Digital Art Zone

1 of 4
Make a living?
Posted: 19 February 2013 01:17 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  49
Joined  2007-09-21

How do 3D artists make a living? 

I have been dabbling in Carrara for several years but always towards my own ends of one project or another.  I usually use a 3D piece as an intro or outro for a video project, but it’s been strictly a “nice-to-have” feature.  Largely, it’s been a hobby, rather than a money maker.

I’m curious as to how other 3D artists make a living, and how prominently Carrara is a featured tool. 

Where does one get gigs in which they can utilize their 3D skills?

If I were to expend the time and energy ramp up my Carrara skills, what kind of paying opportunities exist out there?

Posted: 19 February 2013 01:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

It really depends on your skill level, but most don’t. For most CG artists it’s pocket change, or a supplement to another income. I doubt even stonemason is making a living at this. The ones that are making a living at it are working for some big CG house like pixar.

But it depends on just what you want to do. Carrara can be used to make commercials. Carrara can be used to render pictures for print, comics, book covers, ect. Or you could use it to model and texture content. Then it;‘s just a matter or rigging it in Studio.

As I said, it has a lot to do with your skill level. I’ve been at this for years and am still a novice at best. I can model and have made cloths for figures. But it was too frustrating for me to do regular, and I’m not that good at modeling.

Posted: 19 February 2013 02:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  49
Joined  2007-09-21

I found a very informative thread on cgsociety.org in which several people working in graphics relate their experiences and opinions.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=2&t=1093330&page=1&pp=15

Posted: 19 February 2013 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]