Digital Art Zone

 
     
Do I need these files?
Posted: 18 February 2013 04:49 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27

I have upgraded to DA 4.5 and in my downloadables I have three installers I have not yet installed

Decimator
GoZ
Photoshop Bridge


Can anyone tell me if I need these (and indeed what they are for?)

Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2013 05:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1399
Joined  2011-11-16
Sertorial - 18 February 2013 04:49 AM

I have upgraded to DA 4.5 and in my downloadables I have three installers I have not yet installed

Decimator
GoZ
Photoshop Bridge


Can anyone tell me if I need these (and indeed what they are for?)

Thanks

The photoshop Bridge is to send the scene to Adobe Photoshop. Decimator requires a separate license, and basically, simplifies a mesh. GoZ is a bridge to Z-Brush, another 3D modelling software.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2013 06:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27
Tramp Graphics - 18 February 2013 05:06 AM
Sertorial - 18 February 2013 04:49 AM

I have upgraded to DA 4.5 and in my downloadables I have three installers I have not yet installed

Decimator
GoZ
Photoshop Bridge


Can anyone tell me if I need these (and indeed what they are for?)

Thanks

The photoshop Bridge is to send the scene to Adobe Photoshop. Decimator requires a separate license, and basically, simplifies a mesh. GoZ is a bridge to Z-Brush, another 3D modelling software.

Thanks. When you say the photoshop bridge sends the scene to Photoshop, why would that be needed? You can open the render in photoshop anyway, surely (as a .PNG or a .JPG)?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2013 06:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7923
Joined  2009-05-14

I don’t know about scenes to Photoshop via the bridge, that is new on me but I use it for adjusting texture maps without having to go and find the texture, open it up in PS, save the new adjusted texture out, go and find and load the new texture in Daz Studio, I can do it all via the bridge, back and forth until the texture is right.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2013 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2013-01-27
Szark - 18 February 2013 06:36 AM

I don’t know about scenes to Photoshop via the bridge, that is new on me but I use it for adjusting texture maps without having to go and find the texture, open it up in PS, save the new adjusted texture out, go and find and load the new texture in Daz Studio, I can do it all via the bridge, back and forth until the texture is right.

I see. That’s interesting. So you mean like adding a tat to a skin surface or something?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 February 2013 08:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7923
Joined  2009-05-14

Sorry for my tardiness in replying.

Yes exactly though if the tat is a PNG with a transperent background then using LIE (layer Image Editor) located in the Surafces Pane will do the job even better as you can adjust the placement of the tat within Daz Studio. I use the PS Bridge more for adjusting staturation or making displacement maps or enhancing bump and displacement maps etc.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile