Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 3
3
Temple Complex WIP - Creating content questions
Posted: 19 March 2013 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
TheSavage64 - 18 March 2013 05:56 PM

@LHD: If I was money minded I’d be working all the time and then I wouldn’t have time to make free stuff. grin

Sure you would, because then you’d have money to hire someone to do all the grunt work. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 March 2013 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1611
Joined  2007-12-10

Luckily then I’m not money minded… I don’t even like working for myself, I wouldn’t want to put anyone else through that ordeal. LOL

I’ve been working on the material zones and have done this colour coded render to show clearly which parts can be easily selected using the ‘Families’.
Of course as each individual component can also be selected individually, they can all be textured exactly required, but this is a really easy way to alter the appearance of the model quickly (this version would be the temple that Noddy attends).

Now I’ve read that the Families don’t work correctly in the Mac version of Bryce and it would be great if anyone has any information about exactly what doesn’t work as so far, they seem to be behaving themselves.

Image Attachments
MatZones.jpg
 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 March 2013 11:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  652
Joined  2010-02-18

Love those colours, Savage...I’ll guess Barbie would love it as her next palace…hahaa wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 March 2013 06:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1611
Joined  2007-12-10

Yes… a bit errrr…. bright innit? smile

Today I’ve spent some time working on a desert/dunes type terrain to set it in.
Just playing around with it and I don’t plan to supply trees, but I did want some kind of rough road that looks like it’s been trodden down. So far, I’ve got a slightly raised clipped terrain running up to the front but you can hardly tell as it’s not textured.
Needs more work yet.

Image Attachments
TerrainTest.jpg
 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 02:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3536
Joined  2004-10-01

This WIP progresses nicely.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  210
Joined  2003-10-09
TheSavage64 - 21 March 2013 09:31 AM

Luckily then I’m not money minded… I don’t even like working for myself, I wouldn’t want to put anyone else through that ordeal. LOL

I’ve been working on the material zones and have done this colour coded render to show clearly which parts can be easily selected using the ‘Families’.
Of course as each individual component can also be selected individually, they can all be textured exactly required, but this is a really easy way to alter the appearance of the model quickly (this version would be the temple that Noddy attends).

Now I’ve read that the Families don’t work correctly in the Mac version of Bryce and it would be great if anyone has any information about exactly what doesn’t work as so far, they seem to be behaving themselves.

This was a Mac problem (immediate crash on selection)  in pre B7 Intel Mac versions. I still get the occasional crash when selecting color families in B7.1, for no reason I can see.

This model sure is looking good!

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 March 2013 10:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2950
Joined  2004-10-25

Oh, so glad I found this thread. I had totally forgotten about this.  I can’t wait to play with it.  wink

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 March 2013 04:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1611
Joined  2007-12-10
dan whiteside - 23 March 2013 11:40 AM

This was a Mac problem (immediate crash on selection)  in pre B7 Intel Mac versions. I still get the occasional crash when selecting color families in B7.1, for no reason I can see.

Oddly enough, yesterday I did have a problem with the Families, but not a crashing problem.
What happened was that for some reason, the families all lost their unique names and reverted back to “Default Familiy”, “Family 2” etc.
The families I had applied were still correct and for instance, when I selected the pale blue family 2, it selected the correct components, it was just the names that had reverted back to default.

dan whiteside - 23 March 2013 11:40 AM

This model sure is looking good!

Thanks Dan, it’s good to know because I’m at the stage where I’m starting to get sick of seeing it. smile

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 March 2013 05:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1611
Joined  2007-12-10
Miss B - 23 March 2013 10:22 PM

Oh, so glad I found this thread. I had totally forgotten about this.  I can’t wait to play with it.  wink

Shouldn’t be long now Miss B.
I’ve got some materials to design, then it’s just setting up the camera memory dots and the sky memory dots, then probably some problem solving with stuff that’s not working quite right, then rendering some promo pics and packaging it all up and it’s done… actually that sounds like there’s still quite a lot of work to do. smile

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 March 2013 06:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3536
Joined  2004-10-01
TheSavage64 - 24 March 2013 04:58 AM

Oddly enough, yesterday I did have a problem with the Families, but not a crashing problem.
What happened was that for some reason, the families all lost their unique names and reverted back to “Default Familiy”, “Family 2” etc.
The families I had applied were still correct and for instance, when I selected the pale blue family 2, it selected the correct components, it was just the names that had reverted back to default.

I’m not sure how it works on the Mac. In Windoze, family colours and names are saved with the file and are restored by loading the file.

However, if the model is saved in the Objects Library, the colours are retained but the names are reset to the default ones; much like you described above.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 March 2013 06:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  652
Joined  2010-02-18

I’m at the stage where I’m starting to get sick of seeing it.

Yeah, feel your pain there, Savage…it also happens in doing long animations (mainly my area of like in Bryce) that take forever to render.

A break from them does the trick, and tackling a less-tasking Bryce work is great (currently have ten different Bryce topics all totally unfinished, however, returning to a chosen one sometimes gives new perspective and approach). Same with books, too – have five on-going at the moment, and so reads the one according to my mood.

Jay

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 3
3