Digital Art Zone

1 of 2
Total Newbie Tutorial: How to apply a Surface Shader in DAZ Studio 4.5 Pro
Posted: 12 February 2013 06:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  202
Joined  2007-11-24

I admit it…I’m a total newbie. In fact, I’m such a newbie I can still count the number of renders I’ve done on the fingers of both hands. So why oh why would I write a tutorial?

Basically, because as newbies, sometimes we need a step-by-step on how to do the most basic tasks – in this case, applying a shader. Hopefully, this will be of some use to someone.

Step One:
Acquire some shaders. These can be purchased or downloaded for free and can do things like make a surface appear to be different types of fabric, or metal, or even stone or wood. (Note that this tutorial is not intended to explain light shaders).

Step Two:
Install your shader files. These could be executable files, or they could be zip files. Either way, install them the same way you would install any other file. Double-click on the .exe file or extract and move the zip files.

Step Three:
Load the model whose surface you want to change. Make sure that the name of the model is selected in the Parameters Tab.

Image Attachments
Tutorial_1.jpg

Posted: 12 February 2013 06:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2007-11-24

Step Four:
Open your surfaces tab by clicking WINDOW—TABS—SURFACES (color)

Image Attachments
Tutorial_2.jpg

Posted: 12 February 2013 06:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2007-11-24

Step Five:

The name of the model selected in the parameters tab will already be open in the surfaces tab. Click on the model’s name to apply the shader to the whole model.

Image Attachments
Tutorial_3.jpg

Posted: 12 February 2013 06:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Joined  2007-11-24

Step Six: