Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 5
4
64bit
Posted: 17 March 2013 10:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1528
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks for the re-mention of Large Address Aware and the links earlier in this thread.  I just started repeatedly hitting the out of memory limit and having trouble with the project I’m working on, but Large Address Aware appears to have allowed me to continue and add more to the scene; hopefully that will buy me enough extra memory to complete the project.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 March 2013 09:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2004-07-06
_ PJF _ - 16 March 2013 07:33 PM

...if I suddenly vanish off the radar for a few days, blame my C drive, they are seriously on the fritz now and I’m frantically backing data up as I type.


Right, c’mon Mr B, spill the beans. What happened, what did you do to recover - and what’s this Cuda thingamajig you’ve slotted in?

Hmmm, “C dive” and “they” is an ambiguous combination.  A C drive is a singular item outside of a RAID array, and in any case I do seriously hope that you are not keeping important data on a C partition of any description. C drives are for operating systems and any programs (like MS office) that so hopelessly tie themselves into the OS that they are useless without it. C drives should be regarded as completely expendable due to corruption / viruses, etc.

Standalone programs and data should be isolated on at least one other partition / drive. It’s very easy to relocate “My Documents” and similar imposed folders to another drive letter, along with default email storage. etc. This other drive letter (D, E, whatever) should be backed up regularly with great discipline (just like wot I do - not).

To protect against disc failure, I’m going for RAID 1 for data in my next setup, plus regular automated backup offboard to protect against that other greatest system danger - me.

I try to back up everything often.  My organisational skills are weak.  I’m not very good at doing anything fancy like partitioning drives, it take me a long time to learn stuff - think about how long I’ve been fiddling with Bryce.  I don’t even know how to use my mobile phone properly, I just give it to the nearest sprog and ask them to program in what I need.

I’m even baffled by forum notifications, like some theads tell me when there have been posts and others - like this one - just don’t.  Which is annoying because I continually loose track.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 March 2013 05:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  140
Joined  2003-10-09

So you’re an old fart then, David. But you’re not as old a fart as I am - my mobile phone isn’t programmable at all and is actually older than most sprogs. My phone is an old fart! Fortunately the internet enables us to de-olden-farten ourselves to a large degree, so with a little effort we can learn without embarrassment. And you are far more capable than you make out here. We can all see it by what you achieve (tell him, Horo).

Partitioning is a bit of a faff but worth the effort if you have only one hard disk. It’s much easier still to buy another hard disk and make that your data drive. You definitely need to back it up against mechanical death, of course, but it’s safe from a corrupted operating system requiring a “format C”. Having said that, modern operating systems are much more robust than the bad old days of Windows 95, etc, with which I learned my safety procedures.


Well, your divergence into Octane has certainly opened a new avenue of window shopping. If I follow you there (and it seems a worthy route considering the tumbleweed from DAZ regarding Bryce), graphics cards become interesting. For a while I was happy because the (out of date) FAQ on the Octane website indicates that the older 500 series of GeForce cards are better than the latest range. But checking out the forums shows that the 1.1 update changed things to the advantage of the 600 series.

To build a topflight(ish)* system to accommodate both Bryce (CPU) and Octane (GPU) will be very expensive. This can stay safely in the realm of window shopping until I get some time to actually enjoy the softwares.

*one of the Octane forum members bought four GeForce Titans. That’s £3600 in UK money. Way too rich for me.


The used Xeon route is tricky, there are so many variations and you have to look carefully to make sure you get the best options - taking account of availability of other items like motherboards and memory.

The main advantage is gaining 8 “enterprise” quality physical cores on which to run Bryce. But 8 physical cores is only worth it up to a point. Rashad has, or had, an 8 core Xeon setup, but it was outperformed by my overclocked 4 core Q6600. Bryce render speed is about clock cycles (of the floating point stylie), and if you can get more clock cycles out of “enthusiast desktop” gear that’s designed to be overclocked, than you can out of “enterprise workstation” gear that’s designed to not be overclocked, then the answer is obvious (unless you need “professional” durability).

The current-tech desktop route is ultimately faster, the used Xeon route is safer and… interesting. Watercooling is definitely needed to get the best out of desktop tech, so cost wise the choices are not too dissimilar for similar speed.


I’m certainly in the mood to build a new system (to some extent, just for the hell of it) but won’t rush. Trouble is, at the rate things are going, our morally and intellectually superior elites will soon turn my PC savings into about enough to buy a tin of beans. I’m certainly not keeping it in the bank…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 March 2013 02:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2004-07-06

PJF, my phone… has a led torch built in instead of a camera.  To fit the sim card in, I had to cut it to size with a pair of scissors - which amused those who’d never seen a sim card the size of (well probably in their bright untroubled eyes) the size of an A4 folder.  Mostly I get things working… just… and leave it at that.  Explains why when I plumbed in the heating system I left the floor up for several years and still unconsciously step over the holes that are no longer there.  Wires festoon the hall and the living room has bare walls.  So I work, I play with rendering and then I sleep.  Sounds bad huh?  Living the dream…

Yeah, take your money out the bank and blow it before the EU descends on you and levies a “tax” on your account (just you - oh and Cyrpress).  I just could not believe it when that news story broke.  I still can’t.  What were they thinking?  OK don’t answer that, we arn’t supposed talk politics.  Except use getting a graphics card as an excuse to make this point.  I spent the last money I had on this GTX660 - so far, I’m very happy with the results.  I picked it because it offered 3gb of memory and a performance rating of 3.0 on the nvidia cuda table.  I saw the Titan - yeah, right - either that guy is rendering the next Avatar or he’s got some insecurity issues.

Another quick Octane example of SSS - exported from a Bryce scene - originally modeled in Winds3D.  So that’s the path so far, make in wings, compose in Bryce, back through wings for some material linking shenanigans, and render in Octane.

Image Attachments
birds.jpg
 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 March 2013 11:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2004-07-06
_ PJF _ - 19 March 2013 05:58 PM

So you’re an old fart then, David.

Yes, OK, me on the left, Chris, Mr Bryce Tutorials in the middle and Dan, Mr Loopcycle Music at the Motorcycle festival this last weekend, in the rain, watching the stunt show - indeed being photographed by the stunt show commentator who was impressed by our fearless disregard of the wind and rain.

Image Attachments
David_Chris_Dan1.jpg
 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2013 03:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11175
Joined  2007-11-06
David Brinnen - 08 March 2013 07:14 AM
JimmyC_2009 - 08 March 2013 05:02 AM

DUF is the new ‘User Facing’ file format that is used in DAZ Studio instead of the old .DAZ format. 

It is also the the format for the Base Genesis figure among other things.  Scenes save and open a lot faster

Thank you.

OK since Bigh put this question I see no harm in answering and it does relate after a fashion to the OP.

1 Yes I’d like to see 64bit.
2 Bugfixes for the Mac OS too and any Windows 8 issues addressed.
3 Then the Bridge fixed to efficiently move content between DS and Bryce - in both directions (which would mean either making DS procedural texture compliant or the other option, fixing the texture exporter).
4 The next must have is Sub Surface Scattering.
5 And to answer concerns over render speed, if that’s a really big issue, something that allows the export of entire scenes to a third part GPU renderer - say Octane - for example - which would not be so arduous if the texture exporter has already been fixed in the Bridge for DS.

As things stand, at the rate Horo and I are going, I think there is still another two to three years work for us picking apart the 7.1 Pro feature set and documenting that.  Maybe after that… we’ll start fretting for new features.

...a second on all these. especially the Two Way Bridge as it would make adding Daz characters to Bryce scenes so much easier since you could actually pose them in direct relation to the setting.

As to a third party render engine, how about a Bryce version of “Luxus” which is already available for Daz Studio and Carrara?

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 July 2013 03:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11175
Joined  2007-11-06
chohole - 07 March 2013 07:09 AM

Hi Alan, nice to see you over here again.  Yes Bryce is only 32 bit at the moment.

However you can make it Large Address Aware and use a bit more of the available memory.

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=112556

...thank you. just installed and ran it.  That will give a bit more overhead.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2013 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2009-07-24
Kyoto Kid - 28 July 2013 03:55 PM
David Brinnen - 08 March 2013 07:14 AM
JimmyC_2009 - 08 March 2013 05:02 AM

DUF is the new ‘User Facing’ file format that is used in DAZ Studio instead of the old .DAZ format. 

It is also the the format for the Base Genesis figure among other things.  Scenes save and open a lot faster

Thank you.

OK since Bigh put this question I see no harm in answering and it does relate after a fashion to the OP.

1 Yes I’d like to see 64bit.
2 Bugfixes for the Mac OS too and any Windows 8 issues addressed.
3 Then the Bridge fixed to efficiently move content between DS and Bryce - in both directions (which would mean either making DS procedural texture compliant or the other option, fixing the texture exporter).
4 The next must have is Sub Surface Scattering.
5 And to answer concerns over render speed, if that’s a really big issue, something that allows the export of entire scenes to a third part GPU renderer - say Octane - for example - which would not be so arduous if the texture exporter has already been fixed in the Bridge for DS.

As things stand, at the rate Horo and I are going, I think there is still another two to three years work for us picking apart the 7.1 Pro feature set and documenting that.  Maybe after that… we’ll start fretting for new features.

...a second on all these. especially the Two Way Bridge as it would make adding Daz characters to Bryce scenes so much easier since you could actually pose them in direct relation to the setting.

As to a third party render engine, how about a Bryce version of “Luxus” which is already available for Daz Studio and Carrara?

...a third on all of the above, and a second on a Bryce version of “Luxus.”

 Signature 

Someone please tell me what is so great about this century.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2013 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15933
Joined  2003-10-09

As a long time Brycer I am perfectly happy with the Bryce render engine, it beats many others hands down.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 July 2013 03:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11175
Joined  2007-11-06

...I will agree with that as it is the only render engine that never crashed on my old 32 bit notebook. May have taken it’s good nature time, but renders always finished and looked incredible (and when monitoring the system temperature, ran much cooler than 3Delight or Firefly).

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2013 02:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3540
Joined  2004-10-01

Bryce has, in fact, two different render engines. Though folks notoriously complain the Bryce render engine is slow, others are not that much faster if settings for high quality are used to match Bryce’s quality. The greatest thing about the Bryce render engines is the Plop-render option. It can be a huge time saver. And the worst thing about Bryce is that it is still a 32-bit application.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2013 10:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2009-07-24

I also am happy with the Bryce render engines. A Bryce version of Luxus would give an easy path to SSS without the high cost of Octane, at the expense of render time. Bryce is much faster than Luxus for the same quality, so no reason to use Luxus except for SSS.

 Signature 

Someone please tell me what is so great about this century.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2013 11:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15933
Joined  2003-10-09

Ah OK, yes that makes sense.  I am always a bit sceptical, because I have seen so many iffy images which were supposed to be realistic just because they were using a Lux plugin

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        Autumn Bryce Rendering Challenge        September Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2013 12:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3540
Joined  2004-10-01
sjhayes2 - 30 July 2013 10:52 AM

... so no reason to use Luxus except for SSS.

Ah, SSS, yes, we certainly miss that one.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 July 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1490
Joined  2011-09-25

Blender offers both CUP and GPU rendering, plus there’s also real time rendering.  Any changes made are immediately seen in the render window.  Be nice to see this available in Bryce.

 Signature 

If you constantly look backward, it’s guaranteed you’ll run into something on your forward journey.
My Gallery Page: GussNemo’s Efforts

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 5
4