Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
EXPORT - Octane - Fenric-  Poser or Daz ?
Posted: 22 February 2013 10:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13

ok

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 February 2013 01:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  503
Joined  2003-10-09

Tugpsx has been working on a free plugin for Octane Render (not the paid for plugin being worked on by Otoy) for DAZ Studio and he said once that he was hoping to make one for Carrara after he released the one for DAZ Studio, but I don’t believe it’s out yet. He had run into snags when DAZ released Studio 4.5. Octane does not support FBX yet. There were more requests for Collada when they first brought it up in the Octane forum so they decided to pursue Collada import, though it’s not in yet.  I think OBJ is still the main way to get anything into Octane. RIB import was one of their goals that also fell by the wayside. Octane doesn’t do object motion blur yet. That’s a problem for Cycles, too, apparently, from the clips you posted. That’s a must for animation IMHO.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 February 2013 01:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi All smile

Octane only supports OBJ import for meshes,.

as far as FBX and Collada are concerned,. there are revision issues with the different version of FBX, fortunately there’s a conversion utility available on Autodesk.com to change one FBX version to another,. so with a bit of fluffing around, you can usually get your FBX to load.

Collada is actually more open source,. EG :  Daz-Collada ,. which was created as a file transfer from DS to Carrara, and vice-versa.

That was so successful that it’s now been scrapped and replaced with a totally new DAZ format,. Daz User Files (DUF) .. I know,. it’s not a great format name,. but it works and can transfer entire scenes, material presets, animations, or a pose from DS 4.5 to Carrara 8.5.

Octane also automatically loads all the textures for the OBJ, (which is something that not all programs are capable of),.
However,. because the shader and render engine in octane is different,. you’ll need to / want to,.. adjust some shaders to take advantage of what octane does,

smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 February 2013 01:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13

thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 February 2013 03:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI Kevin smile

I missed your post earlier, when I posted,.

I played with the DS plugin which Tugpsx is working on a while ago.
it worked, but I found it a little clunky, but it’s a beta, so clunky is normal. ..pointy is it worked as expected.

I think at that time there were also still issues with the way octane handled the mesh smoothing,. the Octane 1.10 seems much better., and the new lighting and post effects are great,. 

Mec4D has done some great images with the DS2Octane plugin, but I think that’s down to her skill and talent as an artist.
She does amazing renders in Carrara as well.

I think It’s an important point to note here,. Buying a plugin, or a different render engine, won’t instantly make you any better as an artist.

The output from Carrara’s render engine can be just as good as that from Reality or Octane in the right hands.
One big change I’d like to see in Carrara is the use of the GPU to preview shaders and possibly assisting in some rendering operations.

as far as speed of rendering,. Carrara is still the fastest to a good final image,. when compared to Octane or Reality.
and there’s no need to create massive files to export sequential OBJ

One other item to look at is the new Element 3D plugin for After effects.
It loads in a OBJ , or sequenced OBJ directly into After effects.

I bought it recently and it’s great for compositing 3D animated into 2D .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 February 2013 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6151
Joined  2007-12-04

Boy,
I’m really lucky to be blissfully pleased with having nothing but Carrara and my content, aren’t I?
It’s headaches like these that drove my ambition into finding Carrara in the first place. I really had some blinders on, though because I knew that I’d never find anything like that. When I ran across a live person at random playing with Carrara 5 on a laptop - I couldn’t believe it. I bought it in 2007, I believe, and I’ve been utterly pleased ever since - and I love how it renders! Well, and everything else about it too!

Before you nail me with flying, rotten eggs… oh I hope you guys have a really bad aim…
Just please understand that I do realize your imposition and I’m not trying to make light of it… just making conversation. I totally see, first hand, many of the quirks and aggravating hiccups that can be found in Carrara. I just adjust my own habits around that - and Carrara is happy as the tail of a cat to help me do that. There are so many ways to overcome obstacles with this, incredible pile of digital bliss!

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 February 2013 04:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13

awesome

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 February 2013 03:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

HI smile

Is this a commercial product or a giveaway?

it was a beta release on the Octane user forums,. Still in development as far as I know.

well there seems to be a groundswell on this board for some Carrara updating, yes

Yes, we all want some elements of Carrara updated to work faster and better, but the renderer is the most updated part of Carrara, it’s has serious lighting improvements in the last few versions which in some older scenes can make it slightly slower,.. but more accurate. but in many scenes makes it faster and more accurate.

There are other areas of Carrara which have not had any changes or improvements,.. and are starting to look their age.
there are also issues like Bullet which is still in development to integrate it fully with Carrara.

I think many Carrara users would like to see full multi-thread support for the NPR renderer added, and 32bit output,

Ok ,  although 2 GPU cards in tandem can go pretty darn fast!

generally that doesn’t work for GPU rendering,. but does work for Game-play.

VRAM isn’t shared between multiple graphics cards,. so if you have two 1GB cards,. you can’t use 2GB for a scene, the maximum ram available would be 1GB

Octane suggests that you use one card for the display and the second card for the rendering

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 February 2013 01:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1828
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi 3D today smile

If you’re really interested, there are demo version of Octane, and the plugins for Max Maya and Poser available to download from the Otoy (Octane) web site.

Then you can see how it performs with your system.


All of the Octane “plug-ins” are relatively new, and Octane itself has only just stepped out of it’s beta phase, and into full version release with Octane 1. so, given some time and further development, it’s possible to have plugins for Daz Studio and Carrara or any other 3D software.

Everyone who has been using Octane since it’s initial beta release, has been able to load and render OBJ’s without using a plugin.

Hope it helps wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 February 2013 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

Actually I am quite happy with carrara’s render engine. Just wish I could use it better, a lot of it still remains a mystery to me lol

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 February 2013 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  58
Joined  2009-09-19
3DAGE - 23 February 2013 01:51 PM

Hi 3D today smile

If you’re really interested, there are demo version of Octane, and the plugins for Max Maya and Poser available to download from the Otoy (Octane) web site.

Then you can see how it performs with your system.


All of the Octane “plug-ins” are relatively new, and Octane itself has only just stepped out of it’s beta phase, and into full version release with Octane 1. so, given some time and further development, it’s possible to have plugins for Daz Studio and Carrara or any other 3D software.

Everyone who has been using Octane since it’s initial beta release, has been able to load and render OBJ’s without using a plugin.

No not everyone.  Not the people who got banned from the forum for small infringements, and then could not get software updates.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 February 2013 08:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13

thanks.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 February 2013 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5407
Joined  2006-08-27
3dtoday - 24 February 2013 08:09 AM

3DAGE said
Everyone who has been using Octane since it’s initial beta release, has been able to load and render OBJ’s without using a plugin.

thanks.

Is the animation workflow fast?  How about the speed?

The problem I’m having with the Carrara renderer, is it’s painfully slow.  I’m guestimating much slower than Blender cycles, { which
is slow, too.

 


Actually, the speed of Carrara’s renderer is something that most people who try Carrara are surprised about. I haven’t tried Blender Cycles, so I can make no comparisons to that. Maybe if you explain what features you’re using that make it seem slow, we can offer tips on optimizing that can speed it up.


Feel free to disagree, but I’ve seen renders done with the GPU renderers and I can usually tell. They may be faster, but there are some things they just can’t do well yet. They will improve over time, and to the point where you truly can’t tell, but they’re not there yet, IMHO. I see no need to hurry and integrate a GPU renderer in Carrara. There are far more vital updates that need the development resources.


That being said, Fenric said the API prevents plugin developers from touching the render system or something to that effect. It would be nice if DAZ could open that up to allow for 3rd party plugins.

 

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 February 2013 08:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2012-01-13

thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 February 2013 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5407
Joined  2006-08-27
3dtoday - 24 February 2013 08:43 AM

I’m using an hdri background.

settings checked:  sky light 100   ,  indirect light 100 .  quality and antialiasing on good.

I was using lower settings during scene setup.  But the results look like a game { not realistic }  .  so I upped the settings.  The speed
im getting is unacceptable for animation.  I might be ok with it if the results were better, but they still look like a game.


Well, I’m not getting in a quote tit-for-tat so I’ll edit to the relevant point.


With an animation, you never want to use full GI. Not even the major studios do that because (as you’ve discovered) it takes too long. They simulate it. You also lose some control when you rely strictly on some mathematical algorithm to do the lighting.


Your best bet to get the renders you want isn’t the renderer. Arguably it’s the shading and the lighting. Learn how to do those and you’ll open up a whole range of creative and speedy opportunities no matter what renderer you use.


A good place to start is Jeremy Birnes’ book, Digital Lighting and Rendering (2nd Edition).

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2