Digital Art Zone

 
   
10 of 75
10
Garibaldi Express: Hair and Fur Plugin [Commercial] 
Posted: 01 March 2013 09:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 136 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  218
Joined  2010-08-03

As a part of the on going support to ‘Garibaldi Express’ customers, todays update presents:

Improved installation Documentation.

http://www.garibaldiexpress.com/help/

Yeah I know. It’s not very exciting or much, but at least it’s there now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 12:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 137 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  105
Joined  2003-10-09

That’s great… thanks for doing that.  I’m having fun working with the program now, thanks again.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 06:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 138 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6255
Joined  2003-10-09

My first try with GE. Made the hair, eyebrows, and beard stubble.

Image Attachments
Ray.jpg
 Signature 

My Renderosity Gallery - My DAZ Gallery - My ShareCG Freebies
“I hope that after I die, people will say of me: ‘That guy sure owed me a lot of money.’” - Jack Handey

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 10:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 139 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-01-24

Does the plug-in support animations? If so, could someone render 1 or 2 seconds, just to be sure?

Also, how does the Garibaldi hair handle collisions with other props on the scene?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 10:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 140 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2005-05-17

I’ve been trying to figure out how to add a second layer of fur in a specific area only since I bought it and have had no luck.  The first layer is fine I do an allover short fur on an animal, then I want to add either a ruff or more fur on the tail and I’ve tried everything I could think of but every time I add a new layer paint only the area I want to fur when I go to the fur it covers the whole critter not just the area I wanted to adjust.  I know I am doing something wrong but don’t know what it is, is there a step by step on how to add a second layer somewhere.  Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 11:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 141 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  0
Heatherlee - 02 March 2013 10:44 AM

I’ve been trying to figure out how to add a second layer of fur in a specific area only since I bought it and have had no luck.  The first layer is fine I do an allover short fur on an animal, then I want to add either a ruff or more fur on the tail and I’ve tried everything I could think of but every time I add a new layer paint only the area I want to fur when I go to the fur it covers the whole critter not just the area I wanted to adjust.  I know I am doing something wrong but don’t know what it is, is there a step by step on how to add a second layer somewhere.  Thanks

If you can supply screen caps, it might help to figure out the problem.

When you say layer, I assume you mean that you are creating a second hair node. When you talk about going to fur, do you mean in the Garibaldi window or DS?

Garibaldi will only show you the current hair node that you have selected so you should only see hair/fur on the painted area. DS will show you all the hair nodes that have not been turned invisible (closed eye icon).

I’ve done many hair styles (including a lion and gruggle)  with 2 to 4 hair nodes and never experienced what you seem to be describing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 142 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  0

The long and short of it. grin

Image Attachments
LongBlueHair.jpgShortBlackHair.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 11:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 143 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2005-05-17

Yeah I know I am missing a step or doing it totally wrong, need a step by step for dummies lol

Not sure if these screen caps will help

Image Attachments
Image1.jpgImage2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 144 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  0
Heatherlee - 02 March 2013 11:24 AM

Yeah I know I am missing a step or doing it totally wrong, need a step by step for dummies lol

Not sure if these screen caps will help

OK. I’m seeing a couple of problems here.

First, it looks as though you painted in an external paint program because I see the white along with the texture colour for the fox. A hair distribution map has to be grey scale and the level of grey determines how much hair will be generated. White areas will have full hair, black will have no hair, and a 0.5 value will have 50% coverage.

Say what now???? tongue rolleye

In the distribution panel, the amount you specify is number of hairs/ square centimeter - the default value is 10. This means that all white painted areas will grow 10 hairs/sq cm, black areas will have none, and areas painted with 0.5 value will generate 5 hairs/sq cm.

Clear as mud, right??

Texture maps are colour and have to be input seperately. So, grey scale maps are used to specify where hair grows, colour maps are used to provide colour for the hair. (Grey scale maps have other uses as well but we won’t talk about that now - I’m sure your confused enough at the moment). The input boxes will only show maps that meet the proper criteria. In other words, only grey scale maps can be selected in the distribution section and only colour maps can be selected in the colour settings.

If the map were painted correctly, the next problem you have is in the distribution panel. Under “distribution settings” you will see a box for texture. The default is “hair Density”. This is the map that is being read for distribution. Presumably, you used this map when you did the full body paint and that is why you are seeing the full body hair. To see the tail map (if it had been painted correctly) you would select it from the drop down so the correct map is being used. (You would also need to be sure to select the correct maps in the clump and tweak panels as well). The colour texture map would be plugged in the the texture box for the base and tip colour in the colour settings.

As far as hair distribution goes, only one distribution map is used to output the hair. This means that you have to create an new hair node for the tail and paint it seperately to do the additional styling you want.

So, to summerize this bit of confusion. Create a hair node and paint the full body. Input the fox texture map as a colour map and select it for the base and tip colour. Style to suit.

Create a second hair node and paint just the tail. The fox texture map can be input here as well and applied to the base/tip just like in the other hair node. Style to suit.

Back in DS, you now have a fox with 2 hair nodes and you’re ready to render.

I’m assuming the fox only has one surface for selection in the setup panel. If there is more than on surface, then select only those you need to paint on for each node.

I hope you can understand this rambling. If not, then I will try to do a step by step. I don’t have the fox but I do have the cat and big cat.

Good luck.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 145 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2005-05-17

First I did the base layer which turned out fine short fur all over.  Then I started the next node and painted the tail portion white in garabaldi as that is where I wanted the fur to be.  Then when I add fur with that node selected I am getting a full body texture of fur and tail is showing up as white.  This is were I am mucking it up I think.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 146 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2005-03-22

Hi, first of all I have to say that I love this product and have been playing around with it since I bought it a few days ago. :]
However, that said I have run into a problem and I am not sure where to go from here.

Ok so in Garibaldi Editor view it looks how it does in the first image..
It kept its shape through countless test renders…until I tried to turn V5’s head with the freestyle rotatation ball.
I tried undo, didn’t fix it. I even tried to just exit and not save as I had just done that right before I turned her head.
Now it still looks fine in the Garibaldi Editor view, but looks how it does in the second image in the viewport:

And in the third image, rendered.

Is there an “electrocute figure” button? B/c I think I maybe have pushed it. lol

Image Attachments
error_garibaldi_view.PNGerror_afterturnedhead.PNGerror_rendered.PNG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 147 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  0
Heatherlee - 02 March 2013 02:09 PM

First I did the base layer which turned out fine short fur all over.  Then I started the next node and painted the tail portion white in garabaldi as that is where I wanted the fur to be.  Then when I add fur with that node selected I am getting a full body texture of fur and tail is showing up as white.  This is were I am mucking it up I think.

So you are saying that you painted the white part on the texture map called tail? This is where the problem is. I assume the tail texture map was imported to use as a colour base. While you can paint on this map, it is not the correct one to use as a density map.

If you created a second hair node for the tail, then you should paint on the default hair density map. You would still import the tail map but that is to be used in the colour setting channels and should be the same texture map that you would use in DS - just resized and renamed for Garibaldi.

Here are some screen caps from the lion I did.

The DS screen shows 4 hair nodes. In all 4 nodes the painting was done on the default hair density map.

The lion mane Garibaldi screen shows the area painted for the mane. As you can see, it was painted on the hair density map. The lion texture screen shows the imported texture map used in the colour channels. This is the map you incorrectly painted on.

I hope this helps clarify things.

Image Attachments
LionScreen.jpgLionManeScreen.jpgLionTextureScreen.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 04:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 148 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  540
Joined  0
J.King - 02 March 2013 04:14 PM

Hi, first of all I have to say that I love this product and have been playing around with it since I bought it a few days ago. :]
However, that said I have run into a problem and I am not sure where to go from here.

Ok so in Garibaldi Editor view it looks how it does in the first image..
It kept its shape through countless test renders…until I tried to turn V5’s head with the freestyle rotatation ball.
I tried undo, didn’t fix it. I even tried to just exit and not save as I had just done that right before I turned her head.
Now it still looks fine in the Garibaldi Editor view, but looks how it does in the second image in the viewport:

And in the third image, rendered.

Is there an “electrocute figure” button? B/c I think I maybe have pushed it. lol

Is this behaviour repeatable?

I just tried it with a half dozen saved presets and even created a new hair but I can’t get this reaction.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 04:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 149 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2005-03-22

Tried it on a different hairstyle and no, it seems to be fine for that one. :/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 March 2013 05:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 150 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
J.King - 02 March 2013 04:14 PM

Is there an “electrocute figure” button? B/c I think I maybe have pushed it. lol

There is…sort of.

The ‘Surface Attract’ slider can give that effect.  A negative value can cause massive fly-aways like that…and combine that with the curl slider and you can get some really wild hair.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
   
10 of 75
10