Keyframe into NLA ?

80688068 Posts: 166
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I have just started to work with NLA and editable clips.
I have prior animations I have worked on with keyframe animation buy without using NLA.
Is it possible to get keyframes you already have created with out using NLA or editable clips into a editable clip?
Seems when I add a NLA track and editable clip it is a completely isolated track for keyframes.
Thanks
8068

Comments

  • bighbigh Posts: 5,513
    edited December 1969

    8068 said:
    I have just started to work with NLA and editable clips.
    I have prior animations I have worked on with keyframe animation buy without using NLA.
    Is it possible to get keyframes you already have created with out using NLA or editable clips into a editable clip?
    Seems when I add a NLA track and editable clip it is a completely isolated track for keyframes.
    Thanks
    8068

    http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/18713/

  • holly wetcircuitholly wetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited March 2013

    8068 said:
    I have just started to work with NLA and editable clips.
    I have prior animations I have worked on with keyframe animation buy without using NLA.
    Is it possible to get keyframes you already have created with out using NLA or editable clips into a editable clip?
    Seems when I add a NLA track and editable clip it is a completely isolated track for keyframes.
    Thanks
    8068

    Open the scene with the keyframes.

    In the Instances tab select the figure's Animation Group (the directory that contains the model and all the bones

    Upper right hand panel you should see the NLA tab. Click CREATE MASTER CLIP

    There is a tutorial that shows the process backwards (creating all the keyframes inside an editable clip), but I find that confusing. Just using the CREATE MASTER CLIP is much easier.... The clip will appear under the CLIPS TAB, ready to drag to the NLA track.

    Post edited by holly wetcircuit on
  • 80688068 Posts: 166
    edited December 1969

    Excellent!
    Thank you!
    8068

  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 6,943
    edited December 1969

    For further flexibility, it's also worth knowing that, with clips in your clips tab, you can use the NLA tab that you use to create clips and poses, to "Load Data from Clip" and a popup will show whatever clips you have in the clip tab - and without having any clips in the timeline, you'll load the keyframes from the clip to the figure.

  • holly wetcircuitholly wetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited March 2013

    For further flexibility, it's also worth knowing that, with clips in your clips tab, you can use the NLA tab that you use to create clips and poses, to "Load Data from Clip" and a popup will show whatever clips you have in the clip tab - and without having any clips in the timeline, you'll load the keyframes from the clip to the figure.

    Can you explain this Dart? I don't find an option to "Load Data from Clip" under any part of the interface i am seeing...

    Edit, never mind. It's under the NLA tab... which is exactly what you said. I don't know why I didn't understand. :red:

    Post edited by holly wetcircuit on
  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 6,943
    edited December 1969

    For further flexibility, it's also worth knowing that, with clips in your clips tab, you can use the NLA tab that you use to create clips and poses, to "Load Data from Clip" and a popup will show whatever clips you have in the clip tab - and without having any clips in the timeline, you'll load the keyframes from the clip to the figure.

    Can you explain this Dart? I don't find an option to "Load Data from Clip" under any part of the interface i am seeing...

    Edit, never mind. It's under the NLA tab... which is exactly what you said. I don't know why I didn't understand. :red:

    I find it easier to work with that in an editable clip, personally. It's also very handy if you need to re-save an animation with parts deselected.

  • 80688068 Posts: 166
    edited December 1969

    Wow......wow......
    It's a whole new world.
    thanks
    8068

  • DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 6,943
    edited December 1969

    Isn't it cool? This opens up amazing possibilities. It's a bit wordy, but I transferred my article from the old Carrara forums, AniMating in Carrara, into the new Carrara Information Thread stickied in these forums. It's a whole new adventure in exactly what you're doing now.

    Check it out.

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel