Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Installing files: Metadata files or not?
Posted: 10 February 2013 04:29 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  126
Joined  2003-10-09

So, I was running thru the Fiery Genesis Tutorial.
http://www.daz3d.com/create-fiery-genesis-in-daz-studio

And there were two files to install:

PC:
13162_FieryGenesisMetaData_1.1_ds.exe
13162_FieryGenesis_1.1_ds.exe

Mac:
FieryGenesisMetaData_1.1_ds.app
FieryGenesis_1.1_ds.app

I couldn’t find instructions on if just the regular file or the MetaData file needed to be installed.  I wound up just doing both (and I think the files were actually already installed when I installed DS4.5 in the first place).

What should I have done? Which is the “important” file..are they both?

 Signature 

Computer: Apple iMac
3.4 Ghz Intel i7 (Quad Core)
16 GB Ram
OS: 10.9.4

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 February 2013 05:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6746
Joined  2005-08-15

You never needed to install the Metadata files seperately, they were always included in the main installer, but it would not do any harm as such.

All Metadata files are now inluded and when you install using the DIM, they are put directly into the Database, so you don’t even get a Metadata loading page the next time you open DAZ Studio.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 February 2013 05:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2948
Joined  2009-02-24
JimmyC_2009 - 10 February 2013 05:02 PM

You never needed to install the Metadata files seperately, they were always included in the main installer, but it would not do any harm as such.

Hmm… if that’s the case then why does a good 80% of my downloadable content come with a separate metadata installer? It’s useless for Poser, so if it’s already included with the main download, it would be superfluous. At any rate, I’ve always installed both and it gives me the needed metadata dialogue on load. I might just put that theory of yours to the test though, and see if it’s really true.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 February 2013 06:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8998
Joined  2007-11-06

If you’re using DS4.5, the Fiery Genesis tutorial is already built into Genesis Starter Essentials.  You only need to install it if you’re using DS4.0

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 February 2013 10:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

yes,, some contents in daz shop are already included as default contents.

then,, Fiery Genesis Tutorial is already included in Genesis Starter Essentials.
if you insatll it,, you may make duplicate files, and duplicate meta-data and some orphan files ^^;
so if you use 4.5 do not touch and install it.

==================
ah sorry,,, Jimmy is right,, I checked it now,, it cause no problem ,, just install same light and camera dsa files .
which already installed as duf.  and make product metat-data of the Fiery Genesis Tutorial
but you may need not install them.

and,,
Hi,,  Herald,, if you download by DIM,, now DAZ offer new zip (which include meta-data ,if the product have meta-data already)
but about installer which from your downloadable product in your account page,,
about some product are offered as you said. (meta-data and product instalelr)
and about some old product are offered as old zip (no meta-data) still.

so,, when I uninstalled contents,, these different type uninstaller (or no uninstaller) confused me ^^;,,


Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 02:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2948
Joined  2009-02-24

I haven’t actually downloaded the Install Manager. Truth be told, I tend to download content almost immediately after buying it, so I’m just too used to going to the download screen and getting the files.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 03:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6746
Joined  2005-08-15
HeraldOfFire - 10 February 2013 05:12 PM
JimmyC_2009 - 10 February 2013 05:02 PM

You never needed to install the Metadata files seperately, they were always included in the main installer, but it would not do any harm as such.

Hmm… if that’s the case then why does a good 80% of my downloadable content come with a separate metadata installer? It’s useless for Poser, so if it’s already included with the main download, it would be superfluous. At any rate, I’ve always installed both and it gives me the needed metadata dialogue on load. I might just put that theory of yours to the test though, and see if it’s really true.

It was thought, at the very beginning, that it would be a good idea to have the Metadata seperate as well, so that if there were any changes to Metadata alone, then you only had to redownload one small file, and not the whole lot, but to the best of my knowledge, from very early on, Metadata was included in the main installer.

I never downloaded seperate Metadata files once I found this out, and my Metadata always worked.  The new DIM is even better in that respect, as it intalls the Metadata as well (into the Database), and you don;t get a pop-up screen when running DAZ Studio about the Metadata.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 06:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17
JimmyC_2009 - 11 February 2013 03:57 AM
HeraldOfFire - 10 February 2013 05:12 PM
JimmyC_2009 - 10 February 2013 05:02 PM

You never needed to install the Metadata files seperately, they were always included in the main installer, but it would not do any harm as such.

Hmm… if that’s the case then why does a good 80% of my downloadable content come with a separate metadata installer? It’s useless for Poser, so if it’s already included with the main download, it would be superfluous. At any rate, I’ve always installed both and it gives me the needed metadata dialogue on load. I might just put that theory of yours to the test though, and see if it’s really true.

It was thought, at the very beginning, that it would be a good idea to have the Metadata seperate as well, so that if there were any changes to Metadata alone, then you only had to redownload one small file, and not the whole lot, but to the best of my knowledge, from very early on, Metadata was included in the main installer.

I never downloaded seperate Metadata files once I found this out, and my Metadata always worked.  The new DIM is even better in that respect, as it intalls the Metadata as well (into the Database), and you don;t get a pop-up screen when running DAZ Studio about the Metadata.

When metadata was introduced; they were in separate installers.  It was several months before DAZ started including metadata in the main installers.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 06:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6746
Joined  2005-08-15

They are still in seperate installers for some things, that does not mean that they are not in the main installer as well.

If you don’t believe what I have written, fair enough.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 07:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2008-09-17

Your comment made it sound like the metadata was included in the main installer from the get-go; which was not the case.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 08:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2948
Joined  2009-02-24
BWSman - 11 February 2013 07:10 AM

Your comment made it sound like the metadata was included in the main installer from the get-go; which was not the case.

Does this mean that older content doesn’t include the metadata in the installer, or has everything since been updated to require the one installation?

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  126
Joined  2003-10-09

I guess a good question for me to ask is “What is the metadata”?

(I did download Install Manager when I was doing the set up…the dl of Daz Studio I had was older than newest, so I figured I’d start from the beginning. Getting the app seemed to point me to Install Manager…which I learned does not install the actual Studio Program.  I also didn’t have the Fiery Genesis available to it, though I guess it’s just lumped with Genesis Starter, which I did install).

 Signature 

Computer: Apple iMac
3.4 Ghz Intel i7 (Quad Core)
16 GB Ram
OS: 10.9.4

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6746
Joined  2005-08-15

Quick answer:

Metadata is what the CMS uses to populate the Smart Content pane.  You can create and edit your own if you have the time and the inclination.  There are many threads on this subject.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 02:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  126
Joined  2003-10-09
JimmyC_2009 - 11 February 2013 01:07 PM

Quick answer:

Metadata is what the CMS uses to populate the Smart Content pane.  You can create and edit your own if you have the time and the inclination.  There are many threads on this subject.

Content Management System?

So, if there’s a choice, best to use the MetaData files?

 Signature 

Computer: Apple iMac
3.4 Ghz Intel i7 (Quad Core)
16 GB Ram
OS: 10.9.4

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 February 2013 04:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6746
Joined  2005-08-15

I don’t use the Smart Content pane very much, but the CMS is a vital part of DS4.5 I think.  It also allows you to categorise your content in the way you want it, and I am sure that it uses the Metadata to do that.

Some people don;t use the CMS at all, but I find it very useful.  It also controls the search function at the top of the Content Library pane which can also be useful at times.  On the whole, I would keep the Metadata.  The DIM isntalls it directly for you now too.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 February 2013 06:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  126
Joined  2003-10-09
JimmyC_2009 - 11 February 2013 04:23 PM

I don’t use the Smart Content pane very much, but the CMS is a vital part of DS4.5 I think.  It also allows you to categorise your content in the way you want it, and I am sure that it uses the Metadata to do that.

What do you use then? it seems to be the only content list I see?

 Signature 

Computer: Apple iMac
3.4 Ghz Intel i7 (Quad Core)
16 GB Ram
OS: 10.9.4

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1