Digital Art Zone

 
     
Victoria 5 Elite Ponytail Hair for V4.2?
Posted: 13 March 2013 01:25 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-08-07

Could you use this for V4? I remember some products I’ve used for characters they weren’t intended to work with and it worked pretty well. I love the look of that hair and I would really like to use it, I only have V4.2 though.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 March 2013 05:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2003-10-09

You didn’t mention what software you intend to use it in. I use it in DS 4.5 and the auto fit works great with it.

 Signature 

http://rfkahn.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 March 2013 06:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2673
Joined  2011-12-10
dax-daniel - 13 March 2013 01:25 PM

Could you use this for V4? I remember some products I’ve used for characters they weren’t intended to work with and it worked pretty well. I love the look of that hair and I would really like to use it, I only have V4.2 though.

No.  You have t rig it by hand to work with V4… or, you could use V4 shapes for Genesis, GenX and have it work properly.

By your question, I see that you use Poser.  If you had DAZ Studio (which is free) you’d have Genesis.

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 March 2013 07:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  554
Joined  2011-04-12

Yes, you can.  Load it into the scene without conforming it to V4, and treat it just like any other prop hair.


You can get an even better fit in DS4 if you have Genesis and the V4 shape:
Fit hair to Genesis.
Dial in V4 shape.
Delete Genesis.
Dial the (hidden) V4 morph that has been added to the hair.
Parent in place to V4’s head.

 Signature 

Not interested in the giant leap backwards that is “Genesis 2”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 March 2013 01:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2003-10-09

As the others have stated it does work if you just parent it. I was mistaken when I said the auto fit works. It will still work well and looks good. I use it all the time, it is one of my favorite hairs to use.
I attached a pic of the Standard V4.2 figure with the v5 hair. You can see some of the skin texture show through around the forehead but that is easy to fix with a better texture. I never use the texture that came with the figure anyway.

Image Attachments
v5ptail.jpg
 Signature 

http://rfkahn.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 March 2013 01:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1742
Joined  2008-11-10

It depends on what application that you’re using. The Ponytail hair is triax so only programs that support the format can load it. So DS4 could load it and Poser 9/2012 with the DSON plugin. If you’re trying to load it in DS3 or Poser versions less than 9, it wouldn’t work.

Profile