Digital Art Zone

 
     
Carrara scene back to DS?
Posted: 14 March 2013 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  401
Joined  2007-07-28

Is there any way to get a Carrara scene converted back to a format that DS can open?  I’ve tried the DAZ COLLADAE and it was a real mess—arms and legs everywhere.

 Signature 

My You Tube Videos
My Gallery

Each player rolls one die
The player with the highest number goes first
Play continues clock-wise

~Milton Bradley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 March 2013 11:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5942
Joined  2006-08-27

What version of Carrara and what version of DAZ Studio?

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 March 2013 11:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  401
Joined  2007-07-28

C8 or C8.5 and DS 4.5—-the latest version of both applications.

 Signature 

My You Tube Videos
My Gallery

Each player rolls one die
The player with the highest number goes first
Play continues clock-wise

~Milton Bradley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 March 2013 11:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Salem2007 smile

It depends on what you’ve added to the Carrara Scene,. some things, like particles, physics, terrains, oceans, hair, plants, replicators, etc are all specific to Carrara, and will not transfer, .. or,.. at least,.. not easily..

Going from Carrara, back to DS is generally a backward step,

If the issues you’re having are related to the figures,. then the simple answer is to load the figures in the application you want to render them in. whether that’s DS or Carrara, or something else..

If the scene is something you’ve built in Carrara,.
It’s possible to export a scene as a single OBJ ,. which you could load into DS,.
but you don’t need to export the figures in a complex way. when you can export and load the “empty” Carrara scene, and then load the figures.

You can also export any individual models you’ve made in Carrara,. as OBJ models, and then load them into DS.

Shaders, camera’s and lights, are program specific and will need to be adjusted, or recreated in any other application.

DS to Carrara is also version dependent ,. DS4.5 scenes (DUF) will only load into the Beta version of Carrara 8.5

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 March 2013 12:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  401
Joined  2007-07-28

I’ll try the export as obj method…it’s not a complex scene—I just don’t want to have to repose and clothe everything.  Thanks!

 Signature 

My You Tube Videos
My Gallery

Each player rolls one die
The player with the highest number goes first
Play continues clock-wise

~Milton Bradley

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 March 2013 12:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5942
Joined  2006-08-27
Salem2007 - 14 March 2013 12:03 PM

I’ll try the export as obj method…it’s not a complex scene—I just don’t want to have to repose and clothe everything.  Thanks!


Why not render in Carrara?

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile