Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 100
3
Luxus discussion
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  474
Joined  2009-07-12

Tinkering with the program and came up with a question i couldn’t find in the manual

I have three material’s I’ve converted as a light source.

how do I name each one separately so when exporting to the Luxrender GUI i have more control over the lights themselves.
as it stands they are combined into one file..and named after the set I’m using.

By the way when you convert a texture to a light shouldn’t that tell D|S I want the light on…found out the hard way I had to turn it on. after starting a render and seeing nothing.

-Paul

 Signature 

Don’t resist change! Subvert from within!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-10-02

I’m having no luck with this plugin. I tried a 3 light setup (2 spots and one distant) with intenisty settings as they would be for a 3Delight render - I ended up with an image of bright white glare and deep black shadows. I tried to adjust the Luxus light settings to bring down the intensity but that made no difference at all.

Then I discovered that leaving one wall invisible (interior scene) so as to position the camera also had the effect of having light streaming in through that absent wall. I’m assuming this is from the distant light?

I closed the wall and tried to position the camera inside the room and then the scene was rendered totally black.

I finally started over from scratch, reset the settings and just hit render (one distant light) and this is what it looks like (awful):

 

Image Attachments
Capture3.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1398
Joined  2009-09-11

Thats because in may cases DS exports everything as glossy. You need to tone down the value of your skin. Setting most clothing to matte looks best IMO

 Signature 

http://bobvan.deviantart.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37909888@N05/sets/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  474
Joined  2009-07-12
marble - 11 March 2013 12:21 PM

I’m having no luck with this plugin. I tried a 3 light setup (2 spots and one distant) with intenisty settings as they would be for a 3Delight render - I ended up with an image of bright white glare and deep black shadows. I tried to adjust the Luxus light settings to bring down the intensity but that made no difference at all.

Then I discovered that leaving one wall invisible (interior scene) so as to position the camera also had the effect of having light streaming in through that absent wall. I’m assuming this is from the distant light?

I closed the wall and tried to position the camera inside the room and then the scene was rendered totally black.

I finally started over from scratch, reset the settings and just hit render (one distant light) and this is what it looks like (awful):

 

Kill your gloss settings and see if that works. Even in reality glossiness is a problem.

 Signature 

Don’t resist change! Subvert from within!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1647
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,
Pardon me, but WOW!

I picked this up in a heartbeat last night; the MM discount is amazing on this, and I have to say, HOLY CRUD!  I grabbed an image I’d been fighting with for a long time, that I’d never really gotten to work quite right in Reality, and just for the heck of it Just Hit Render.  It picked up the backdrop (an UberEnvironment), the lighting, all my transparencies, the details on the boots, etc…

Here’s my two renders; the Luxus one only got to about 27S/p and the Reality render got to about 61 S/p (because I had to futz with light groups to get it to look right, while it was rendering).

I’m incredibly stoked.  I’d even forgotten that the hair wasn’t working right in Reality, and it went into Luxus w/o a problem.

Now I know that I can fix all the issues with the Reality one, by careful manipulation of the materials, etc., but the thing that makes me Very Happy(tm) about Luxus is that I don’t have to.  I can spend more time focused on ‘creative time’ vs. ‘tool time’.  This is what I was hoping for!

I’m sure there will be things I’m less thrilled about, but I’m very happy so far, especially for the crazy low price.

THANK YOU!

— Morgan

Image Attachments
WIP_-_Luxus_Test.pngWIP_-_Reality_Test.png
 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2005-10-02
PDSmith - 11 March 2013 12:25 PM

Kill your gloss settings and see if that works. Even in reality glossiness is a problem.

Well, I tried the same scene in Reality - without touching the materials settings - and this was the result (only left it running for 5 minutes but you can see already the difference):

 

 

Image Attachments
Capture.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2010-03-14

Is there a Setting doc for Luxus, so we can engage several LuxSlaves, without using the LuxRender GUI?

 Signature 

Metadata has a Standard, so please use it!
Creation Instruction coming soon to a Document Center near you.
——————-
Warning: Sitting for more than 6 hours a day is not good for you.
So Stand up, change you desk to a Stand up Desk.
Walking is good for you, so get up and walk for at least a half hour a day.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  224
Joined  2005-09-03
Cypherfox - 11 March 2013 12:29 PM

Greetings,
Pardon me, but WOW!

I picked this up in a heartbeat last night; the MM discount is amazing on this, and I have to say, HOLY CRUD!  I grabbed an image I’d been fighting with for a long time, that I’d never really gotten to work quite right in Reality, and just for the heck of it Just Hit Render.  It picked up the backdrop (an UberEnvironment), the lighting, all my transparencies, the details on the boots, etc…

Here’s my two renders; the Luxus one only got to about 27S/p and the Reality render got to about 61 S/p (because I had to futz with light groups to get it to look right, while it was rendering).

I’m incredibly stoked.  I’d even forgotten that the hair wasn’t working right in Reality, and it went into Luxus w/o a problem.

Now I know that I can fix all the issues with the Reality one, by careful manipulation of the materials, etc., but the thing that makes me Very Happy(tm) about Luxus is that I don’t have to.  I can spend more time focused on ‘creative time’ vs. ‘tool time’.  This is what I was hoping for!

I’m sure there will be things I’m less thrilled about, but I’m very happy so far, especially for the crazy low price.

THANK YOU!

— Morgan

Nicely done Morgan!

 Signature 

Kat
_______________________________________
My Digital Art Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
marble - 11 March 2013 12:35 PM
PDSmith - 11 March 2013 12:25 PM

Kill your gloss settings and see if that works. Even in reality glossiness is a problem.

Well, I tried the same scene in Reality - without touching the materials settings - and this was the result (only left it running for 5 minutes but you can see already the difference):

 

 

Open the lxs and lxm files from both in a text editor and compare them…that will give you an idea what the differences are.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 01:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13

I think what you are asking is, Does LuxRender use the GPU?  It can if you choose hybrid renderer.
-> http://www.luxrender.net/wiki/Main_Page

thanks for reply.

does any one have stats of render time with the hybrid vs regular lux?   
Im mainly interested in animation and regular lux is just too slow.

I am not a big fan of the GPU rendering because you only get one light group.


are you doing any animation?

  Adjusting the light groups after the fact is very awesome.

sounds interesting.

Although using the Sun Sky2, its the Daylight Light Preset provided with Luxus, should work fine with the hybrid renderer.

is there a demo of luxus to test?

2) I am sure it can be made to work, and I will look into this, but I have not tested it..

yeah,  be really curious if you can add this, please

  I’d be a deal maker / deal breaker for me.

thanks!

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2012-04-01
BTLProductions - 11 March 2013 12:14 PM
3drendero - 11 March 2013 12:09 PM

Hey SphericLabs
Great plugin, are there plans for a Carrara version?
If not, how can we change your mind?

Having just started using Lux, anyone know how well it handles Instancing?

Things get really nasty in a hurry with a Carrara scene in most render engines. smile

Yes it does:
http://www.luxrender.net/wiki/LuxBlend_System#Instancing

Does not mean that Carrara’s instances can be converted to Lux though.

 Signature 

Everything about Carrara: http://www.carraracafe.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2263
Joined  2007-12-07
kyu2130 - 11 March 2013 11:38 AM

im getting the hang of Luxus, the going is slow, my only problem is where in gods name is it saving the renders too. i’ve searched my mac for the file name listed on the top of the luxrender window and no luck. the one other question i do have is if i opt to not use the Luxrender GUI do i still have a way to manage the lights?

I found my render in the DAZ temp directory (hit F2 and that’s shown under the General settings).  That was using the LuxRender GUI, not done a ‘in DS’ render yet.

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 01:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2010-11-04

These are the days I feel a little bruised in the self esteem deaprtment, lol. 

I bought Luxus and it installed fast with the IM client.  It says it’s installed, but it’s not visible in the render menu, nor is it in the list of plug-ins when I go to seek it out.  Is there some way to activate it?  Goodness knows, I’ve looked hard enough, even looked at the menues in this thread, and I do not have those tabs/selections. 

Folks are also speaking about the manual.  I did a search on my hard drive.  While all the files are installed in Daz, as I can see them, no PDF or DOC is found with Luxus, unless it’s named something else entirely. 

Where does it hide, if anyone knows? 

Thank you in advance.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  474
Joined  2009-07-12
Daniel A Roberts - 11 March 2013 01:37 PM

These are the days I feel a little bruised in the self esteem deaprtment, lol. 

I bought Luxus and it installed fast with the IM client.  It says it’s installed, but it’s not visible in the render menu, nor is it in the list of plug-ins when I go to seek it out.  Is there some way to activate it?  Goodness knows, I’ve looked hard enough, even looked at the menues in this thread, and I do not have those tabs/selections. 

Folks are also speaking about the manual.  I did a search on my hard drive.  While all the files are installed in Daz, as I can see them, no PDF or DOC is found with Luxus, unless it’s named something else entirely. 

Where does it hide, if anyone knows? 

Thank you in advance.

It’s one of the drop down menus in the render settings tab…when you select which render engine you want.

 

 Signature 

Don’t resist change! Subvert from within!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02
Daniel A Roberts - 11 March 2013 01:37 PM

These are the days I feel a little bruised in the self esteem deaprtment, lol. 

I bought Luxus and it installed fast with the IM client.  It says it’s installed, but it’s not visible in the render menu, nor is it in the list of plug-ins when I go to seek it out.  Is there some way to activate it?  Goodness knows, I’ve looked hard enough, even looked at the menues in this thread, and I do not have those tabs/selections. 

Folks are also speaking about the manual.  I did a search on my hard drive.  While all the files are installed in Daz, as I can see them, no PDF or DOC is found with Luxus, unless it’s named something else entirely. 

Where does it hide, if anyone knows? 

Thank you in advance.

There is two installers, one for the content, one for the plugin.  Maybe that is the issue?

 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 100
3