Digital Art Zone

1 of 15
Daz Studio HSS, US and US2 Tutorial planned but want feedback first
Posted: 08 March 2013 09:16 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7838
Joined  2009-05-14

Now that I borrowed a machine that can run DS4.51.56 I can finally get around to a few things.

Firstly HSS (Human Skin Shader), Uber Surface and Uber Surface 2 but before I wade in a sharing with what I think I know I want to ask you (blanket you) if you think I am ready to part with my hard earned knowledge. This is a WIP but I wanted to see if I am worthy of the task I put before me. If you think the image below is good, skin and eyes wise then I will progress and get everything down on virtual paper. But I warn you this is going to take time so please be patient.

I have used Uber Surface on nearly every surface and use SSS on all the skin and eye whites and teeth. Also added fresnel and refraction on the Corneas etc..

I am still learning about all this as I go but in the last 2 days I have learned all sorts about Fresnel (though I am still testing this to really understand how it works in Daz Studio), refraction and the respective IOR (Index of Refraction).

Image Attachments
brockfinalbest_copy3Small.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Posted: 08 March 2013 10:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  0

I would welcome a tutorial that could help me achieve results similar to your post.
Only snag is I don’t have Uber Surface 2, just what comes with DS4.5
I will gladly follow along as far as I am able with what I have.

Posted: 08 March 2013 10:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-05-14

Yeah hence the title I will cover all three, the two, HSS and Uber Surface, that comes with Daz Studio and the piad for Uber Surface 2. There isn’t much between them really.

Signature 

Pete