Digital Art Zone

 
     
Setting a new axis/pivot
Posted: 26 February 2013 03:13 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2008-12-01

I want to set an axis for a simple object to turn on.  The object is a small flattened cylinder, with closed ends, with a narrow rod welded to one edge as indicated below.  When I set the axis to be the centre of the small flattened cylinder and attempt to rotate the object around the horizontal (side to side) axis only the top surface and associated points rotate, leaving everything else stationary. 

Grateful if someone can explain where I am going wrong.

Image Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 February 2013 03:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  270
Joined  0

from your screen shot it looks like the only thing selected is the top face. select the whole cylinder, should turn blue as the top face

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 February 2013 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2008-12-01

Apologies, a poor example.  I have simplified the flat cylinder to make it easier to select it but as is shown below, the attached (welded) narrow rod still does not rotate when the flat cylinder is rotated.

Image Attachments
Untitled-2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 February 2013 05:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  270
Joined  0

you have to select the whole object if you want the rod to rotate also. if it is welded its one object, neither piece will rotate independently without twisting

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 February 2013 10:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1317
Joined  2008-01-01

Bear in mind that setting the pivot point is only useful during the modeling process - when you import the model into a rendering app, it will not respect the changed pivot point and will set it to the centre of the bounding box.

If needed for animation, you will need to set the pivot in your rendering app.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 February 2013 04:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  74
Joined  2008-12-01

Solved (courtesy of Szark)

Just create the object from the two sections, save as .obj, import into Daz 4.5 and set a new rotation point/axis using a very good and simple method set out by Szark here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/4721/

He uses the “Joint Editor” Tool in Daz 4.5 as follows -  “When you engage the Joint Editor tool your Translation/Scale, Rotation Gizmo Tool will change giving you two small Translation tools one Red and one Green As shown in image two. All you need to do then is go into the Orthogrphic Cameras, Left, Right, Front etc and reposition the Gizmos manually with the mouse. The new position will be saved with the scene.”

 

Profile