Digital Art Zone

 
     
Im having a ton of bugs with daz studio.
Posted: 09 June 2012 10:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-01-05

I have the 32 bit and 64 installed will i lose all my scenes and content if i uninstall and reinstall them? Thanks in advance!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 10:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8780
Joined  2007-11-06

No, only the content that comes with DS4 gets uninstalled/reinstalled.  What problems are you having?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 11:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-01-05

some models just remain black when i render. sometimes when i click render a panel pops up stating o/48 and does not render. when i save a new file it crashes some one explained that one to me its about the thumbnail messing up or something. none of the control z or y or delete buttons work anymore my 3dconnexion mouse buttons dont work with the program either. when i try to search my computer for new content it crashes

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1110
Joined  2003-11-25

A couple of questions.  What version of DS are you running? What OS are you running?  The “black” rendered objects speak to me of a problem/conflict with your video card, but I’m not an expert.  I do know that sometimes with content that is old, or is Poser specific, the material settings aren’t set up properly in DS and that might just take a manual adjustment in the surface tab.


But the fact that you’re having so many crashes makes me think that there might be a problem with your system not being able to run DS.  Or it’s entirely possible that you got a corrupted download of DS.  That does happen on occasion and not a reflection on the program itself.  But until we know what your system OS is and your computer’s specs (and video card), it’s hard to trouble shoot the problem. If you could provide this information, I’m sure you’ll be able to get a more “specific” answer (as opposed to my “shotgun” blast of suggestions. Lol.)

 Signature 

For quality historical and realistically accurate poses and props, please visit My DAZ Store

Want the latest news? Check out my facebook page to find out what’s in the works.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 09:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
FeralFey - 10 June 2012 11:08 AM

A couple of questions.  What version of DS are you running? What OS are you running?  The “black” rendered objects speak to me of a problem/conflict with your video card, but I’m not an expert.

Usually they are a result of not having the required shader installed.  If he fiddled about with the installation folders and files it would be what one expects to see when the shaders (or the relating scripts) have been deleted or moved to a wrong folder.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 09:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1110
Joined  2003-11-25

Thanks, Ascania, for pointing that out.  It didn’t even occur to me, and of course, you are correct.  Lol.  I figured I had a 50/50 chance of either getting it right, or having someone with the right answer show up.

 Signature 

For quality historical and realistically accurate poses and props, please visit My DAZ Store

Want the latest news? Check out my facebook page to find out what’s in the works.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 June 2012 09:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-01-05

i download the hover tank when it was free and tried to open it and daz studio crashed and after that it crashed on start up. ive uninstalled and reinstalled 5 times but it keeps crashing on start. im trying to find a fix before the sale ends because what i was working on i was waiting for some of them to go on sale. any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank You!

my computures the gateway dx4850 57
windows 7
intel core i7 processor
nvidia geforce gt320 1024
1.5 tb
8gb ddr3

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 June 2012 09:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-01-05

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVYEs56EBnY&feature=plcp

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 June 2012 07:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14447
Joined  2003-10-09

Go to the folder that contains the application and try running the RestoreDefaults script by double-clicking it - though I have doubts about whether that will help, your crash seems very early on.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2012 07:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-01-05

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHdGgCrkZ3Y&feature=youtu.be
ive also been using a lot of renderosity .obj files in my renders does that matter?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2012 06:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14447
Joined  2003-10-09

Check the log file, but that usually means that geometry files from the \data folder have gone missing for some reason. Can you open DS itself, rather than by double-clicking on a scene file, without errors now?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile