Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
V4 clothing work on V5?
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-06-07

I don’t see any V5 clothing so I assume the V4 items work with it?

Also in Daz 4 is there a way to snap a figure to the floor? Like in poser it has “drop to floor”. Many thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9706
Joined  2007-11-06

Any Genesis clothing, including V4 clothing via Autofit, will work with any Genesis shape (more or less).

From the Parameters tab, Options, Move to Floor, or Ctrl-D

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-06-07

So I just bought The Sorceress http://www.daz3d.com/shop/the-sorceress/ and I, had to find those items in the right side tabs instead of the left, I guess because its older. I try to drag the items on to a genesis figure or double click, and nothing happens. Doesn’t work with V5 either.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 07:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-06-07

Oh is The Sorceress not gen? The Sorceress is for V4, so isn’t that genesis?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 08:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

Long dresses do not work well with the Autofit yet. You can still try.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 June 2012 08:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9706
Joined  2007-11-06

For something like that, with a long skirt and dangling sleeves, you’d do better with something made for Genesis, such as
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/elven-dress-for-genesis/


ETA:  Genesis is the base Generation 5 figure; V4, M4, and K4 were the previous generation.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 11:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-04-16

Hallo, i have the same problem with loading clohting from victoria 4 on genesis. I bought the ValiantLorena dress, and i also tried to dubbelklik it, but it did not load. I thought all the clothing from Victoria 4 had to fit on Genesis with auto-fit? And even if it shoud not work zo good, then still the bracelets or bikini shoul fit?
(sorry for my bad english…)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 June 2012 11:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9706
Joined  2007-11-06
Pepsel - 09 June 2012 11:02 AM

Hallo, i have the same problem with loading clohting from victoria 4 on genesis. I bought the ValiantLorena dress, and i also tried to dubbelklik it, but it did not load. I thought all the clothing from Victoria 4 had to fit on Genesis with auto-fit? And even if it shoud not work zo good, then still the bracelets or bikini shoul fit?
(sorry for my bad english…)


Valiant is a texture for Lorena.  Did you buy the Lorena outfit?  You need to fit Lorena outfit to Genesis, then you can select Lorena and apply Valiant to it.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-04-16

Aha, so i bought textures for the Lorena outfit? Mmm, so i have to buy that one first, but…its not for sale anymore, i can’t find it anymore…
So, the “Valiant"that i bought can’t be used, that’s a shame, but my own fold, i have to read better next time wink
But when i buy something that is originaly for V4, then i can use it for genesis, whith Auto-fit?
Thanx for the reply!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 10:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9706
Joined  2007-11-06

Yes, although some outfits convert better than others—long dresses, shoes, and long dangly sleeves are the most difficult to convert.

You can contact sales support for a refund on Valiant—unfortunately, it’s sometimes hard to tell, as the Required Products can only list items that are in the store. You really need to read the details about what is included. Valiant is a PA item, so DAZ 3D can’t remove it from the store without the PA’s permission.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 10:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-04-16

What is a PA item?
And thanx for the response, i can mail the sales support?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 11:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9706
Joined  2007-11-06

PA’s are Published Artists—they own their products, as opposed to those which list DAZ 3D as the vendor.

From a store page, click Help > Contact Us from the top bar, and click the “Submit” button.  Say you want to return Valiant, give the order number (and PayPal transaction number if applicable), and choose “Sales Support” for the contact department.  You can return anything purchased here within 30 days.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-07-25

Gosh I think purchasing V5 was a mistake on my part. I love the model and the morphs don’t get me wrong. The problem is you have to purchase a lot of new clothes or do some fiddling to get the clothes to fit V5.

Autofit works well for shirts, pants, hair. Things like panty hose and shoes originally designed for V4 fit terribly. It treats shoes like a piece of cloth. I bought another pair of shoes for V5 which I already had the same kind of shoe for the V4. The bad part is autofit gets rid of clothing morphs. I’ve stayed with the V4. I think it renders pretty well with the 4.2++ and most of the 4.2 models are compatible with Poser if Daz doesn’t work out for you.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 June 2012 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15803
Joined  2003-10-09

The 4.5 release candidate keeps morphs in AutoFitted clothes. You may be able to improve shoes by selecting all of the polygons in the heel and setting the weight to 1 (Polygon Selection Tool, Weight painting Tool to select the maps you want to adjust)

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 January 2013 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2003-10-09

Hi all. I’m resuming this thread because I’m suffering some problems with the auto-fit of V4 clothing conformed on genesis (Studio 4.5).

I guess a picture speaks better than one thousand words (the thighs bending is 90 degrees for both models):

http://i480.photobucket.com/albums/rr167/gioloi/v4vsgenesis_zps08acc588.jpg

This T-Shirt can’t be considered a “long dress”, but the “V-shape” between Genesis legs is more than apparent.
It happens with every V4 clothing I try to conform on Genesis.

Is there a way to work around, or at least attenuate, this very annoying effect?
Thanks a lot.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 January 2013 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15803
Joined  2003-10-09

Using the Smooth option with the weight painting brush will probably help, at least to make it less of a V. Switch to the Weight brush, open the Tool Settings pane and select the bone (thigh I should think) and map (XRotate I think) you need, then right click and from the context menu choose Smooth Selected faces - try a fairly low number of iterations and see if that helps. It may be too widespread, in which case you would need to undo, then use the Polygon Group Editor to select just the faces affected and try smoothing them.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1