Digital Art Zone

 
     
Need help exporting morphs to collada and fbx
Posted: 07 March 2013 09:27 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-26

Hi,

I have problems exporting morphs to collada or fbx (newest daz 4.5)

1) how do I export active morphs only? In daz 3 that was easy, but I do not find an option in 4.5. For fbx you can define rules what to export. Is there some magic keyword for “active only”? Is there some manual explaining what one can do with this rules? How to do it for collada?

2) collada exporter seems broken. Does anybody know if Daz plans to fix that? Because I reported problems back in daz 4 beta times and it is still not ok. Are there any documents/posts what is wrong with the files exactly? Because then I write a script that fixes them, but I’m just too lazy to analyze all the problems in the generated file, because Daz has to do that anyway and maybe has already.


I’m getting kind of frustrated with this. I have a game developers license. So format interoperability is important and I had some hope it will be good in daz 4.5, because when daz started selling these licenses I thought they want to change to the better. But the game dev forum is gone, so they probably do not sell many of those licenses.  And it is obvious why.
It is not only that export does not work well, but the communication. If they had a page documenting what does not work in what way, the game dev people would hack some code and the problems are gone. Same with detail info on the different file and morph formats and and new technologies.
I sometimes get the feeling technical details are kept secret as long as possible to prevent too many open source and freeware stuff supporting this new techniques early on.

At the moment I export everything but morphs with Daz Studio 3 as collada and then the morphs as fbx. This is no solution in the long run! But I need the “only active” morphs thing solved, otherwise it is too much work.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 March 2013 02:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-26

Nobody exporting morphs or all using daz studio 3?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 March 2013 04:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2673
Joined  2011-12-10

I do not know how export is handled, but I’m pretty sure only active morphs are loaded into a figure in the first place in 4.5

 Signature 

My DeviantArt Galleries
My ShareCG Gallery
OPENSUBDIV Testing and Discussion
3Delight Surface and Lighting Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 March 2013 06:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-26

For export you can select from all morphs. But they are initialized to “Bake”. But to change it you have to switch the setting for each active morph individually. And you cannot save the settings for later use :(
In blender I can save all settings under a custom name, and this is in software people create for free.

I now switched to genesis temporarily, there the exports work a little better in daz 4.5. What is killing me at the moment is that the number of faces in fbx and collada is different. I wrote a script to be able to handle different vertex order to be able to transfer the morphs from fbx to collada, but if number of faces is different this does no longer work :(

[Edit: CHANGED]
I think my fbx importer triangulates the stuff, so time to fbx importer hacking :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 March 2013 07:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-26

Yeahy. Fbx importer fixed to not triangulate. Can now at least transfer morphs from fbx import to collada import.
My custom vertex order fix script seems no longer needed in daz studio 4.5 for fbx to collada (same vertex order). Only obj seems to have a different order.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 March 2013 08:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-26

Little hint for the people using blender: don’t use the blender preset when exporting to obj. Normals are inverted and axis are wrong, morphs cannot be transfered from fbx import because of that. I’m now using “daz” setting on exporting, then they come up in blender correctly.
So finally vertex order in fbx, collada and obj is identical in daz studio 4.5. And I wrote a script to fix that (in daz 3 time), many hours of work :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 March 2013 09:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-26

Sh*t.

- I accepted that daz probably will never fix the Gen 4 exports in daz studio 4.5.
- I accepted that collada export is broken and that I have to combine fbx with collada data to get everything I want.

But: even the fbx morph export su*ks bad. Export genesis with V4 morph. The morph will move hands away from finger bones! So if you apply that morph during animation the hand is wrong. Daz Studio should adjust the morph to the skeleton in rest pose for each morph before exporting, but it does not!!!

Yes, I can write a script that fixes that, but I have written about 8 scripts already to fix errors of daz studio with post processing. At some point I have to think about switching to a solution that does not try to fu*k me behind every corner.

[Edit:]
If you bake the v4 morph, the bones are moved to the correct position. It would be better to adjust the morph instead of the bones, but better than nothing. That means I could export each morph individually by baking and write a script that fixes the moved bones issue :(

So back at exporting each morph in a single file again (and writing new scripts to fix stuff) :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 01:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  811
Joined  2007-01-08

Export one Figure at a time for best results (remember that hair can be a figure).
Also check your FBX file with the Autodesk FBX plugins first (http://mexico.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/item?siteID=123112&id=10775855) . I’ve rarely heard, if ever, that the DS exporter wasn’t flawless.
I’m almost sure there is a command for active morphs, but I don’t know what it is. I’d love to know.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2013 03:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2011-07-26

Thanks ReDave,

- yes, I have to export each morph individually, otherwise the skeleton does not match the figure for certain morphs.
- but this is too much work in my case and even then that means I get different skeletons in the end.
- try to export Gen4 figure with collada, badly broken

So only solution for me at the moment is to write 2 scripts (and sad part is all this work and it will only work for genesis because of broken exporter for Gen4 collada):
- one for daz that takes each active morph and exports it as collada baked morph
- one for blender that imports all these collada files, takes each morph and apply default pose of genesis to the skeleton (because it has different rest pose than default genesis), then transfer vertex positions to a default genesis as new morph and at the same time save the daz exported rest pose of this skeleton as a pose for the other skeleton.

This is harder than it sounds, because blender has very bad support for working with differing rest poses.

I understand that this is not much of an issue for rendering artists, but daz sells game dev licenses, and for those people this is hell.
Daz Studio should export in the default genesis rest pose always and adapt the morphs to that, additionally it should export the differing rest pose as a normal pose. That way you apply the morph and this pose and you get same result as before, but at the same time you can combine morphs and animations correctly, that is not possible with current style of exporting morphs/figures.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 July 2013 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-01-02

You’ll use the ‘Edit Morph Export Rules’ command in the FBX export dialog window.  It’s easy, like wildcard entry but it doesn’t save it or store it specific to your scene file so you’ll have to re-establish your rules for different character, hair, clothing etc. where you’re trying to export morphs.  Works nicely with Maya, careful wth Max as it only accepts 100 morphs per object.  this is how it’s done for autodesk products.  don’t know about collada.

Image Attachments
morphRules.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 February 2014 08:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2013-09-24
User812 - 15 July 2013 06:52 AM

You’ll use the ‘Edit Morph Export Rules’ command in the FBX export dialog window.  It’s easy, like wildcard entry but it doesn’t save it or store it specific to your scene file so you’ll have to re-establish your rules for different character, hair, clothing etc. where you’re trying to export morphs.  Works nicely with Maya, careful wth Max as it only accepts 100 morphs per object.  this is how it’s done for autodesk products.  don’t know about collada.

I am just wondering WHY there is no option to SELECT the morphs which are listed in the FBX exporter???
They should just add a checkbox next to the morph name and that’s it

Now, you need to look up morph name, write each time manually (As you cannot even select the text..) one by one.
If you need to export out 30 morphs, that’s a lot of look-up, type, check typo etc.

PLEASE ..
...ADD A “SELECT MORPH” CHECKBOX TO FBX EXPORTER DIALOGE BOX..
..JUST WHERE YOU HAVE THE LIST OF MORPHS

It will mean hours and hours saving in people’s workflow who need to export out the figures with morphs to other apps.

 

Profile