Digital Art Zone

 
     
M5 with SSS turns black?...
Posted: 13 March 2013 07:31 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  192
Joined  2004-05-27

Hi all, Been away for a while but starting to refocus on life!

I am using M5 (heroic) in C8.5 (latest build) and have decided to learn about SSS. Why would M5 turn black when applying the M5 SSS preset? This happens in the viewport and render..What render settings would i need to use with SSS on? Just thought I would ask here while I look around for a decent tut on SSS. Sadly, I cant find the installed documents on it!

On a side note: whats best the method for converting aniblocks designed for M4 to M5? (in Daz studio or Carrara) I tried loading some M4 aniblocks on M5 (aniMate Martial Arts For M4 Bundle) but they deform M5`s shoulders/arms & chest area (not being designed for M5,lol) just thought it was worth giving it a shot!

Thanks smile

 Signature 

Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
2x GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Cuda v5.00
Win7 Ult 64-bit/OSX ML
Carrara 8.5 Pro
OR 4 Carrara - OR4C
OR 4 Blender 1.55 - 4.10
Ds pro 4.6 Win64
OR Standalone V2.0
OcDS: stable & betas
PP2012 & Poser Plugin v2.0

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 March 2013 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4917
Joined  2006-08-27

What is the SSS M5 preset? Is that part of a Carrara optimized shader, a Daz Studio or a Poser Shader? If it’s some kind of image map, Carrara doesn’t easily load image maps into the SSS shader channel. Noter: I don’t have any flavor of Carrara 8, so things could have changed.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 March 2013 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

assuming this is a POSER shader Carrara will not load all elements from a complex Poser shader to Carrara’s shader tree. You may need to start with a simpler preset, then build up in Carrara by adding the extra maps manually into their appropriate locations.

Carrara’s SSS does not accept an image map directly, but there is a workaround by creating a MULTI CHANNEL MIXER where you can mix two shader trees together based on a third “blender” shader. The SSS map would go in the blender shader slot… Your two shaders would probably be identical character shaders, but one has SSS turned on and the other off (or with much lower SSS settings).

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 March 2013 11:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  192
Joined  2004-05-27

DOH!

Having had some time away from Carrara (3D in general, due to kids, life, etc..you know how it is people!) I forgot the basics raspberry
I wish Carrara would NOT show files that are not compatible with Carrara in the `smart` content tab !!!
Thanks for the helpful info regarding the work around Holly and thank you both for replying smile

 Signature 

Intel i7 870/2.93 GHz
RAM 16GB
2x GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Cuda v5.00
Win7 Ult 64-bit/OSX ML
Carrara 8.5 Pro
OR 4 Carrara - OR4C
OR 4 Blender 1.55 - 4.10
Ds pro 4.6 Win64
OR Standalone V2.0
OcDS: stable & betas
PP2012 & Poser Plugin v2.0

Profile