Editing a .CR2 file

SertorialSertorial Posts: 767
edited December 1969 in New Users

Does anyone know what the syntax is for position in a .CR2 file? I need to alter the centre (so it loads at my world centre instead of miles away)

It's part of Dream Home and as I will never need to build the whole house, I want to be able to load each room dead centre

Comments

  • wancowwancow Posts: 2,708
    edited December 1969

    why not just move the model to the center of the scene and save the file to a new Cr2? If you're not using Poser, but DS, you should have saved it to a DUF file anyway...

    Rule of thumb for Cr2 files, if its something you're actually going to use, save to a DUF Support Asset first.

  • macleanmaclean Posts: 1,023
    edited March 2013

    origin 0 0 0

    will set the figure's rotation point to the center. But if the XYZ trans values arem#t at the zero default, you'd have to set them individually to zero.

    mac

    Post edited by maclean on
  • SpottedKittySpottedKitty Posts: 3,405
    edited December 1969

    There was a post in the old forums for a set of poses to return the Dream Home parts to the centre. Anyone still got a pointer to that?

  • SertorialSertorial Posts: 767
    edited December 1969

    wancow said:
    why not just move the model to the center of the scene and save the file to a new Cr2? If you're not using Poser, but DS, you should have saved it to a DUF file anyway...

    Rule of thumb for Cr2 files, if its something you're actually going to use, save to a DUF Support Asset first.

    I know how to save a prop to .DUF, but how do I save to .CR2 ?

    (will it overwrite the icon? Hope not)

  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 19,859
    edited December 1969

    Why not save as a scene preset? If you do export as CR2, use a different name and it won't delete the other file's thumbnail - which you can then copy and rename to use with the scene preset or new cr2.

  • SertorialSertorial Posts: 767
    edited December 1969

    Why not save as a scene preset? If you do export as CR2, use a different name and it won't delete the other file's thumbnail - which you can then copy and rename to use with the scene preset or new cr2.

    aha! it's "export" to .CR2 rather than "Sav as.." thanks. Didn't think of that

    (another content library frustration is that all the Dream Home rooms are tucked away in

    Poser formats > My Library > Figures !!

    I think of a figure as a person, I'd never think to look there for it.

    :(

  • wancowwancow Posts: 2,708
    edited December 1969

    If you're in DAZ Studio 4.xx, you really don't want to be dealing with any Poser files save when you import them. All poser formats ARE imports. You can save as/support asset/scene asset for any file that is not a simple prop or TriAx WM figure...

  • SertorialSertorial Posts: 767
    edited December 1969

    wancow said:
    If you're in DAZ Studio 4.xx, you really don't want to be dealing with any Poser files save when you import them. All poser formats ARE imports. You can save as/support asset/scene asset for any file that is not a simple prop or TriAx WM figure...

    ah... that's a good idea. Then I could remove that annoying "Poser formats" level in my content library and store all assets exactly where I want them

    (I only just discovered last week that you can store things apart from scenes...very cool. You can even store your own poses and stuff, which is great! Saves me having to pose stuff every time)

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel