Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 6
5
Eluxir - Hypergraph for LuxRender Beta
Posted: 11 May 2013 10:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  262
Joined  2008-07-07
And hey, while I'm here, I'd be interested in the next version of Luxus having support for halt on Convergance without needing the GUI - I think that would solve a lot of peoples problems with "the render that never ends" smile
 Signature 

DAZ Published Artist

View my DAZ3D product store!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 11:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  262
Joined  2008-07-07
I don't know if I'm doing this right. No matter what I do, the luxball is coming out as

#Material: Luxball.Material

Texture "diffuse_color" "color" "constant"
"color value" [1 1 1]

MakeNamedMaterial "material0"
"string type" ["glossy"]
"texture Kd" ["diffuse_color"]
"color Ks" [0.6 0.6 0.6]
"float uroughness" [0.8]
"float vroughness" [0.8]

NamedMaterial "material0"

I go into the shader mixer, add a luxus surface brick, add a metal2 brick and connect it to LU, add a Fresnel Color brick and connect it to LU on the Metal 2 brick, and then add a color Image Map brick and connect it to LC on the Fresnel Color brick. Then I put an image in the image map, select the luxball material, and Apply the shader to it. I can see the shader change from DAZ Default (with luxus nodes) to my new shader, and all the new nodes show up and the old nodes go away...

but when I render it's the same dang thing :(

I've also tried Glass2 - same, Glossy. :(
 Signature 

DAZ Published Artist

View my DAZ3D product store!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02
It's working for me. Perhaps some a simple test case will shed some light on what is going on.

New Scene
Add a Sphere to the scene
select the sphere
select the sphere surface in surfaces pane
shader Mixer
File -> New Shader -> choose Luxus - LuxRender for the type
Drop a Bricks -> Roots - > Luxus -> Luxus Surface into the work area
Drop a Bricks -> Functions -> Luxus -> Materials -> Matte
connect matte output to material input
Apply
Render

 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  262
Joined  2008-07-07
Ah, I was missing the step where it wasn't a "Material", but a Luxus - LuxRender...

Unfortunately, I can't Apply it to anything. I don't get any error messages it just... doesn't change the shader. If I had one of the Surfaces controls highlighted, it becomes un-highlighted, so clearly Studio has done something. Just, nothing productive. It doesn't even change any of the properties, so it's not resetting it to the default shader.

My log file is a little angry too:



WARNING: dzvalentinaobjectdatabase.cpp(36): DB Insert error: "FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497" Varchar data "" is corrupted.
DB Insert error: "FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497" Varchar data "" is corrupted.
WARNING: dzvalentinaobjectdatabase.cpp(36): DB Insert error: "FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497" Varchar data "" is corrupted.
DB Insert error: "FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497" Varchar data "" is corrupted.
WARNING: dzvalentinaobjectdatabase.cpp(36): DB Insert error: "FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497" Varchar data "" is corrupted.
DB Insert error: "FILE: ..\..\sources\VKernel\Fbl\prot\Structure\VarChar\FBL_VarCharFile.cpp FUNCTION: fbl::VarCharFile::BinarySearch LINE: 497" Varchar data "" is corrupted.
WARNING: QLayout: Attempting to add QLayout "" to DzShaderMixerChooserDialog "New Shader", which already has a layout
Loaded image glwice_clr.jpg
 Signature 

DAZ Published Artist

View my DAZ3D product store!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 01:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  262
Joined  2008-07-07
A really INTERESTING thing is that if I then do the traditional Luxrender - Luxus Material option from the Surfaces tab, I have Extra Settings already populated:


MakeNamedMaterial "Lm_material1"
"color Kd" [$(LuxRender_Lm_001_Kd)]
"float sigma" [$(LuxRender_Lm_002_sigma)]
"string type" ["matte"]

NamedMaterial "Lm_material1"
 Signature 

DAZ Published Artist

View my DAZ3D product store!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02
Syndaryl - 11 May 2013 01:30 PM
A really INTERESTING thing is that if I then do the traditional Luxrender - Luxus Material option from the Surfaces tab, I have Extra Settings already populated:


MakeNamedMaterial "Lm_material1"
"color Kd" [$(LuxRender_Lm_001_Kd)]
"float sigma" [$(LuxRender_Lm_002_sigma)]
"string type" ["matte"]

NamedMaterial "Lm_material1"


The above means it will work, render with luxrender and it will be the color of the property that was added to your surface. It won't be the last property, but close, right above sigma.
 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 07:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  262
Joined  2008-07-07
SphericLabs - 11 May 2013 02:43 PM
The above means it will work, render with luxrender and it will be the color of the property that was added to your surface. It won't be the last property, but close, right above sigma.


Aha! Yep, that's working.

Is it supposed to update the Surfaces panel with a new shader setup, the way normal Shader Mixer things do? Or did I totally misunderstand how it works?
 Signature 

DAZ Published Artist

View my DAZ3D product store!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 12:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2009-08-21
SphericLabs - 30 April 2013 08:21 AM
New build times out end of May
-> Win32: http://sphericlabs.com/preview/win32/Eluxir.dll
-> Win64: http://sphericlabs.com/preview/win64/Eluxir.dll



...afraid to shut down DS, only started playing with this a few days ago lol.

Looking good so far.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02
Hole - 03 June 2013 12:03 PM
SphericLabs - 30 April 2013 08:21 AM
New build times out end of May
-> Win32: http://sphericlabs.com/preview/win32/Eluxir.dll
-> Win64: http://sphericlabs.com/preview/win64/Eluxir.dll



...afraid to shut down DS, only started playing with this a few days ago lol.

Looking good so far.


Updated builds, they timeout end of August.

I think I need to add the ability to have a prefix added to each property, that way the properties look like
LuxRender - color

instead of just:
color
 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 03:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  916
Joined  2005-03-26
Updated builds, they timeout end of August.

I think I need to add the ability to have a prefix added to each property, that way the properties look like
LuxRender - color

instead of just:
color


Excellent! Maybe I'll have a bit to play with it this time.. wink

I think you're right about the LuxRender colors, too: which ones transfer over, which ones do not show up the way we expect them to (OpenGL and/or 3Delight effects). Why not just call 'em LuxDiffuse, LuxSpecular, LuxSubSurface, LuxAmbient and so on?
 Signature 

My dA gallery
For God’s sake!  Gallifrey Stands!

And God still reigns.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 03:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02
Let the user specify specify the prefix and default to Lux?
 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 August 2013 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2009-08-21
Spheric...stop working on your website, I want to buy this. wink
Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2013 10:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2009-08-21
Skin shader experiment.

Matte translucent with glossy coatings for skin sheen, oiliness and water drops. I don't find the droplets too believable without refraction, kinda looks like blisters... :(

I found a bug with tabulated data, it gets written out as "tubulateddata".
Image Attachments
elxr.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 August 2013 11:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4413
Joined  2004-08-11
Very impressed with your results.
 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2013 01:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2010-08-31
Is the project Eluxir dead or alive?
Profile
 
 
   
5 of 6
5