s it’ll time-out,. until you add a valid serial number to unlock it.

Try disabling the windows user account control , and also check your account settings, administrator privileges etc..

Hope it helps smile

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1120
Joined  2010-11-30

These links ought to help.

How to show Hidden Files & Folders

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/show-hidden-files-and-folders-in-windows-vista/

How to turn off your UAC.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/disable-user-account-control-uac-the-easy-way-on-windows-vista/

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 05:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  209
Joined  2006-01-10

One other thing you can check is if the date is correct for the system(OS and BIOS). If I recall, I forgot that one time.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 March 2013 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  16
Joined  2009-03-03

Folks ...I thank you all for trying to help….I really like this forum, but I think it’s time to end this thread.

I’m going to have to go back and take a closer look at things, the answer… as it often is…may be quite simple. I just got done building a new machine, plus setting up my old machine to run linux….so you can see why I’m frustrated with this issue.

In addition, I have to be careful messing with the new operating (WIN-7) system because I have an unsupported OEM license, when you’re manually deleting stuff ...bad things can happen.

At least I know one thing…the inability to install the software is not a deliberate effort by DAZ, unlike ToonBoom that stops me from installing their software with a “2-activation limit”....error message.

I will be back!!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 March 2013 06:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  639
Joined  2005-03-08

This may sound silly but you didn’t download Carrara 8.5 and trying to put 8.1 serial in are you?

 Signature 

“I am,... Therefore I think”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 March 2013 07:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Sue25 smile

One other point,..

Since you’ve been running the 30 day Trial version,... Which doesn’t have any serial number,...
there should be no reason to edit the system registry to remove any serial number, or other info about the trial version ,.

You should still be able to install a Full product,. Over a Trial version,. ..or,..Activate the trial version with a Valid serial number.

There’s also no need to edit or change any Windows system files,..

I still think there’s some UAC or other “protective control system” which is denying you the right to install and register applications.

Hope you get it sorted smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 March 2013 01:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1120
Joined  2010-11-30

I remembered you mentioned Hexagon in one post and I recalled this in regards to serials with it.

When the newest build was released DAZ gave Hexagon a new serial.  You’ll have in your My Serials section of your account 2 different serials for Hexagon and they won’t be right next to each other.  One is for the older builds and the other is for the newest build.  So if your hexagon serial isn’t being accepted try the other Hexagon serial.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2