Digital Art Zone

 
     
How to import show 2d photo images? which is best PSD PNG?
Posted: 19 February 2013 05:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-07-15

I use to be able to import and show 2d photo images as objects/planes in DS version 3+ .... now I do not ... any suggestions? and to have the transparency of the PNG or PSD file not showing in DAZ, just the figure/image ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 February 2013 05:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6485
Joined  2005-08-15

How are you trying to load them. 

You can still apply a 2D image to a Plane Primitive, in exactly the same way as in DS3, use the Duffuse channel in the Surfaces pane.

You can also use Edit > Backdrop.to import an image which is displayed in the background.  DAZ Studio does not open PSD files, and if you don’t want a transparent background, then don’t use PNG, convert it to JPG.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 February 2013 05:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17

DAZ Studio could never handle PSD files AFAIK.  If you make a mask of the image (black & white image) and put that into the opacity channel; it should work fine.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 February 2013 05:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15643
Joined  2003-10-09

PNG format has an automatic alpha, is basically lossless and is the format I always use in Bryce. so should work in a similar manner in DS.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 February 2013 06:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-07-15
JimmyC_2009 - 19 February 2013 05:41 AM

How are you trying to load them. 

You can still apply a 2D image to a Plane Primitive, in exactly the same way as in DS3, use the Duffuse channel in the Surfaces pane.

You can also use Edit > Backdrop.to import an image which is displayed in the background.  DAZ Studio does not open PSD files, and if you don’t want a transparent background, then don’t use PNG, convert it to JPG.

Sounds familiar ... I’ll give it a go ... thanks ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 February 2013 06:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-07-15
BWSman - 19 February 2013 05:45 AM

DAZ Studio could never handle PSD files AFAIK.  If you make a mask of the image (black & white image) and put that into the opacity channel; it should work fine.

uh huh, hmm ... masks”? ... hmm ... anyway, I am sure you know how that is done wink ...thanks ... wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 February 2013 06:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-07-15
chohole - 19 February 2013 05:47 AM

PNG format has an automatic alpha, is basically lossless and is the format I always use in Bryce. so should work in a similar manner in DS.

yep, I get that, in Bryce… handy little import widget thingo ... in DS ... load into a primitive plane, by the sounds of it wink thanks

Profile